1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Hard reboot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by RunVert, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. RunVert

    RunVert Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    238
    12
    38
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Does a hard reboot make a phone go from rooted to ...un-rooted?
    Basically, if I do a hard re-boot to factory settings, will I have to re-root my phone?
     

    Advertisement

  2. TheEngineer

    TheEngineer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    268
    55
    53

    No
     
  3. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    584
    213
    Male
    No it will just revert the ROM back to stock, if you are on a rooted ROM it will stay rooted. Also if you are doing this to go back to the stock ROM it won't work, meaning if you are running say Mikfroyo it will just revert to stock Mikfroyo.
     
  4. RunVert

    RunVert Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    238
    12
    38
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    ok. Yeah I am getting an annoying MMS message that is not allowing me to download or view small clips when someone texts me a video clip. I think a hard reboot might be the only way to go to hopefully get this annoying MMS message to stop, and to allow me to view video clips again, via text messages.
     
  5. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    584
    213
    Male
    What ROM are you running, also have you tried wiping cache and dalvik cache from recovery?
     
  6. RunVert

    RunVert Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    238
    12
    38
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Stock ROM, I havent flashed anything yet.
    I havent tried the wipe and cache yet?

    I suppose I could try that. Just not sure how that would affect incoming MMS messages (I dont have that many text messages in my inbox.... <50...and only 2 small vid clips).

    One day incoming video MMS texts were fine....the next..all I get is the same error message! Argh!
     
  7. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    584
    213
    Male
    What is the error message? Wiping Cache and Dalvik should always be one of the first things you do when you run into a problem, they can often fix it.
     
  8. RunVert

    RunVert Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    238
    12
    38
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    I get this message ..."Message not downloaded", "Generic network failure"
    about every 10 minutes in my notifications bar.

    I still get texts, just not when there is a vid clip attached. And the clip is small, I checked and so the size of the clip is fine.

    It doesnt matter where I am at...work or home, I still get that message.
    I just delete it because I keep getting an annoying notification alert every 10 minutes. weird...
     
  9. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    584
    213
    Male
    Yeah try cache and dalvik wipe?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...