1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Root [GUIDE] Unbrick/Unroot Lucid 2 VS870[KDZ]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sammyz, Mar 26, 2013.

  1. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,835
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,835
    2,489
    323
    Male
    None :(
    Pompano Beach, Fl
    Ok this phone now has root and due to a locked bootloader, it is highly likely you will brick.
    You must be running Windows XP/Vista/7
    (Not sure about Windows 8)

    Downloads
    Download firmware from here: http://androidforums.com/lucid-2-all-things-root/745111-official-vs870-firmware-thread.html
    Download the programs to convert and flash firmware: KDZ_FW_UPD_EN.zip
    Drivers: https://www.box.com/s/32c5t7fj2w8xcwr0krjo

    How to get into emergency mode (Download Mode):

    1. Phone must be off and unplugged
    2. Hold Volume Up+Volume Down, plug in USB cable to PC.

    To get out of e-mode, pull battery and unplug USB cable (do not do this while flashing firmware!)


    Before you start flashing firmware, please make sure you charge your battery for at least 30 minutes.

    These are the instructions to convert the cab to a KDZ and flashing it:
    1. Install phone drivers
    2. Install msxml.msi
    3. Disable antivirus software
    4. Open UpTestEX_mod2_marwin.exe
    5. Wait for the program to open
    6. Look for "Encrypt cab file to kdz file"
    7. Click the folder icon
    8. Choose the location of the cab you downloaded for the firmware
    9. Encrypt cab -> kdz Program will freeze up. DO NOT EXIT until program says Done!!! Otherwise it won't finish converting.
    10. Close program
    11. Open KDZ_FW_UPD.exe
    12. "Type" choose CDMA
    13. Choose in "Phonemode": Emergency
    14. Click the folder icon and choose the kdz file that UpTestEX_mod2_marwin.exe just made.
    15. Click Launch software update and enjoy!

    If you are stuck in a bootloop, factory reset by pressing Volume Down+Power from powered off mode.

    Phones don't fix themselves
    Donate here
     

    Advertisement

    xedis, LightTheEntertainer and Nikguy like this.
  2. SicFreak

    SicFreak The Message is SIC!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    729
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    There's no files in when I click on the "Drivers" link
     
  3. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,835
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,835
    2,489
    323
    Male
    None :(
    Pompano Beach, Fl
    Yea I see that, just Google them for now, I'll fix link later :)
     
  4. SicFreak

    SicFreak The Message is SIC!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    729
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    And for those wondering use the support tool, and select Metro PCS then select the MS870 it's the same driver. :)
     
  5. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,835
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,835
    2,489
    323
    Male
    None :(
    Pompano Beach, Fl
    All phones are using the same installer actually ;)
     
  6. to3kn33

    to3kn33 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    May 5, 2013

    May 5, 2013
    13
    0
    15
    OK. Quick question. On step 8 when I go to convert the cab file. I click on the folder but the cab file isn't showing up. I am running windows 8/with the antivirus disabled...any suggestions?
     
  7. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,835
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,835
    2,489
    323
    Male
    None :(
    Pompano Beach, Fl
    Run as admin.
     
  8. LightTheEntertainer

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012

    Jun 6, 2012
    33
    1
    36
    Male
    7-Eleven Nightshift
    Lochbuie,CO
    Hi Guys
    Sammyz, I'm really hoping that you can help me out. I rooted my LG Lucid 2, and everything was fine for a bit, but naturally, I decided to try out a custom rom that I found here.
    Problem is, after I flashed it, the phone wont start or anything. It wont go into download mode, recovery mode or anything. I think I have the definition of bricked. I actually used your tutorial last time when I removed an app I shouldn't have on accident with Titanium Backup.
    I am rally hoping that you can help me out.
    I would be more than happy to help out with you're walk for breast cancer too if you could help me fix this phone. I only say if you can help me out because if it can't be fixed, the money has to go to a new phone..
    But please, if you can help me out, that would be amazing.
    Thank You In Advance.

    *I know it was foolish of me to install a beta from 2 years ago.. I didn't think of it until the process was half done..*
     
  9. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,835
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,835
    2,489
    323
    Male
    None :(
    Pompano Beach, Fl
    You flashed something made for the Lucid...not the Lucid 2.

    There are no custom ROMs for the Lucid 2 yet and do not flash something made for a different phone. This is how people brick their devices completely.

    Lucid processor= msm8660
    Lucid 2 processor= msm8960

    You flashed a boot.img made for a different kind of processor. You are perma-bricked. Get it replaced as soon as possible.

    Yes the Lucid 2 has a locked bootloader, but that doesn't stop the actual flashing of a boot.img, it just stops it from booting if the signature checks fail, but what you have done has nothing to do with the locked bootloader because even if the bootloader were unlocked, this would brick you the same way.

    Just because you have a locked bootloader does not mean you can flash anything from anywhere.


    Also something made 2 years ago wouldn't be made for this phone since this phone is only a few months old.
     
