1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [GUIDE] Installing CWM and a custom ROM on the Motorola Triumph

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by agentc13, Nov 14, 2011.

  1. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)

    1. are to putting the phone into download mode first, or is it always showing as mobile?

    2. Im pretty sure there is only 1 Recovery file on the phone when its hooked up in download mode, a recovery.img, which recovery.img are you trying to place on the phone, Stock?? or CWM??

    3. if it is in download mode, that Mobile drive/folder whatever Should Not have been empty

    4. was this phone stock before the possible bricking, or did it have a rom and CWM on it??

    5. What did he do that caused this to happen??
     

    Advertisement

  2. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    What recovery files are you trying to paste in there? Are there any other files on the mobile drive when you try to paste them?

    There should be the "mobile" drive and a folder in it (image or images, I believe) that is where you paste the files.
     
  3. jimmyg146

    jimmyg146 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012

    Apr 17, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    well it was a stock phone and i assume he may have accidently deleted some files (not sure which ones) but when we plug it into my mac and try to paste the stock image back on the mobile drive it says that there is not enough space on the phone and wont let you paste anything. So now were are stuck. Any suggestions or videos would be appreciated.
     
  4. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    You are putting it into download mode to do this correct? Are there any files or folders in the "MOBILE" drive when you do that? What stock image are you trying to paste in there, can you link it?
     
  5. jimmyg146

    jimmyg146 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012

    Apr 17, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Yeah it is in download mode correctly but, there are no files under the mobile image and wont let us paste anything. we were trying a stock image from another post then we tried the cwm from this post
     
  6. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)
    I'm not to familiar with Macs (but plenty here are I believe) does it by any chance have hidden files turn on possibly blocking you from seeing the files

    Also again cause I'm not familiar with Macs is there possible a setting disabling write to drive

    If the answer to both is no and the files should be visable or you should be able to write then I'm getting stumped, but I'm no expert, other here however, pretty much lol, you should be able to copy at least the 1 cwm recovery image file to the phone so u can boot into cwm mode
     
  7. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    712
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012

    Mar 23, 2012
    712
    118
    103
    Male
    Retired Electronics, Computer, Network Engineer
    Greensboro, NC
    I'm with Tokens; either the drivers aren't installed correctly or the MOBILE drive isn't mounted correctly.

    You could try a known-good phone to see if it behaves differently or you could go to a non-niche PC :).

    I really can't see a way to brick this phone without doing physical damage to it. (Brick means that it cannot be fixed except for sending it back to the manufacturer; until then, you have a...brick!)
     
  8. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)

    yea, ive thought i bricked mine like 37 different ways when i first tried to flash lol (not to proud of myself there, but a man can admit his mistakes lol)


    The only thing ive been seeing recently is like this, some people are supposedly somehow removing there read/write abilities making it only read, if the phones blank, it should automatically be read/write i believe, thats y i figured his computer may be stopping him somewhere
     
  9. Sotie

    Sotie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012

    Apr 20, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    I can't even get past the step where you download the CWM zip folder. I don't know how to open it. I tried with Irfanview and Windows Explorer. In Irfanview I enabled Unicode Plugins like it said and nothing. I've always had trouble with this part. My bluetooth drops connectivity all the time, and I've only had the phone for a week. Can you please help me. Thank
     
  10. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    You need to use something like Winzip to unzip the folder.
     
  11. Sotie

    Sotie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012

    Apr 20, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    I tried all the instructions in the video and now my phone doesn't work at all. I mean nothing! It's gone, wiped out, kaput! What can I do now? At the end of the process instead of the blue text I got and android picture with an exclamation over its head. Now the phone doesn't even turn on. Even as it sits plugged in there's no battery animation. This is horrible, help!

    I just wanted to add that the phone sits with a red light on top that doesn't go out. I took out the battery again for about the fourth time to see if it would start up, and just now the phone began to vibrate incessantly. It's really pissed off now. I had to take out the battery to make it stop. I think the phone might be totally gone.
     
  12. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    What you booted into was the stock recovery so it seems as if you didn't replace the recovery properly. Try unplugging everything from the phone and then taking the battery out for 30-60 seconds then replace the battery and press and hold volume down and then while holding it press the power button. Does a black screen with white scrolling text come up?
     
  13. Sotie

    Sotie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012

    Apr 20, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Nope, nothing happens. I tried what you said. It doesn't even vibrate anymore.
     
