1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Gyroscope Calibration

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Mabashi, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. Mabashi

    Mabashi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011

    Nov 23, 2011
    83
    38
    23
    Virginia, United States
    I tried playing a few Gameloft FPS games with the gyroscope on and it doesn't seem to be calibrated correctly. It constantly tries to look up as if I'm rotating my phone all the time. I also ran the app gyroscope rotate and the cube constantly spins in one direction slowly even on a flat surface.

    Does anyone else have this issue? Is it a hardware problem or does the gyroscope just need to be calibrated?
     

    Advertisement

  2. MunderS

    MunderS Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    19
    3
    16
    Mgr Domino's Pizza
    NE Nebraska
    my gyroscope only works in portrait orientation in games.
     
  3. Mabashi

    Mabashi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011

    Nov 23, 2011
    83
    38
    23
    Virginia, United States
    I dont know of any games that use the gyroscope in portrait mode
     
  4. Mabashi

    Mabashi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011

    Nov 23, 2011
    83
    38
    23
    Virginia, United States
    I don't know what i did but the gyroscope seems to be working fine now, games work great!
     
  5. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    I tried using gyroscope mode while playing 9MM and it was a disaster. It kept spinning around which made the game unplayable.
     
  6. MunderS

    MunderS Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    19
    3
    16
    Mgr Domino's Pizza
    NE Nebraska
    Let me clarify. If I'm playing a racing game and I set the steering to use the gyroscope the car will stay steered in one direction if I hold the phone in landscape. But, if I turn the phone 90° the car goes straight and I can steer fine. It's like the orientation for the gyroscope doesn't switch to landscape mode in games.
     
  7. Mabashi

    Mabashi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011

    Nov 23, 2011
    83
    38
    23
    Virginia, United States
    Oh I've had that issue with asphalt 6, I think it's an issue with the game though
     
  8. MunderS

    MunderS Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    19
    3
    16
    Mgr Domino's Pizza
    NE Nebraska

    It happens to me on that and gta III. Haven't really played anything else.
     
  9. drdoom

    drdoom Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    959
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    959
    183
    93
    College Student
    North Carolina
    I've had a problem with games, Gameloft ones in particular, and when trying to use Google Sky Map.
     
  10. Mabashi

    Mabashi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011

    Nov 23, 2011
    83
    38
    23
    Virginia, United States
    I ran an app called phone tester and checked the sensor outputs. It consistently showed -.016 on the y axis of the gyroscope. However after leaving it on the table and restarting that app a few times, it eventually reset to 0 and the gyroscope worked smoothly for my games.
     
  11. kk4df

    kk4df Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    153
    67
    73
    Engineer
    Georgia
    Download and run GPS Tracker. That app has a calibration method, which solved the Sky Map issue for me. It might solve the sensor issues in Gameloft apps as well.
     
    drdoom likes this.
  12. drdoom

    drdoom Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    959
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    959
    183
    93
    College Student
    North Carolina
    That helped a lot, but it is still off a bit in Sky Map.

    Edit: I got it working perfectly now. In addition to GPS tracker, I downloaded GPS Status and ran all of the calibration modes through it. Sky Map is dead on now.
     
  13. scott8

    scott8 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012

    Jan 21, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Please could someone provide a direct link to GPS Tracker in the market?

    There are a number of apps I've found that are named 'GPS Tracker', but none have any calibration options.
     
  14. syntrix

    syntrix Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,418
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,418
    303
    163
    engineer
    The South
    shutdown your phone.

    Put it on a desk or stable surface. Turn it on AND DON'T MOVE IT until you at least get to the lock screen.

    Any gyro, when initialized can stick a false reading. So if you powered up your phone and are dubstepping in your moving vw, it's going to be seriously off.
     
  15. billy555

    billy555 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015

    Apr 5, 2015
    7
    0
    15
    Male
    Hi guys I just brought a new Samsung galaxy grand prime and it seems like the gyroscope is a little bit not correctly calibrated I tried going to the settings but in andriid4. 4. 4 there is no gyroscope calibration. Pls help.
     
  16. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Check out "GPS Status & Toolbox"

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.eclipsim.gpsstatus2

    Calibrations you need are under the wrench at the top.
     
  17. billy555

    billy555 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015

    Apr 5, 2015
    7
    0
    15
    Male
    But how do u use it and will it calibrate the gyroscope for the whole device?
     
  18. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    You use it by following the instructions it gives you.

    And calibrated is calibrated for the whole device.

    If you don't want it in a GPS app, search for it in the Play Store, I'm sure you'll find others that also do the job. :)
     
  19. billy555

    billy555 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015

    Apr 5, 2015
    7
    0
    15
    Male
    What does It mean by the 3 axes
     
  20. billy555

    billy555 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015

    Apr 5, 2015
    7
    0
    15
    Male
    It still do not work :(
     
  21. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
  22. billy555

    billy555 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015

    Apr 5, 2015
    7
    0
    15
    Male
  23. billy555

    billy555 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015

    Apr 5, 2015
    7
    0
    15
    Male
    But when I open highway rider the rider drifts to the left
     
  24. billy555

    billy555 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015

    Apr 5, 2015
    7
    0
    15
    Male
    It could be a problem with this model type
     
  25. Revenwyn

    Revenwyn Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016

    Jul 18, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Female
    I just checked (I have the same model) and this phone does not have a gyroscope.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...