1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Handcent update and default messaging app

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by skunis1, Jun 23, 2011.

  1. skunis1

    skunis1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    369
    41
    43
    Handcent just released and update and one of the most interesting updates was the ability to make Handcent the default messaging app.

    I have a Droid Incredible and I went into application settings>default messaging application. I chose each of the options but nothing seems to set Handcent as the default. I still see messages in my stock app. I have disabled notifications on the stock app but I would love to save some space on my phone.

    If anyone has any thoughts I would greatly appreciate it.:)
     

    Advertisement

  2. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,442
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,442
    5,654
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    The latest update states...

    "New Default Messaging application option can full replace stock messaging app and work independently"

    This, I take it to mean, implies that if you remove the stock messaging app from your handset you can use Handcent as a stand alone app whereas before, Handcent relied on certain features of the stock app to function.

    Therefore it could now be incorporated in customised ROM's or if your phone was rooted you could remove the stock messaging app.

    Hope this helps. :D
     
  3. skunis1

    skunis1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    369
    41
    43
    Well, if that is the case then that sucks! LOL

    O well, thought it would help but since I am not rooted it won't do a thing for me.
     
  4. lvpre

    lvpre Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011

    Apr 21, 2011
    7
    2
    6
    I think they also did this because the stock GB app doesn't have the ability to turn off message counting as in Froyo.
     

Share This Page

Loading...