1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

H+ in UK

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hits98, Aug 24, 2011.

1. hits98

hits98 Lurker

I have noticed today that i am getting H+ instead of the normal 3g or H signal, I thought H+ was some superfast 4g connection that wasn't coming to the UK for ages. I am on three and live in the Maidstone area.

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. Blakers

Blakers Lurker

I'm not an expert, but as far as I can remember H+ is an hsdpa connection. Its supposedly a bit faster than 3g.

I think 4g is different, you need a different aerial for it (an LTE aerial) and it supports some really fast data speeds.... and is currently not in the UK.
    Someone will probably be able to correct me on this if its wrong but thats the situation as i remember it.

3. heshanj

heshanj Android Expert

as far as i know, H+ is HSPA+, and thats a 4G technology.. just H (no +) is HSDPA and its a bit faster than 3G.. but i too am not very sure about this so someone could correct me too :D

4. steslatt

steslatt Android Expert

I was under the impression that H+ is faster than H but is not 4G. I have heard of some people getting H+ in some areas of the UK.

5. Ih4teKies

Ih4teKies Member

H+ is just 3.5G not 4G
    Sorry but hate to admit it but U.K everything is slow...so slow. We don't like change but that's gotta change lookin at what's been happening for the last 31 days!!!

6. ziggyball

ziggyball Newbie

I noticed this too, when going through slough on the train yesterday...
    I think Three are rolling out H+ network as they've started selling an H+ dongle...
    Hopefully phones will see the benefit too and there is no caps/shaping put in place...
    HSPDA+ is not 4G but some AT&T in USA is calling it 4G anyway!

To be honest, reliable 1Mb speed would be fanstastic and more than adaquate at the moment, rather than patchy 'up to' 21Mb...

7. steslatt

steslatt Android Expert