1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Handcent problem

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by chillerman, Oct 13, 2012.

  1. chillerman

    chillerman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011

    Jan 23, 2011
    19
    0
    15
    Hi all.
    I'm hoping that someone can help. I recently got a Galaxy s2 and installed Handcent on it as I liked it on my old HTC. Yesterday I tried to send txts via this and it wont work. I just get a message saying 'message not sent'. I reset all the settings and have even uninstalled and reinstalled the app but to no avail. The stock messaging app works ok so I know theres not a problem with txts etc.
    Thanks for any help or advise.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Ceverol

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    Oct 3, 2012
    115
    9
    36
    Hmm!
    In your place I would do it again, but a tad stricter: uninstall, power down, remove battery, replace after 30 secs, reboot, reinstall Handcent. Test.
    The next step up from that, if it doesn't work, would be resetting to factory settings and starting from scratch rebuilding the SGS2. But that IS a bit drastic. So I would probably opt for living without Handcent (maybe get a good alternative like free MySMS).
     
  3. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    14,827
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14,827
    4,543
    1,108
    Male
    Handcent new versions is having trouble in the recent Samsung phones for some reason. I suggest Go SMS Pro. It has all the same features as Handcent.
     
  4. pool_shark

    pool_shark Android Expert
    Rank:
     #113
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    2,489
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    2,489
    541
    243
    Male
    Enterprise Server Engineer
    Ohio
    Go SMS sucks now.
    They keep sending spam text messages, you can't select a contact in landscape, backups are now in the cloud, etc.
    Read the reviews over the past month.
     
  5. hazmat47

    hazmat47 Member
    Rank:
     #1,428
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    43
    6
    16
    Male
    firefighter...dispatch supervisor
    laurel, md
    heres my problem....
    i have been using handcent and i luv it...but i get double notifications in the program all the time in the program. i have uninstalled and reinstalled and still it happens. i have tried some of the others, chomp, go, etc....they stop the double messages but arent as customizable as i need.
     
  6. Ceverol

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    Oct 3, 2012
    115
    9
    36
    Try some more.
     
  7. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    14,827
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14,827
    4,543
    1,108
    Male

    I use Go SMS with no problems. I get a random advertising text from them like once a month. I get more scam texts than that in a week (happens with same sim on a dumbphone so its noy Go). I got my entire phone backed up to cloud, and I dont use Go SMS backup so those aren't issues for me.

    And I can select contacts in landscape. Those people posting the reviews don't know what they are saying.

    And I am using the latest version.
     
  8. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    14,827
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14,827
    4,543
    1,108
    Male

    The ONLY feature handcent has that Go doesn't have is pictures per message bubble. Define 'not as customizeable as you need'. What is it you are trying to do exactly?

    As for double notifications, just go to stock SMS app and turn off notifications for that.
     
  9. hazmat47

    hazmat47 Member
    Rank:
     #1,428
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    43
    6
    16
    Male
    firefighter...dispatch supervisor
    laurel, md
    i have the stock app off...
    i want to have different tones for different contacts....i get pages thru work and they dont come in as number but as an email...it is saved as a contact but chomp and go would not let me customize them
     
  10. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    14,827
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14,827
    4,543
    1,108
    Male

    You mean when you go to the 'individual settings' part of the go SMS settings and change individual ringtones, nothing happens?
     
  11. kmf

    kmf Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #248
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    674
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    674
    84
    88
    Male
    Northeast Iowa
    Have you gone into Handcent's settings/general settings and made Handcent the default messaging app?
     
  12. chillerman

    chillerman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011

    Jan 23, 2011
    19
    0
    15
    Hi all. Many thanks for the replies. I did as advised, I uninstalled the app, turned phone off and on again and then reinstalled it. Hey presto it worked! Have used it a few times today and it seems ok.
    Thanks again.
     
  13. pool_shark

    pool_shark Android Expert
    Rank:
     #113
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    2,489
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    2,489
    541
    243
    Male
    Enterprise Server Engineer
    Ohio
    I can't select a contact in landscape, when I do it sees it as a word, it never enters the name or number. This started 3 updates ago. I don't use cloud backup services.
    I also kept getting messages about trying go chat, which I don't want to use.
     
  14. hazmat47

    hazmat47 Member
    Rank:
     #1,428
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    43
    6
    16
    Male
    firefighter...dispatch supervisor
    laurel, md
    yes....i think it is an issue with their recent updates
     
  15. firebladeash

    firebladeash Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I had the same problem it it was missing the sms service centre number.
     

Share This Page

Loading...