1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Guys, I screwed up while trying to root my S6

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Aronsin, Feb 28, 2016.

  1. Aronsin

    Aronsin Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016

    Feb 28, 2016
    8
    2
    6
    Male
    Hey guys, I usually find solutions online for such issues but I couldn't find any this time.

    I flashed a kernal to my unrooted version 5.1.1 phone yesterday and shit just went down from there.
    I have an S6 duos (which there is like a massive lack of information about online btw) model number SM-G920FD.
    When I was flashing the kernal I didn't even think about that extra D at the end of the model number so I ended up flashing a kernal for SM-G920F instead and I ended up messing up and needed to go into recovery mode. The genius I am thought there must be a way to get out of this without losing all my data so I flashed a twrp file which (again was for SM-G920F I still didn't notice at this point) and after that I was in a permanent Download mode, when I'd try to go into recovery, text saying "recovery is not seandroid enforcing" would show up on the top right and it would bootloop. I, of course, decided to find a bunch more files to flash causing a greater ****up and now I just get a text saying "An error has occurred while updating the device software. Use the Emergency recovery function in the Smart Switch PC software.". Of course this seems like it would be straight forward and I'd just need to go into the Smart Switch software but The software itself doesn't know my god damn phone model. SM-G920FD is not an available model in the software so now im just completely stuck and have no idea what to do.

    Does anyone have any solutions?

    Thanks so much.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Aronsin

    Aronsin Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016

    Feb 28, 2016
    8
    2
    6
    Male
    Also, sorry if some of the things I say seem to be gibberish, I'm actually pretty new to most of this rooting stuff, so it's my bad if I did something unforgivably stupid or if I said something that doesn't actually make sense, but the end point is still the same and I just really hope I can repair this thing.
     
  3. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,208
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Can you still get into download mode? Have you checked sammobile if they have the ROM for your device?
     
    Onecat and scary alien like this.
  4. Aronsin

    Aronsin Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016

    Feb 28, 2016
    8
    2
    6
    Male
    I can't get into download mode, and I did check, they don't have the ROM for this model
     
  5. Aronsin

    Aronsin Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016

    Feb 28, 2016
    8
    2
    6
    Male
    this is the only thing I can get to at this point
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Aronsin

    Aronsin Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016

    Feb 28, 2016
    8
    2
    6
    Male
  7. hippocrits

    hippocrits Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016

    Feb 27, 2016
    21
    9
    26
    Flash the stock firmware using Samsung Kies or Smart Switch PC.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  8. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,319
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,319
    23,814
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
  9. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,320
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,320
    3,335
    818
    Male
    scary alien likes this.
  10. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    The safest bet is to do as the on-screen warning says, and use Smart Switch to "repair" the correct firmware. That dual-SIM feature requires a specific firmware build to work.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  11. Aronsin

    Aronsin Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016

    Feb 28, 2016
    8
    2
    6
    Male
    UPDATE: I managed to get back access to download mode and recovery mode but I still don't have the required Stock firmware so at this point I still can't flash anything that will work.

    Also this image is for the guys that tell me to use Smart Switch or Kies 3/ (I get the same error with kies)
    Screen Shot 2016-02-28 at 21.26.10.png

    As I said in the initial post, I can't because smartswitch and kies 3 don't recognise this exact model for some reason.



    I tried this before, there is no actual file that's still available there unfortunately so the link is useless :(




    If you think that is a more reasonable place for this thread then feel free to! I really don't mind! ;)
     
    scary alien likes this.
  12. Pugs1957

    Pugs1957 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

  13. Aronsin

    Aronsin Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016

    Feb 28, 2016
    8
    2
    6
    Male
    Hmmm I didn't realise they used the same firmware, thanks, I gave it a go though and odin failed as in the image shown Capture.PNG

    the file I used is the one above odin.

