1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Guide] S-OFF and ROOT HTC Desire with Revolutionary - Updated

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Hadron, Jul 9, 2012.

  1. green

    green Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Great! reading this solved my problem :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. rvhughes

    rvhughes Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012

    Nov 13, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks to your excellent guide, I have been able to S-off and root my HTC Desire and install cyanogen 10 with excellent results, in spite of being a novice! Only one problem. Whilst I can see a camera app under "manage apps" it does not appear on the app page so I cannot open it. Any suggestions?
     
  3. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,730
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,730
    12,650
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    That is very odd. What happens if you try to add a shortcut to your desktop?

    Could it have been hidden in the app drawer? I've never used a JB-based ROM (and this won't be an official CM10 on the Desire), so don't know what quirks there might be.
     
  4. rvhughes

    rvhughes Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012

    Nov 13, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Probably best if I go direct to cyanogen. Making shortcuts is very weird and I have not succeeded yet (you have to use a slider). Another weird thing is that, on the locked screen, when you unlock you get a momentary "ghost" of the phone app (which also appears under "locked screen" with the slider mechanism). Have to say that the cyangen 10 take on Jelly Bean is really good and virtually bug free, even on the Desire (except for the camera). Thanks anyway, you help has been invaluable. I am nearly 70 years old so it is never too late to learn a new skill!
     
  5. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,730
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,730
    12,650
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Have to use a slider? You can't just long-press on the screen and then select "add shortcut" from the options?

    I'm going to have to try something newer than Gingerbread so that I know how these interfaces work....
     
  6. NinjaDroid69

    NinjaDroid69 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012

    Oct 23, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Male
    London, UK
    Hi,

    Can you recommend a fast and stable custom ROM for the HTC Desire, with AP2SD.


    Thanks
     
  7. desire 96

    desire 96 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012

    Nov 26, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    hi hadron
    now my htc desire is having a bad situation.
    it can't boot into android and my 4ext recovery seems ok already.
    now my current rom is unknown and the recovery shows an error it is error mounting sd card. EVEN I PUT BACK MY SD CARD INSIDE TO THE PHONE THE INFO OF SIZE STILL SHOWS THAT --MiB.
    CAN YOU EXPLAIN WHY AND WHAT SHOULD I DO ABOUT IT...

    I WANT TO INSTALL RUNNYMEDE AIO ROM OR CAN YOU SUGGEST ANY BETTER AND STABLE ROM FOR ME........
     
  8. nicka3200

    nicka3200 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,047
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    1,047
    357
    163
    Male
    UK
    There are several. If you want an AOSP ROM (not Sense) I would recommend Oxygen. It has been removed from the list at XDA but is still available from the developers website. Oxygen Downloads
     
  9. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,730
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,730
    12,650
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Have you got a card reader? If so can a computer see the card.

    It sounds like the card may have been corrupted when you disconnected it. If so you may have to reformat it. But would be good to try with a computer first.
     
  10. iamcool

    iamcool Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012

    Nov 30, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    hi guys, i'm a complete noobie at these things.
    I was trying to follow the instructions to get S-off, but only got as far as step 4. The beta key that comes up on the revolutionary website doesn't work on the program. I've tried many times, anyone got any ideas?
     
  11. nicka3200

    nicka3200 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,047
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    1,047
    357
    163
    Male
    UK
    I'm sure you've checked but make sure the info is entered exactly as it appears on your phone.
     
  12. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,730
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,730
    12,650
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Copy and paste is the best advice I have. I had a similar problem last time I tried testing it and that was the answer.
     
  13. NinjaDroid69

    NinjaDroid69 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012

    Oct 23, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Male
    London, UK
    Thanks for the recommendation, I don't know much about ASOP ROMs and how they look and feel, but I will check it out.

    Thanks
     
  14. nicka3200

    nicka3200 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,047
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    1,047
    357
    163
    Male
    UK
    Oxygen is rock solid but if you want a little more being there are a number of themes versions like the ever popular Mildwild.
     
  15. rajbal

    rajbal Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    28
    5
    16
    Consultant
    Bangalore
    Hi,

    I was already rooted with CWM so now I just wanted to S-OFF.
    I set up all the steps. Tested fastboot - it returned the serial number of my phone. All looked good.
    Now I ran the Revolutionary.exe... it has been 15 min, but nothing much happening...
    I just see "waiting for device" message on the revolutionary prompt....
    Is something wrong? how long should it take....
    Should i leave it as it is? or stop it?

