1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support H where the 3G is

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cpope09, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. cpope09

    cpope09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    anyone know why this is like that?
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. Dante04SRT

    Dante04SRT Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    138
    14
    38
    Are you running a custom ROM or stock?
     
  3. cpope09

    cpope09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    stock 2.2
     
  4. cpope09

    cpope09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    i can make phone calls go on twitter facebook market and even download a game but i cant use the internet
    and since i unlocked it and service provider cont help me
    and the wifi isnt on and im totally confused
    and i downloaded firefox and it work too!
    just the native browser down work
     
  5. Raynut

    Raynut Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    2
    2
    6
    Wireless Sales Rep
    Boston, MA
    I believe the H (HSDPA) means you're getting a "4G" signal for your data access but if you're running stock I'm not sure how it's doing it since the Captivate is technically not a 4G phone. I get the H too but I'm running a custom ROM that allows me to get the HSDPA signal here in Boston. HSDPA is available in very few areas right now so it's nice that you're able to connect to it but it's weird that you can't connect to the internet but are using the other data features. I had some issues with my native browser awhile back and just downloaded another browser. I think alot of the ones in the market are better anyway.
     
    cpope09 likes this.
  6. cpope09

    cpope09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    im in canada and we dont have 4g at all we just got HSPDA+
     
  7. sremick

    sremick Android Expert
    Rank:
     #96
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,521
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    2,521
    356
    263
    IT Admin
    USA
    HSPA isn't "4G".

    And the Captivate only supports HSDPA. AT&T cripples HSUPA on everything but the iPhone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...