1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [GUIDE] What to do if ROOT fails

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SwoRNLeaDejZ, Jan 22, 2013.

  1. SwoRNLeaDejZ

    SwoRNLeaDejZ Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    770
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    770
    171
    93
    Male
    no comment
    ma
    Well I have seen many complaints from people who have tried to root, only to have the root fail as the command prompt window says that it cannot push the required files to complete the root onto the phone (often times including the words busy box and a list of nonexistent directories - see photo)

    [​IMG]

    If this happens to you, follow these steps, and the root should succeed.

    1. Once you receive the errors, your phone should reboot, if it does not, Reboot it.

    2. Open the SignedBackupTest APK again.

    3. When you see the words HELLO WORLD hold your power button for three seconds, and select POWER OFF AND RESTART.

    4. When your phone reboots, connect it via USB to your computer, be sure that the phone is in Charge Only mode.

    5. Double click root.bat to open it again.

    6. The root should succeed this time. If it does not, repeat steps 1-5 until it is successful.


    This also happened to me, and i have seen at least 5 other people who have suffered from this result as well. Once you get a successful root, you may encounter an "Insufficient Storage Space" error in the Google Play Store, if you do, I have a thread available to learn how to fix that as well.

    Thanks for reading, hope this helps some people.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Ubercharrge

    Ubercharrge Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    542
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    542
    105
    113
    This happened to me before, all i did was try multiple times and it should work again.
    Wah-lah!
     
  3. malkimeansking

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012

    Aug 29, 2012
    45
    2
    16
    Happens to me a lot... U dont even gotta do all that. Just type in the command again it will root the second time idk why it does that but phone doesnt seem to have any problems
     
  4. SwoRNLeaDejZ

    SwoRNLeaDejZ Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    770
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    770
    171
    93
    Male
    no comment
    ma
    Well after the reboot when it failed i tried to just run the root again and it didn't even get the daemon started. Once i opened the apk it worked perfectly
     
  5. killakev147

    killakev147 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012

    Aug 8, 2012
    72
    8
    16
    Male
    forklift
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    Just use the root&recovery zip, rooted 5 motions no problems!
     
  6. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,499
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl
    Link?
     
  7. Johnny Crapple

    Johnny Crapple Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    1,017
    254
    183
    Texas
    Hey i pmed you hit me back.
     
  8. jimdil4st

    jimdil4st Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012

    Mar 17, 2012
    4
    2
    6
    I'm pretty sure the reason it fails for most it beacuse you have to let the sd card scan complete before running root.bat just a tip seemed to be my problem and makes sense since I've had related problems with access the files to fast from my computer.
     
  9. Xt51

    Xt51 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    465
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012

    Dec 17, 2012
    465
    101
    68
    Male
    Student
    Florida
    I can say the same! If i wouldnt let my sd card be scanned before i run the root.bat then it just does not work!
     
  10. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #49
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,117
    483

    I have made a simple script to root the LG Motion and install the LTE2 2nd-init Recovery (requires Windows)
    This script includes the work of other people, and they have been given credit root.bat file

    Download lgm_root-recoveryv2.zip
    Unzip lgm_root-recoveryv2.zip to your C: drive somewhere

    Open the un-zipped lgm_root-recovery folder and install the USB drivers by opening
    LGUnitedMobileDriver_S4981MAN37AP22_ML_WHQL_Ver_3.7.2.exe

    Enable USB Debugging on your Phone
    Press the "Menu" Capacitance button
    Press System Settings
    Press Developer Options, Press OK
    Press a check mark on USB debugging, Press OK

    Plug Phone into computer with USB cable
    Set the USB Connection Type to "Charge Only"
    Press the "Back" Capacitance button until you are at the Home Screen

    Open the un-zipped lgm_root-recovery folder and double click the rootandrecovery.bat file

    Follow the On Screen Instructions
     
    JrossiX and sammyz like this.
  11. 0utSid3r

    0utSid3r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013

    Feb 7, 2013
    201
    11
    48
    Male
    Dallas, TX.
    Not working for me still
     
  12. rhino889a

    rhino889a Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,004
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012

    May 30, 2012
    1,004
    177
    143
    Male
    Bum
    Somewhere in the Internet
    I am pretty sure on windows 7 you have to right click the .bat and choose
    Run as Administrator
     
  13. SwoRNLeaDejZ

    SwoRNLeaDejZ Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    770
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    770
    171
    93
    Male
    no comment
    ma
    No you don't

    That will actually cause more problems. You have to double click it
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...