1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

handcent problem

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by vaccdroid, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. vaccdroid

    vaccdroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    118
    11
    38
    I love handcent but got an issue. Text are disapearing from handcent. I recieve them and I see them in handcent but a few hours later its gone from handcent ( shows the last text as text from like a month ago) just started happening 2 weks ago. I tried removing handcent and re-installing. Even tried an older version. still happens. I can see the lastest text in the list of text BUT when I open that persons text its not there. And its all in the Stock Text app. Anyone have a clue.
     

    Advertisement

  2. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    1,139
    119
    143
    Student
    Houston, TX
    I haven't used Handcent in forever. What device? Have you tried emailing the dev? Are you rooted? If so what rom?
     
  3. vaccdroid

    vaccdroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    118
    11
    38
    Using an EVO. I will sen them a email. I went to the forum for there app and no responses to people there. I am not rooted.
     
  4. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    1,139
    119
    143
    Student
    Houston, TX
    Hmmm...that's odd. Did you try wiping?
     
  5. vaccdroid

    vaccdroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    118
    11
    38
    Whats wiping?
     
  6. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    1,139
    119
    143
    Student
    Houston, TX
    Factory data reset.
     
    vaccdroid likes this.
  7. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    Do not do factory reset yet!

    1. Go into stock Messaging app and make sur ethat the option to delete old messages isis not checked (Messagin>Menu>settings>Delete old messages).

    2. In Handcent go to Settings>Custom Style>Bubble Settings>Others (bottom of the list) and make sure the option to 'Show Earlier Button is not checked.
     
  8. vaccdroid

    vaccdroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    118
    11
    38
    Both of those are now unchecked but still messages are disapearing. I downloaed chompsms and it fine in that . Also fine in the stock sms app. so its an issues I am having with handcent. Oh well maybe I will just move to chomp. almost as good as handcent. Thanks for the help.
     
  9. JDW

    JDW Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    83
    1
    36
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Interesting. I use handcent. Have around 1200+ texts from the GF on my Droid 1 w/2.2 Just sorta seeing how far it goes. Or if it slows the phone or app down. Haven't lost any that I know of.
     
  10. vaccdroid

    vaccdroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    118
    11
    38
    It just happened . Been a user of handcent for months. I think I did hit the remove delete old messages box a few days before this happened. but I changed it and checked the box a few days later. I uninstalled handcent, installed a version from months ago. Sadly a factory wipe is probally all I can do but I got so many apps, data etc on my phone I dont want to go that route. Just use chomp for now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...