1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Hardware Version 0004

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jxr94, Oct 23, 2010.

  1. aznmode

    aznmode Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    424
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    424
    38
    43
    Leaked versions are for the newer Evo builds with different camera module. Perhaps the later module along with newer rom eliminates the blue tint? Maybe....

    New Sprint Evo 4G models will have different software version | Android Central
     

    Advertisement

  2. ARR22

    ARR22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    600
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    600
    126
    113
    Male
    Network/System Administrator, I build and fix PC's
    Some where in Iowa. But born and rasied in Austin
    Thats ridiculous almost 6 months in and HTC cant figure out how to properly secure a screen. :eek:
     
  3. frickinjerms

    frickinjerms Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    well i dunno if this helps anyone buuut... apparently, i had an 0003 i got 10/1 but the front camera was permafried... it had this nasty static and the pics came out horrible so i took it to the store and the rep said id get a brand new one... turns out via ##rtn# that was in fact, total crap, activation date 6/5 and refurb date 10/7 but still hw 0003... buuut my camera issue was fixed and i went from a 3-point multitouch to a 5-point multitouch epson screen :D so i cant shin kick him now for feeding me bull patooty... buuut anywho, main point of my story is that i rooted with unrevoked, flashed hboot0.76.2000 s-off and amons recovery 1.8.0, and just recently got a deodexed version of the 3.30.651.2 ota and it flashed with no problems, bootloops, kernel panics, or nuthin... and then when i got word of the 3.30.651.3 update... the ota update borked and didn't work... but i dissected it and it looked like there was a stock recovery image *gag* and so im glad it failed... then hunted and found it deodexed as well and flashed it with no problems... but the framework files and things i think got changed cuz themes were bootlooping if i tried to flash them so i think im ok with the 3.30.651.2 because i noticed a face detection option in the cam that i had never seen before :p i just updated my kernel to the kernel that comes with 3.30.651.3 but kept the software of 3.30.651.2 because that was one of the changes... and no weirdness other than now my syncing icon wont go away but that could be because im trying to build a rom...
     
  4. mlblack16

    mlblack16 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    139
    16
    38
    Columbus, OH
    A "from a 3-point multitouch to a 5-point multitouch Epson" screen? Could you elaborate on this? I found out my Evo has an Epson and it's version 003, purchased Oct 1st. I think it's build date is like the end of August (don't feel like taking off my otterbox case again to see).

    I'm curious as to how my Epson screen would have better capabilities than the Nova display. I wouldn't think there would be any difference other than in appearance, as the display only shows what the phone tells it and the touch capabilities would be related to the glass, capacitive technology, and OS more so than the LCD?
     
  5. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,862
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,862
    633
    213
    And your point is? This is a hardware 004 thread, not 003. And like the above poster said, there is so such thing as a 3 pt vs a 5pt touch screen. Both are multitouch, and the touch sensor is the same in both phones, just different lcd screens.
     
  6. lordofthereef

    lordofthereef Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,131
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,131
    369
    163
    Student
    Just thought I would add that with "refurb" units it is not uncommon to actually get a new unit that simply isn't packaged in the new box. Waste of resources ($$$) for them to send you one a new shiny new box. This isn't at all uncommon in the electronics sector. Too many people get hung up on "refurb" meaning "used". In some cases it can, but in most cases it is not synonymous.

    AND FWIW I have a 004 that I rooted using the manual method since unrevoked does not yet work for these. A bit more work, but it was worth it!
     
  7. SDbirdman

    SDbirdman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    San Diego
    Hardware build 0004 charges my 3500mah battery to 100%. My previous 0003 build only charged it to 80%. Anyone else noticing this?
     
  8. frickinjerms

    frickinjerms Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Taken from Netarchy's Toastmod Kernel thread on xda

    [GPL][Kernel]netarchy-toastmod, Stable: 4.1.9.1 Beta: 4.2.1 - xda-developers

    Research has shown that the Evo's contain at least 2 different versions of the touch sensor, one of which does not support 5point multitouch (but it DOES support 3point). You can check which sensor you have using adb by issuing the following command: "adb shell cat /sys/android_touch/vendor" and examining the result. If your result is ATMEL_x0080_x0016, your phone can support 5point. If your result is ATMEL_x004F_x0016, your phone will only support up to 3point.

    did this on mine and it gave me the first result and also got a multitouch tester and all five fingers on the ol righty were recognized... only with custom kernels though, the htc kernels limit multitouch to 2-points no matter what screen you have...

    my point was that there was some confusion regarding the 3.30.651.2 firmware was only for 0004 evos but that some of the older hw evos (like mine) can handle running the firmware without issue...
     
