1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Handcent not in market today?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Joe_T, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. Joe_T

    Joe_T Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    23
    0
    35
    Marketing
    Naptown, IN
    I've tried searching for Handcent today and all I get are the 4 font packs as well as the handcent keyboard. Any reason why the actual app has disappeared for me today?
     

    Advertisement

  2. leebsammy

    leebsammy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    121
    37
    63
    Well 3.03 came out today, maybe the markets updating to it? Idk
     
  3. TokedUp

    TokedUp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    377
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    377
    38
    43
    very strange. I just checked the Market and you're right it isn't there BUT it is listed in the Appbrain market. Download Appbrain and you can install it from there. Handcent is great, enjoy it.
     
  4. Twiz

    Twiz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    478
    106
    68
    Steeler country
    I'm not seeing it either. I have version 3.0.2.
     
  5. Twiz

    Twiz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    478
    106
    68
    Steeler country
  6. JF-08

    JF-08 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    Chandler, AZ
    Now how many people tried clicking just to see if there really is a trojan or not?
     
  7. tinkturtle

    tinkturtle Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    3
    0
    25
    Oak Park, IL
    No Handcent thru AppBrain. Bummed, just flashed Fresh 2.1.2 and now I have no Handcent.
     
  8. crimton

    crimton Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,055
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    1,055
    180
    163
    TN
    i noticed this as well. guess i'll use chomp for a little while.
     
  9. TheLurg1687

    TheLurg1687 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    214
    13
    38
    EMT
    NH
    Yea, I am very sad about this. Stock is muchhhh slower! I just got my REFURB (Trust me, 2 defective phones and now I get a refurb...not happy) and I am having trouble w/ other things too..grr
     
  10. Twiz

    Twiz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    478
    106
    68
    Steeler country
    I just emailed admin@handcent.com to see what is up. I'll let you know if/when I hear anything.
     
  11. tranquilo

    tranquilo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    14
    1
    16
    Anyone have the 3.0.3 apk to post up? :)
     
  12. blue rocket

    blue rocket Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    481
    139
    68
    DBA, Sticker Co. Owner / Graphic Designer
    CT
    handcent is gone from the market... ADW Launcher is gone, wtf is up?
     
  13. MisterMixelpix

    MisterMixelpix Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    774
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    774
    153
    113
    Youth Counselor
    PA
    LauncherPro, too. AppBrain told me updates for both of 'em, but they can't be found in the market.
     
  14. Reaver

    Reaver Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    177
    65
    53
    Sr. Systems Analyst
    Pennsylvania
    Handcent wasn't there for the DINC but I was able to download it yesterday onto a friends Droid.
     
  15. mrjinglesusa

    mrjinglesusa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    381
    119
    88
    NoVA
    No Handcent, no Launcher Pro, no Setting Profiles, no ADW.Launcher.

    WTF is going on with the Market and these apps?
     
  16. golfinglenn

    golfinglenn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    233
    41
    43
    According to the adw blog, there is a problem with the market right now and they are working to get it fixed. They are definitely aware of the problem and working on it. I too am waiting on the update.
     
  17. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    1,456
    338
    163
    Network Engineering and Data Communications
    I'll be where I'm at!
    Can't be a coincidence!!
    I wonder if there is some "copy-write stuff" going on??? :thinking:
     
  18. mrjinglesusa

    mrjinglesusa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    381
    119
    88
    NoVA
    Yeah, I was wondering if HTC is throwing a fit over apps that override SenseUI. But that doesn't explain Handcent....
     
  19. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    1,456
    338
    163
    Network Engineering and Data Communications
    I'll be where I'm at!
    True! and if it did involve Handcent you would expect Chomp to be on the missing list as well! Does make you wonder what is going on, if rules have been broken, etc...
     
  20. jprow507

    jprow507 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    268
    13
    38
    QiK is also missing ... Appbrain notifies me of updates for it and Handcent but then can't find them
     
  21. ttamnedlog

    ttamnedlog Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    250
    55
    53
    Just quoting this guy, since people still seem to be confused after this explanation was posted.
     
  22. mrjinglesusa

    mrjinglesusa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    381
    119
    88
    NoVA
    The explanation is not what is "confusing". All he said is that there was a "problem" with the Market. What we are speculating on is what this "problem" is because it clearly only affects certain apps, not all apps, and it's weird that it's affecting two SenseUI replacements....
     
  23. MisterMixelpix

    MisterMixelpix Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    774
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    774
    153
    113
    Youth Counselor
    PA
    Are they showing up for non-HTC devices?
     
  24. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    1,456
    338
    163
    Network Engineering and Data Communications
    I'll be where I'm at!
    +1
     
  25. ttamnedlog

    ttamnedlog Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    250
    55
    53
    ADWLauncher, LauncherPro, Handcent, and Qik.

    Those are only the four I know of, and 2 are Sense replacements and 2 aren't. Not to mention non-Sense phones can't find them either.

    No need to speculate about anything "fishy." It's just bugged.
     

Share This Page

Loading...