    The country I picked was unknown. Should I have used a different firmware?
    I don't want to go through the hassle of downloading it again (internet here is absolute rubbish) if it won't solve anything, if you're not sure then I might just download a few different firmwares overnight.

    Also thanks again!
     
  14. Aronsin

    Aronsin Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016

    Feb 28, 2016
    8
    2
    6
    Male
    Alright guys, nevermind! I flashed a few different firmwares, french 5.1.1 worked! Thanks for all your help though!
     
    scary alien likes this.
  15. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,319
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,319
    23,814
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Great to hear, @Aronsin! :)

    I've gone ahead and moved your thread over here to the SG S6 root area for you.

    Cheers!
     
    Aronsin likes this.
  16. mrluigiconnor

    mrluigiconnor Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017

    Feb 23, 2017
    1
    1
    5
    how did you get download mode back? Same issue here and both Smart Switch and Kies say device not supported.
     
    HavnFunHere likes this.
  17. wesleysono8b

    wesleysono8b Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017

    Dec 9, 2017
    5
    0
    5
    Guys i need help with my s6 i recently found it was a clone and i tried rooting it and used es explorer and made some changes now its stuck on the Samsung logo and does not proceed i tried reseting it and clearing system cache and it cant go into download mode pls help
     
  18. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,129
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,129
    39,754
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    You're going to be hard-pressed to find firmware for a knock-off Samsung phone. And, I doubt the official firmware will install properly. That said, it doesn't hurt to try. What's the supposed model number of your phone?

    Plus, where did you get it and how do you know for certain it'a a clone?
     
  19. wesleysono8b

    wesleysono8b Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017

    Dec 9, 2017
    5
    0
    5
    SM-920
    My dad brought it from a GAME store
    It has a chinese menu when holding the power botton + volume down button + home botton
     
  20. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,129
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,129
    39,754
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    If you mean a Galaxy S6, that's a SM-G920 but there a re a boatload of variations.

    Yeah, the Chinese recovery is a dead giveaway. I hate to tell you this, but If Smart Switch won't recognize it, you're not likely to get firmware for it. Not sure what you can do now unless this was a recent purchase and sold as a genuine S6, then I'd take it back (angrily).
     
    mikedt likes this.
  21. wesleysono8b

    wesleysono8b Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017

    Dec 9, 2017
    5
    0
    5
    Smart switch cannot recognize it even odin doesnt recognize it
     
  22. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    27,312
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,312
    16,724
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    GAME in the UK, is a long established high street retailer, and just should not be selling fake phones. It's illegal in the UK to sell counterfeit goods. Maybe you should report it to your local Trading Standards, and possibly seek legal action against the store?
     
    HavnFunHere likes this.
  23. DraiiN

    DraiiN Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017

    Dec 19, 2017
    3
    0
    5
    Hey guys,
    I've got a problem. I got a new phone last week so I thought, let's put android 6.0 back on my old phone. (Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge)
    Watched some "how to" video's and after my Firmware download was complete, I started Odin and did everything the video's said.
    Now, after a few minutes odin almost completed tranfering the file, but then after "hidden.img" it said failed.
    Atm my phone is saying "Use Smart Switch Emergency Recovery", but that won't work either. And I can't get back into download mode.
    Is there anyone that can help me?
     
  24. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,320
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,320
    3,335
    818
    Male
    The Smart Switch Emergency Recovery screen should be the same as Download Mode.
    What previous Stock firmware was on the phone? Some Samsung devices are hard to downgrade and you need to flash the same version that was on the phone or higher.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  25. DraiiN

    DraiiN Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017

    Dec 19, 2017
    3
    0
    5
    Yeah I figured that too.
    I think 1 before the latest, but sure was 7. Can I ask how that works?
     

Samsung Galaxy S6

The Samsung Galaxy S6 launched in 2015 as the company's flagship. It features a 5.1-inch screen with 2560 x 1440 resolution, 3GB of RAM, 32GB of storage, and an impressive 16 megapixel camera.

Share This Page

Loading...