1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Handcent and 2.1 Led Notification

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bemenaker, Mar 31, 2010.

  1. bemenaker

    bemenaker Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    137
    16
    38
    Since installing 2.1 this morning, I'm not getting LED notifications from Handcent. I've played with the settings some, but I can't seem to get them working.


    Adding this from my later post:

    OK, did some further testing. If my screen is dark (asleep), it lights up my main screen and I see the notification in the notification area. After the phone goes back to sleep, I get a blinking reminder LED that blinks a short time, then goes off. At this point, I think this is just a change in 2.1 behavior. Not a bug.

    When I hit "Test Notification" in Handcent, I do not get a LED.
     

    Advertisement

  2. johninbigd

    johninbigd Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009

    Jun 3, 2009
    318
    7
    36
    Same problem here. No more LED notifications.
     
  3. ttaylor0024

    ttaylor0024 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    659
    188
    93
    Kansas, United States
  4. bemenaker

    bemenaker Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    137
    16
    38
    I just turned the default txt app's led notification back on until Handcent is updated.
     
  5. ttaylor0024

    ttaylor0024 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    659
    188
    93
    Kansas, United States
    Actually, I just checked... Mine still works! Good luck!
     
  6. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    No problem here ... works great. :thinking:
     
  7. xp2002

    xp2002 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    did you guys try reinstalling handcent cause mine works fine also
     
  8. Esabasard

    Esabasard Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    74
    5
    16
    No problem with mine.
     
  9. SinfulDragon

    SinfulDragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    614
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    614
    36
    88
    Network Admin
    Indiana
    Installed handcent after the 2.1 upgrade (wanted to give it a chance to work with my phone again) no issues here.
     
  10. bemenaker

    bemenaker Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    137
    16
    38
    I just reinstalled it and still no go.... hmmmm
     
  11. bemenaker

    bemenaker Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    137
    16
    38
    I'm not getting LED notifications form the default TXT app either. Odd.
     
  12. CombatChuck103

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    46
    1
    16
    I'm having the same issue, however, I can't get a notification light for anything! I've factory reset twice, and even reinstalled the manual 2.1 zip. No luck so far :(
     
  13. bemenaker

    bemenaker Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    137
    16
    38
    That's what I'm getting too.
     
  14. sooper_droid12

    sooper_droid12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,228
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    1,228
    73
    128
    When people post problems with their 2.1 update, they should say whether or not they forced the update or not, so that we know if it's a glitch in the push or something related to forcing the update.
     
  15. bemenaker

    bemenaker Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    137
    16
    38
    This was forced of the OTA from the update.zip I d/l'd from here. It was the 3rd link in the list.
     
  16. nathan312

    nathan312 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    395
    25
    63
    Student
    Georgia
    I force updated from Link 1 and had a problem with the standard messaging app, pre 2.1, so i immediately installed Handcent and disabled notifications of standard messaging app. I get the blue LED on text message, but it doesn't blink, it just stays there...then again I'm sure I can just change that in the settings lol. Somewhat offtopic but, i got my friend to force update and he did Link 1, and he says his wallpapers won't change for his backgrounds, LWP's, but only for his lock screen...dunno what to tell him lol
     
  17. SSinisterSS

    SSinisterSS Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    319
    3
    36
    mine works when the screen is off, when its on it goes off (which is kinda cool)
     
  18. bills534

    bills534 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    63
    5
    16
    Computers\Networking
    Youngstown, OH
    Im having the same Issue it seems. Tried Reinstalling handcent too. Haven't recieved a message with the screen off yet now that I've been playing with it :D maybe that's the problem?

    Sorry forgot to add that I forced the update also.
     
  19. SSinisterSS

    SSinisterSS Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    319
    3
    36
    the default sms app does the same thing for me
     
  20. CombatChuck103

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    46
    1
    16
    Hahaha, so, I get LED with my screen off. Though it goes away when the screen is on. Error, or clever new notification system? Who knows.
     
  21. tominabox1

    tominabox1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    70
    6
    16
    EVERYBODY LOOK: 2.1 roms and the OTA update have always acted this way: NO LED NOTIFICATIONS WHEN SCREEN IS ON!!!

    there, cleared that up for you.
     
  22. nathan312

    nathan312 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    395
    25
    63
    Student
    Georgia
    I just noticed mine does the same lol..i like it
     
    atowers89 likes this.
  23. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    This is a change due to the update.

    2.1 does NOT blink your LED when the screen is on. This is because you can quite obviously see your notifications on the bar.

    It will revert to the same behavior as 2.0.1 when you have the screen off.

    Though the power savings may be minimal, at least there is some :D
     
    CombatChuck103 likes this.
  24. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    Is he using a home replacement app? I know some of them don't support the live wallpapers (I am using Sweeter Home, and the only way I get the live wallpapers is by using the default home).
     
  25. bemenaker

    bemenaker Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    137
    16
    38
    I'm not getting LED notifications when the screen is off.
     

Share This Page

Loading...