  14. Sotie

    Sotie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012

    Apr 20, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    I'm still figuring out how this site works. I tried taking out the battery for over 60 seconds and now the phone won't respond at all, which I guess is better than constant vibrating. I plugged it back in to my laptop and still nothing. I don't get a response at all.
     
  15. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    hmmm strange... What exactly did you do? just put the "recovery.img" in the "image" folder on the "mobile" drive? Or did you do something else? just go through the steps you did being as specific as you can, may help find the problem.
     
  16. Sotie

    Sotie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012

    Apr 20, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    This is the file I downloaded (recovery-cwm-5.0.2.6-triumph.zip) from the android forum. I right clicked on it in Windows Explorer-->Downloads then told it too extract all. I didn't see a file called recovery.img in the zip folder so I moved the one that said 'recovery' only. When tring to open that my computer gave me the option of burning it too a disc. This wasn't making any sense but I proceeded anyway following the video instructions. I drug the recovery file to my F: Mobile drive then plugged in the phone, pressed the 'down volume' and power button, waited for the repeating tiny white text, took out the battery, put it back in, held down the power button and both volume buttons then the exclamation symbol in the triangle with the android robot appeared. I think my major error came with not understanding the zip folder and the file I was dragging to my phone. That's where all my trouble began early in the day. All I was trying to do was get my bluetooth to stop losing connectivity. Virgin Mobile said they're going to send me a used replacement phone in the next 3-5 days. But I couldn't leave this issue alone, and now look what I did.
     
  17. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    So it sounds like you placed in just in the "mobile" drive not in a folder. (also it was named recovery.img, just windows on default hides known extensions). But did you actually burn it to a disc or just ignore that and drag it to your phone? Either way it doesn't make sense that it would brick the phone. So with nothing plugged into the phone (no usb cables, no headphones, no hdmi cables, nothing) and removing the battery for a min and then just trying to boot regularly (not holding any buttons, well besides power...) it doesn't do anything? No sign of life? The other thing is the phone's battery might need to be charged... Try plugging the usb cable into the ac adapter and into the phone (with the battery in the phone of course) and leave it for a bit and see if it starts showing any signs of life.
     
  18. Sotie

    Sotie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012

    Apr 20, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    I ignored burning it to a disc and just dragged it to the phone. Removing the battery for minute with nothing plugged in still hasn't helped--no signs of life. I thought the battery was charged at least 60% when I was doing all this, hopefully I'm wrong. The only sign of life that has returned is the red light just above the speaker after I plugged the USB back into my laptop. If it was successfully charging though shouldn't I see an active battery graphic on the display?
     
  19. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    you should see it... But at least there is the light. I would just leave it charging it for a while and see if you can get it into download mode, recovery, or even boot the phone. I don't see why it doesn't work... it is strange, but hopefully you can get it booting after charging for a bit. Also it charges faster through the AC adapter and not through a USB port on a laptop. ;)
     
    Sotie likes this.
  20. Sotie

    Sotie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012

    Apr 20, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Thanks for your help. It's been a learning experience.
     
  21. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    No problem and life is a learning experience lol. If you still have problems then don't be afraid to ask for help. :D
     
    agentc13 and Sotie like this.
  22. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)
    Also, early on you said after you first replaced the img file you got an exclamation mark image, this is typically the case if you get the phone stuck in a boot loop, when i had my phone stuck in a boot loop it changed it so my battery icon didnt show up upon charging till i fixed it

    also a chance your download got an error or something, sometimes downloads are just bad


    with no cables connected download mode should always work, this is a strange issue

    also i see you say u followed the directions, but in the area where you said what you did u listed that the phone was plugged into the pc before you put it into download mode, that should be the other way around, download mode - then hook it to the pc


    there is also a chance you need to restart your computer, mine stopped recognizing my phone until i rebooted the phone and the pc
     
  23. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    Actually that is just the stock recovery and shouldn't have any effect on anything ;)
     
  24. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)

    k, i was wondering, i read all the posts and i saw it was stock, tried to go to cwm, then stock, wasent sure what was actually going down currently

    i just knew from personal experience that i had gotten a download error or something after i first tried to flash, mine ended up showing moto splash screen, then a battery charge logo would appear over top of it showing as its charging even tho its not charging or plugged in, then on top of both of those an exclamation point would appear lol effectively 3 images on top of eachother

    But yea the stock img should deff. show all the stuff fine
     
  25. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    Oh what you are saying is something totally different... But what sotie was talking about was an android with an exclamation point over it which is the stock recovery. I don't know what you are describing... That sounds weird :eek:.
     

Share This Page

Loading...