1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Handcent SMS (update available) Now full support of mms

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DjOutlaw32, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. DjOutlaw32

    DjOutlaw32 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    83
    3
    16
    I don't know if anyone had the problem of being able to send mms over handcent, but they got an update now that allows this. It even allows you to send slideshow messages. Ex) you want to send a picture with a small ringtone or audio file it will send it! It also auto splits messages longer than 160characters for us into mms. Awesome app, im glad they keep updating it.
    FTW!!!!:D
     

    Advertisement

  2. BLOWNCO

    BLOWNCO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    129
    22
    38
    citrus heights
    as of when i had it on my phone this morning and mms didnt work
     
  3. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    A friend of mine ,sho95, turned me onto this earlier today and at first I thought meh , its alright. But after digging into the settings a little bit I started to see that this app really is amazing :D
     
  4. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    Works now. Update and try again.
     
  5. Jef

    Jef Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    40
    1
    16
    Chicago, IL, US
    The latest update works great!

    As a work around I was sending MMS with the Messaging app, and receiving everything in handcent.

    It really is the best messaging replacement out there though.
     
  6. Droidian

    Droidian Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    11
    0
    15
    school
    New Albany, Indiana
    any way to get the notification out of the drop down tray on top for the stock msg app and only have the handcent notifications?

    edit: nvm figured out in normal settings to disable the stock notifications
     
  7. Jef

    Jef Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    40
    1
    16
    Chicago, IL, US
    Droidian,

    Open the original Messaging App (the green icon), click menu, settings, and turn off all notifications.

    now only the handcent will notify
     
  8. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    Anyone proven that sending >160 characters works on the Droid in the new Handcent update?

    I tried the > 160 characters and it failed...sent a long SMS to my wife's BB and nothing every arrived. Other normal length texts went promptly.
     
  9. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    I just sent one to my wife and my daughters phone and they went through fine.
     
  10. phantom27

    phantom27 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    35
    1
    16

    Worked fine for me.
     
  11. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    Weird...thanks, I'll try again tomorrow.

    Did you have to do anything after downloading the update from Marketplace?

    Close/restart Handcent, or ?

    Thanks.
     
  12. sho95

    sho95 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    266
    8
    56
    Quality Control
    Moreno Valley
    All you had to do it just download it and start using.
     
  13. n9zez

    n9zez Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    62
    1
    16
    Deputy Sheriff
    I have been waiting for this update for the MMS fix. I too had to use the android messenger to send MMS.

    But, it is only 50% fixed. I can send an MMS to anyone else but a DROID user. If I send a MMS to a droid they get a button that says "download" however they cannot download it. I tried sending one to myself with the same results. I even have auto MMS retrieval on!

    This has already been posted on the Handcent forums by someone else with the same problem. Link below.

    handcent.com • View topic - Sending Pictures
     
  14. Jorenm

    Jorenm Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    30
    0
    15
    The only thing I don't like about this app is that the interface could use a lot of polish.
     
  15. benna12

    benna12 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    37
    0
    15
    When getting a message through the Handcent App, does it unlock the phone when received? Or will it stay locked and just show the notification?
     
  16. rawness

    rawness Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    398
    21
    58
    Well, you have to go to the settings and activate the option for sending multiple messages when the length is over 160 characters.


    It stays locked, but you can read and respond to that message.
     
  17. Robobandit

    Robobandit Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    53
    0
    15
    The only thing I don't like about handcent is that it doesn't just take me to a contact list and let me choose a contact.. it makes me check off the contact I want to send a message to and then press "menu" and "end selection"

    Does anyone know if it is possible to alter that behavior?

    I never send messages to more than one person at a time.. so it would be nice not to have to go through the extra step of exiting selection mode.
     
  18. johnnybirdman

    johnnybirdman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    342
    188
    88
    Law
    Erie, PA
    I just tap "TO:" and start typing the name of the contact.
    J.
     
  19. rawness

    rawness Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    398
    21
    58
    You can just press the back button after making you selection.
     
  20. Barbara

    Barbara Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    840
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    840
    31
    88
    After the check you can also hit the back button. That seems to work the same as "menu", "end selection".
     

Share This Page

Loading...