  9. mlblack16

    mlblack16 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    139
    16
    38
    Columbus, OH
    Is there a way to check for the 5 point capability using Android Terminal Emulator?

    When I enter that command, it says access denied.
     
  10. LazyEngineer

    LazyEngineer Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    43
    5
    16
    I exchanged my 003 for a new one, which ended up being an 004 - because my compass didn't work, and my BlueTooth was spotty. It didn't register at the time, but now that the above poster mentions it, the camera really IS a lot better. Indeed, one of my biggest dissapointments with the EVO when I first got it was that the camera was pretty bad. I was hoping to replace my point 'n click with my EVO, but it just wasn't sharp enough. On the 004 - it's getting closer to that goal. Also, the barcode scanner is working a lot faster and a lot better. I didn't think about it at the time, but yea, it's because of the camera is better now I suspect.

    This makes me happy.

    I mean, one does still need to be realistic in expectations - it'll never be truely as good as a dedicated point and click, but it's gotten a lot closer now with the 004.
     
  11. Mongoos150

    Mongoos150 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    99
    12
    18
    So I actually waited in line on launch day for my 0002, and after a few problems took it back and returned to my trusty blackberry. Fast forward to today, I decided to try again. My 0004 is great, no light leakage and no separation. No problems so far, though my power button is just as hard as ever to press. Definitely not raised any more than my 0002.

    Edit: Another note, battery life is great! Really great! Full day, full use with wifi on. I seem to get better wifi performance as well. Battery lasts longer with wifi on (even though I have full 3G signal). I can get WiMax everywhere in the city, but it sucks battery.

    Build 3.30.651.3
     
  12. zion168

    zion168 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    33
    0
    15
    I'll ask again, has anyone received a 004 evo with novatech screen?
     
  13. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,862
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,862
    633
    213
    My 004 I just got has a VERY easy power button, but there is some light leakage on the bottom left. This is what really bothers me about this phone. Htc's build quality is horrible, especially because it is so inconsistent.

    I'mm almost positive my 004 has a nova. The whites are very bright, a little blue/purple tint, and it fades gradually using the widget.
     
  14. Mongoos150

    Mongoos150 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    99
    12
    18
    How can I tell what screen I have? (not to threadjack, I'd like to add my input!)
     
  15. aznmode

    aznmode Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    424
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    424
    38
    43
  16. aznmode

    aznmode Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    424
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    424
    38
    43

    By chance can you post a pic and 720p video recording? I'm curious to see how much different it is.
     
  17. Mongoos150

    Mongoos150 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    99
    12
    18
    Okay. So. Going into a pitch black bathroom and looking at the bottom of my EVO I do see a very small amount of light leakage from under the screen. It's only visible if the phone is held at an angle (no light is visible from the edge by looking direct-onto the screen. It's hardly noticable.

    However the USB port does illuminate, which is annoying. No light on the HDMI port.
     
  18. Mongoos150

    Mongoos150 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    99
    12
    18
  19. busyychild

    busyychild Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    42
    0
    15
    Use method 1

    http://www.goodandevo.net/2010/07/how-to-find-out-which-screen-is-on-your-htc-evo.html


    1. Add the preinstalled Power Control widget to your home screen.
    2. Tap the brightness button. If the screen brightness fades into the next level, it's a Novatec display. If the brightness instantly switches to the next level, it's an Epson display.



     
  20. Jceinc

    Jceinc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    582
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    582
    119
    113
    Wth, my Evo is new but version 003!

    Seems I have the Novatec screen too. Is that good?
     
  21. aznmode

    aznmode Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    424
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    424
    38
    43
    I don't believe this is accurate confirmation. I have an Espon screen hardware 003 and my brightness fade.
     
  22. aznmode

    aznmode Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    424
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    424
    38
    43
    I'm not sure if there is any other way but when I was trying to figure out my screen back then the PC method is the method I used. I have an epson.

    Edit: Most likely you have an Epson since Novatek screens haven't been used on the Evo for a long time. Only on hardware 0002 and some early 0003.
     
  23. busyychild

    busyychild Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    42
    0
    15
    How did you confirm that you have an Epson screen?
     
  24. beestea

    beestea Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    I have the Epson screen on HW 003 and it does infact instantly switch to the next brightness level using the power control button.

    Once you have seen both screens its pretty easy to tell just by eye balling it.

    The Novatech has an overall "cool" color temp setting where all colors have a slight blue/purple look to them, esp. whites.

    The Epson has an overall "warm" color temp setting where all colors have a slight yellowish tint to them, esp. whites.
     
  25. Mongoos150

    Mongoos150 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    99
    12
    18
    It fades between levels (but it sounds like this isn't a reliable way to tell). I've heard stories for both displays being better/worse - all I know is the screen is beautiful and bright, uniform with zero dead pixels.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...