    Pls help :(

    Regards,
    Raj

    EDIT -- I took a chance and disconnected. I was in fastboot mode in phone so thought that could be the reason. Tried running the revol with phone on (in normal mode).
    Though here the Device was recognized, Caroline gave up with error. "caroline failed but had this to say: entation fault"
    Found out this is due to ICS/JB roms. The process does not work with these roms.
    I flashed back one of the Sense roms with 2.3.* and ran the file. :) :) :)
    Perfectly S-OFF!!!

    Thanks a ton for the guide.
     
  16. cable_guy

    cable_guy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    103
    0
    35
    Male
    Hi all, I want to S-OFF to modify my partitions but I only have HBOOT 0.80 so I can't use Revolutionary. I've read I need to flash a stock Sense ROM and that will automatically update my HBOOT, is this right?
     
  17. nicka3200

    nicka3200 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,047
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    1,047
    357
    163
    Male
    UK
    First of all take a nandroid back up.
    Run the gingerbread RUU
    Then continue with the guide.

    You will be able to restore your current set up when you have S-off & have reflashed a recovery
     
  18. madboi20

    madboi20 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012

    Nov 1, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Sorry again but where exactly is the username and password for the clockwork mod recovery? I can't seem to find it
     
  19. nicka3200

    nicka3200 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,047
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    1,047
    357
    163
    Male
    UK
    Username: androidforums
    Password is currently: thankfkforthat
    If updated it can usually be found in the last fewposts of this thread.

    However the current recommendation is to use 4EXT Touch Recovery.

    I suggest you run Revolutionary & say no to install recovery. That will get you S-Off then follow this guide to install 4EXT.
     
  20. J_ohan

    J_ohan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012

    Dec 17, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Great tutorial! Very nice!

    However, I got stuck in "Adding custom recovery" part. I have the recovery.img and I had no problems in the earlier steps. As many other people I do not get pass the "< waiting for device >" part.

    I have made sure I am in FASTBOOT MODE and I clearly see the text "FASTBOOT USB" on my phone. After that I type, in the terminal on my computer, in the right directory: "fastboot flash recovery recovery.img" and I get "< waiting for device >" - no more. However, when I type "sudo fastboot devices" it finds my device - I get the serial number! I try again - but with the same result.

    Some people had problems with the drivers, but that cannot be the problem because it finds my device - right? So, what can be the problem? I am out of ideas :thinking:

    I anyone has a clue and wants to help I would be very thankful!
    By the way, I am running Linux Mint 14. Thanks in advance!



    I know this is not recommended but, theoretically, if I skip this step, will I be unable to make recovers with the 4Ext app later or even continue the rooting process?
     
  21. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,730
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,730
    12,650
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Hi J_ohan, and welcome to AF :)

    You need a custom recovery to proceed. You can change it later, but you need one to start. And you can't skip this and use the 4Ext app to install recovery because that needs root as well as S-Off.

    If "sudo fastboot devices" works, but "fastboot flash recovery" doesn't, at the risk of suggesting the obvious have you tried "sudo fastboot flash..."?

    I'm sure you have, so more practically, can you boot into hboot mode and check that it says "revolutionary" at the top and "S-Off"? If not then revolutionary hasn't done its stuff and that would explain why the fastboot flash won't work.
     
  22. J_ohan

    J_ohan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012

    Dec 17, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Thanks so much for the quick reply!!!

    Perhaps it was the sudo-thing (I am a bit unsure if I wrote it before) or some magic, but now it worked!
     
  23. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,730
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,730
    12,650
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Cool - what we like to hear :)
     
  24. shail31

    shail31 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Hi Hadron tried following the steps listed got lost towards the end and now hopefully not in a mess.Managed S-off.Used Android flasher to install 4ext recovery.Through error managed to delete the system.Now all ive got is
    the 4 ext recovery and the following listed
    revolutionary
    BRAVO PVT3 SHIP S-ON
    HBOOT-6.93.1002
    MICROP- 031d
    TOUCH PANEL-SYNW0101
    RADIO- 5.11.05.27
    Aug 10 2010
    Suppose i format everything from my system to sd card what steps do i need
    and could u suggest a stock or stable rom.
    Thanks for reading.
     
  25. shail31

    shail31 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Sorry its S-OFF
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...