1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Handcent and XT9

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by oaklane, May 20, 2010.

  1. oaklane

    oaklane Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    336
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    336
    5
    56
    Secretary
    New Hampshire
    I upgraded to 2.1 with no previous issues with the phone or apps. After the upgrade when texting using Handcent it defaults to XT9. I did a factory reset and it is still the same any other suggestions?

    Thank you!
     

    Advertisement

  2. 71ValiantSRT-4

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    33
    0
    15
    I have the same problem. I ALWAYS have to switch it to ABC on the phonepad before I text. ANNOYING
     
  3. oaklane

    oaklane Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    336
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    336
    5
    56
    Secretary
    New Hampshire
    I thought the factory reset might have corrected that but it didn't. It never did it before the upgrade - Im thinking of trying the stock messaging or another app to see if it does it with that to.
     
  4. 71ValiantSRT-4

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    33
    0
    15
    It switches to XT9. Ive tried stock,handcent,chomps. All do it.
     
  5. oaklane

    oaklane Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    336
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    336
    5
    56
    Secretary
    New Hampshire
    ya even updating contact info does it on the phone key pad
     
  6. 71ValiantSRT-4

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    33
    0
    15
  7. colornshape

    colornshape Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    317
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    317
    9
    36
    Minneapolis
    I must be misunderstanding. Are you all saying you use the phone keypad, but not predictive text? I saw no change in Handcent's behavior when I went to v1. Do you mean it defaults to multi tap like the search hotkey?
     
  8. colornshape

    colornshape Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    317
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    317
    9
    36
    Minneapolis
    THank you for the clarification. I nearly returned this phone because XT9 wasn't always available, and I didn't think anyone would prefer multi tap, but some people use two hands and type on a qwerty type, so nothing should surprise me anymore.
     
  9. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    People actually type on this phone with only one hand?? I'm so used to my Nokia E63 that I always use two hands and QWERTY when I type, even in portrait orientation. It feels uncomfortable using the old phone number type or Blackberry Pearl (compact QWERTY) layout. Then again, I have fairly small fingers.
     
  10. oaklane

    oaklane Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    336
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    336
    5
    56
    Secretary
    New Hampshire
    Yes some of us type with one hand. And it's really annoying to change it every time time you text or anytime you use the phone pad to type. PLEASE the powers that be fix this!
     

Share This Page

Loading...