1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Hard reset?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by elevenbangbang, Nov 1, 2009.

  1. elevenbangbang

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    What's the key combination to hard reset this? Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Adrift

    Adrift Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    716
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    716
    104
    93
    College...
    Corpus Christi, TX
    I just go under settings and do the factory restore... is there an easier way?
     
  3. darn1207

    darn1207 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    3
    0
    25
    I don't seem to get settings > factory restore.

    I have Settings and Display under Settings, but not a factory restore or any choice like it.

    So -- any other ideas on a hard reset?

    I need to do this because my phone won't connect to the market, etc and people are suggesting to reset and fix the problem.
     
  4. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    3,121
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008


    It should be in Settings > SD card & phone storage > factory data reset
     
  5. darn1207

    darn1207 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    3
    0
    25
    Top Notch - Thanks.
     
  6. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    3,121
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008


    No Worries....
     
  7. smk224

    smk224 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    does this also erase the contents of your SD card?
     
  8. fildrigar

    fildrigar Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009

    Sep 27, 2009
    32
    0
    15
    No, it certainly shouldn't. You will have to reinstall everything you've installed, and re sync your contacts, but it won't erase your SD card.

    Also, there has to be a hard key combo to press to hard reset, anyone know it?
     
  9. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    512
    38
    68
    There really oughtta be a soft reset HW button to reset a locked phone.
     
  10. melblank

    melblank Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    3
    0
    5

    Did this fix your problem with the gmail connection? I cannot connect either but want to avoid a reset if possible. I assume reset loses your contacts, right? I can't get to a store for a couple of days to have my contacts transferred again. Thanks!
     
  11. Warlock

    Warlock Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    68
    2
    36
    melblank: yes this will erase the contacts. hopefully you're already synced with google. then you just have to re-setup your google account in the phone and your contacts will sync again....

    Stoney62: correct me if i'm wrong, but isn't a soft reset the same as a reboot? so on a locked phone, the soft reset is pull the battery....
     
  12. kahale

    kahale Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    255
    11
    38
    anyway to do this when the phone is off. my moment is stuck at android screen and doesn't boot to os. i cannot get to the factory reset in the os. i think pandahome (ver. 1.75) is the main culprit. the other apps i have are ak notepad, astro, remote vnc lite, remote droid, pdanet, some themes for pandahome. if i take it to the sprint store can they reset it. if so, will they charge me for it?
     
  13. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    512
    38
    68
    Essentially, yes. What i' saying is there should be a button press or combination of presses to soft reset the phone so you don't have to take the phone apart to do it.
     
  14. LincKraker

    LincKraker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

  15. agent0014

    agent0014 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    394
    1
    36
  16. LincKraker

    LincKraker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    no difference.
     
  17. cdodd1019

    cdodd1019 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    Advanced Tech for Sprint customer service
    Oklahoma
    Havent tried myself yet, but thought i'd put it out there for everyone. Let me know how it works.

    WARNING; This May and Will mess up your phone if you do not know what you are doing!

    I can not help you if you do mess up your phone, be sure you made a back up or that google sync is working. Play around at your own risk!

    Take out the battery, put it back in. Simultaneously press Call(Green/Send key
    ) Enter(Middle Trackpad) End(Red/Hang Up) buttons on bottom portion of front face. It will turn on and display "Samsung" and fill a grey bar, then turn yellowish, poof you are now at the self test menu.

    From there, go to reset and you should be able to hard reset the device.
     
  18. agent0014

    agent0014 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    394
    1
    36
    I'm pretty sure that's a negative... even though it says "reset", it's really only a reboot to get back into android... really just an exit from the diag tool. It definitely didn't hard reset my phone the last time I was in the tool several weeks ago.
     
  19. kalel3038

    kalel3038 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    32
    0
    15
    MODESTO CA
    I honestly thought this was to easy to be true.
     

Samsung Moment

The Samsung Moment was one of the first Android Phones with a slideout keyboard.

Share This Page

Loading...