    LightTheEntertainer likes this.
  10. LightTheEntertainer

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012

    Jun 6, 2012
    33
    1
    36
    Male
    7-Eleven Nightshift
    Lochbuie,CO
    Ohh, alright. So that leaves my only option is to just send it in to LG to have the reinstall the Operating System.
    Also, before I consider it again.
    If I were to root my LG Lucid 2, can that cause any problems? I'm decent with phones, I just messed up this time and learned my lesson.
    But with just root, would I be safe?
    I know that with the RTC I would want to wipe the reset the phone before bringing it into Verizon so they don't charge me full price.
    Also, I'm going to see what I can scramble up and I'll do my best to help out with your campaign. I wanna see that bar hit 100%, and besides, you really cleared stuff up for me, straight and to the point.
    I appreciate that.
     
  11. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,835
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,835
    2,489
    323
    Male
    None :(
    Pompano Beach, Fl
    Yes you can reroot. Just don't flash anything not made for the Lucid 2.

    If you were to bring it into a store you would want to follow this unbrick guide before doing so. Factory reset will not get rid of root. Only unbricking will.
     
  12. LightTheEntertainer

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012

    Jun 6, 2012
    33
    1
    36
    Male
    7-Eleven Nightshift
    Lochbuie,CO
    Sounds good man. I'll keep that in mind, and keep this page bookmarked should I have anymore issues.
    Thank Sammy
     
  13. colwellkr

    colwellkr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013

    Jun 9, 2013
    14
    0
    15
    I cannot find the drivers for the Lucid 2, can anyone help me find them? I need to unroot so I can take the phone to the store (have not even had the phone two weeks the microSD card slot broke itself)
     
  14. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,835
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,835
    2,489
    323
    Male
    None :(
    Pompano Beach, Fl
    Next time please say the link to the drivers died ;)

    Dunno what happened...hmm

    Uploading to a dedicated server :D
     
    colwellkr likes this.
  15. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,835
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,835
    2,489
    323
    Male
    None :(
    Pompano Beach, Fl
    Fixed it.
     
    colwellkr likes this.
  16. colwellkr

    colwellkr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013

    Jun 9, 2013
    14
    0
    15
    Thanks n_n, sorry for not clarifying that they were dead.
     
  17. colwellkr

    colwellkr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013

    Jun 9, 2013
    14
    0
    15
    So... I wasn't able to actually try the unroot until now and I installed everything (all the drivers and the msxml and all that) and followed every instruction but when I tried the unroot It didn't work because it couldn't find the phone.

    http://puu.sh/3cycV.png

    Screenshot of the attempt ^

    I think it is still a drivers isssue because windows is making the disconnect and recconect sounds every so often. I will try restarting my computer and trying again but I'm not sure if that will help. Any ideas?

    I'll update this post when I try restarting my computer.

    EDIT: Restarted computer, same error, same disconnect/reconnect sounds.

    Another EDIT: Since it is a hardware issue do you think they'll bitch that the phone is rooted when I take it in? (With my luck they'll blame the root for breaking the microSD card slot like Best Buy blames Linux for causing hardware issue in computers).

    One Last Edit: Tried to to the unroot/unbrick on my laptop (the computer I did the original root on) and I get the same Disconnect/Reconnect sounds on it. I think there is an issue with windows detecting the phone when it is in download mode? If you have any advice or there is any other way to unroot (or if you think they wouldn't care as mentioned in my previous edit) please let me know :D
     
  18. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,835
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,835
    2,489
    323
    Male
    None :(
    Pompano Beach, Fl
    Is it in download mode??
     
  19. colwellkr

    colwellkr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013

    Jun 9, 2013
    14
    0
    15
    Yes it is :/
     
  20. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,835
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,835
    2,489
    323
    Male
    None :(
    Pompano Beach, Fl
    That's strange...others have said it works..hmm

    Edit: did you try other USB cables??
     
  21. colwellkr

    colwellkr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013

    Jun 9, 2013
    14
    0
    15
    No, I'll try that I supppose. But I haven't had issue with this USB cable before...

    Edit: The cable I had been using is the cable that came with the phone, I tried a different cable is the same result. While in Download/Emergency mode the phone it still randomly connects and disconnects within windows.
     
  22. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,835
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,835
    2,489
    323
    Male
    None :(
    Pompano Beach, Fl
    Yea, just try ruining the program still with the other cable, all LG phones randomly disconnect and connect while in download mode.

    What operating system are you ruining??
     
  23. colwellkr

    colwellkr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013

    Jun 9, 2013
    14
    0
    15
    Okay, im at work now. When i get home I'll try.

    Also, all of my computers run Win7
     
  24. colwellkr

    colwellkr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013

    Jun 9, 2013
    14
    0
    15
    Tried the other cable, did nothing on my desktop and could not detect phone, but on my laptop the new cable got the phone detected however the program crashed, here is a picture.

    [​IMG]
     
  25. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,835
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,835
    2,489
    323
    Male
    None :(
    Pompano Beach, Fl
    I think I see your problem.
    Cut and paste the KDZ file to C:\ and try that.
    Long file directories sometimes cause problems with that program.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...