1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Handcent SMS

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Matt43, Sep 30, 2010.

  1. Matt43

    Matt43 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    47
    0
    15
    I've started using Handcent SMS for text messaging and think it's brilliant. However my Xperia also appears to be using "Messaging" so that when I get a text message I get TWO notification sounds, and even though I've received and read the message using Handcent, it still appears in the top bar as a new message until I've cleared it using messaging.

    Is there a way to disable Messaging as I'm perfectly happy just using Handcent????? Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. rosered

    rosered Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,129
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    2,129
    317
    163
    UK
    In your stock messaging app, Menu>Settings>Notifications and untick, then the two below should also grey out and you won't get two notifications.
     
    SINCEREJ and Matt43 like this.
  3. luke318is

    luke318is Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    147
    3
    56
    There is for sure. I just wish I could remember how I did it. for outgoing, just select "always use handsent" when sending. I can't quite remember how I did it for incoming, but its not hard
     
    Matt43 likes this.
  4. CuBz

    CuBz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,656
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    1,656
    230
    163
    Website Programmer
    UK
    Sorry to hijack your post, but does anyone know an app that shows a pop up telling you that you have received a message, but doesn't show you the message, but gives you to the option to view

    Thanks
     
  5. Gurba

    Gurba Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    351
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    351
    14
    38
    Norway
    Handcent has several options for notifications. I belive what you ask for is one of them.
     
    KingDong and CuBz like this.
  6. rosered

    rosered Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,129
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    2,129
    317
    163
    UK
    Gurba, been using Handcent from day one of owning phone and had never looked for/seen that option. Thank you! (That's my 'learn something new every day' done then... brain now at capacity)
     
  7. CuBz

    CuBz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,656
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    1,656
    230
    163
    Website Programmer
    UK
    I installed it on day one, but couldn't see the option anywhere as it is my first Android phone and I didn't know how to use it correctly :D
     
  8. KingDong

    KingDong Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    476
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    476
    35
    43
    London, England
    Thank you!
     

Share This Page

Loading...