1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Handcent was hogging

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by EarlyMon, Jun 29, 2011.

  1. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    There have been a lot of recent Handcent changes.

    I installed it the other day, knowing that if I didn't throttle back the notifications, it would power-hog some.

    So - early this morning I finally configured the thing per usual (I don't need lots of pop-ups and notifications).

    And... while running a process monitor, the little beast seemed to have a heartbeat - 5~8 seconds of little cpu activity then 5~8 seconds (or more) of about 20% cpu utilization... back and forth like clockwork.

    I did a soft reset (restart from power menu) and this seems to have quieted it down, but will continue to monitor.

    Suggest others into process monitoring do likewise.
     

    Advertisement

    ebolamonkey3 and marctronixx like this.
  2. toad6386

    toad6386 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    361
    196
    88
    Male
    RFID FSE
    So Cen TX
    I knew it was eating my lunch, but I couldn't ever get the pop-ups to completely stop, so the screen kept coming on for tweets, etc.:( I (seemingly) tried all possible options, but I lost my Capt Crunch decoder ring, and sometimes the obvious becomes oblivious for me:eek:. I went to Go SMS and it seems to be just fine.
     
  3. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I am seriously considering that option after seeing this.
     
  4. ebolamonkey3

    ebolamonkey3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    255
    67
    53
    EarlyMon, how did you monitor the process for handcent?

    Do you have to use Go launcher to use it?
     
  5. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    No, it works with all launchers, including Sense.
     
    ebolamonkey3 likes this.
  6. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
     #59
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    I'm giving the stock SMS app a try before moving to a 3rd-party. I used to use Handcent as well. I suspect that if it's a widespread problem, they'll fix it. They've always been responsive.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  7. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    https://market.android.com/details?id=ccc71.pmw

    Do NOT use this as a task killer - it offers power intended only for devs - their website is clear that you can hose your phone with it like crazy - so, you've been warned.

    Just use it as a monitor.

    Better choice if that scares you would Android System Info (Electric Sheep), free in the Market.
     
    ebolamonkey3 likes this.
  8. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Just an update - I've been using Handcent this morning and its cpu load stays below 0.3% now.

    I've been essentially idling the phone otherwise and in 5 hours, I've used 7% of the battery - could be a lot better, but I'm letting lots of background stuff happen. Before I throttled back Handcent, I was using at least that per hour.
     
    Crodley and toad6386 like this.
  9. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    On the Evo 4G, I ended up switching to Handcent because I found the stock Sense SMS app to be woefully slow. Well, soon enough Handcent began to bog down as well. GoSMS was a tremendous improvement over both the stock SMS and Handcent, both in terms of speed, and user interface (although the latter is more personal than anything).

    The new Sense 3.0 app is a tremendous improvement in looks (and speed, although I can't tell if it's just the 1GB of RAM and thoroughbred style dual core Snapdragon), and I'm still testing it against GoSMS, but I figure I'd throw in another good word for a well-done app.

    On another note, has anyone noticed the bizzare 1 second delay in refreshing the SMS messages on the Sense 3.0 app? If I jump too quickly into an actual conversation thread, the main messages list never seems to update unless I give it 1-2 seconds to refresh. Kinda annoying.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...