1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root GV to Redux question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mbatson89, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. mbatson89

    mbatson89 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    433
    45
    43
    UK
    It's been a whilst since i last posted but i fancied a change from GV so today flashed Redux 1.2 and being the impatient git (read: blithering idiot :p) i am, for got to do a wipe before installing. Thought i'd try and boot up anyway and have found that, to my surprise everything seems fine?

    I was expecting all sorts of fc's etc but don't seem to be getting any. Should i not take the chance and wipe anyway and re-install or has this been done before with no issues?

    Also, which is the best partition table to use with redux?

    Thanks for any help :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,113
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,113
    15,377
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I'm a little surprised you got away with it, but if it works then fine. If you start finding strange things that don't work you may need to wipe to fix them (or clear the relevant data, if you can guess what those are!).

    Redux fits in Oxygen table. You can always use Quick System Info to check how much space you are using in each partition and choose based on that.
     
    mbatson89 likes this.
  3. mbatson89

    mbatson89 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    433
    45
    43
    UK
    Thanks Hadron. All seems okay at the moment, even my HTC IME keyboard is working without issues so i seem to have been very lucky! At work so haven't been able to play with it a great deal though... fingers crossed it stays that way!

    Okay thanks, i've got a fair amount of space left atm but just like to make sure i'm on the most effective table just in case i go on a bit of a downloading spree :D
     
  4. mbatson89

    mbatson89 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    433
    45
    43
    UK
    Spoke to soon, Home button doesn't work and lock screen doesn't appear for some reason. Wipe and re-flash needed after all :(
     
  5. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I had to wipe between redux and GV. I even did a Titanium restore and managed to get the Home button problem.
     
  6. mbatson89

    mbatson89 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    433
    45
    43
    UK
    How did you sort it out of curiosity? In the middle of a restore now so would be a good bit of info just in case it happens and knowing my luck...
     
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Yeah. Wipe. I must have restored something untoward. Oddly it happened again a couple of months ago. Hasving not done anything. Think it was just some dodgy restore going on. had to wipe data for all apps (not factory reset) and restore only the data I needed. Forgot what I thought was the suspect though.
     
    mbatson89 likes this.
  8. mbatson89

    mbatson89 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    433
    45
    43
    UK
    ahh okay, well i'll see how it get on
     
  9. richy555

    richy555 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010

    Aug 25, 2010
    29
    0
    35
    Co. Durham
    Ive just changed to the themed version from original version and using Bravo sense Hboot with supplied kernel.
    I had been using ManU2.0 but had a couple of issues with phone freezing after a call which i think was due to the kernel going down to 128.
    I used setcpu to 245 as min and it seemed ok.
    Ive been on Redux for a long time now as imo its simply the best out there.:D
     
  10. mbatson89

    mbatson89 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    433
    45
    43
    UK
    Im using 2.0 atm but given what i've read i'll be switching back to 1.4 i think but haven't got the file on my phone atm though so will have to wait till i get home.

    Restore seemed to go okay, home button working fine etc. Very impressed with the speed so far. Oddly i got a low memory error message during restore but have a fair amount of memory free.

    Can i still use darktremor with Redux? (sorry at work and can't re-read loads of old threads) If not, what's the best apps2sd solution to use with it?
     
  11. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #122
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,272
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,272
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    mbatson89 likes this.
  12. mbatson89

    mbatson89 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    433
    45
    43
    UK
    Awesome, cheers dude. Just need to flash the oxygen partition table when i'm home then i'm sorted :D
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...