1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Harmonia ROM version?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sushifor5, Sep 10, 2011.

  1. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    Have been reading and seriously considering putting on Harmonia Rom after I root. It seems there are version updates that have changed features...I don't understand all the nuances, of course.

    But it makes me wonder...

    Which version of Harmonia ROM would you recommend and why?

    TIA!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Leslie Ann

    Leslie Ann Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    1,427
    893
    213
    I.T. Consultant
    1.1-1.2 was just great, relatively stock rom (look at the bottom of post 2 I keep the previous working versions listed there for download as well as options). Sorry, I don't remember the specifics on the differences, it may have just been a matter of getting it working right, but you would want the last V2 for that regardless. This has no issues with the new market, but may take a bit to get the update.

    1.3 and 1.5 are essentially the same thing except 1.3 uses Amend scripting to install, which means older recoveries like Xionia. 1.5 uses Edify coding so it works on most recoveries thus allowing you to switch back and forth with IHO Gingerbread roms without changing recoveries. 1.3 I tried to incorporate the new market, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. 1.5 I skipped that, however there is a bug that limits you to the stock storage space. The big change on these was they both have the time without signal fix, as well as the powerbutton menu to boot into recovery. They do sometimes have issues with the new market though, but the old one works fine.

    Since you haven't done it yet, wait for the new release, which will be labeled 1.5f or more as it will be the one to use as it will work on most any recovery, and will have the memory issue corrected. I should have it done this weekend.

    A note on the new market.
    Google changed the security system on the Market while 1.3 was being made. The problem is that to get the power button menu and TWS fix you have to change a few files and re-sign them. The new Market security doesn't like the fact that now the signings do not match. This creates an issue in that to keep moddding Froyo, we either change how we build (not easy), stop modding those files, or rebuild the market apk on each minor update (which opens up another can of worms). This is just another reason why I'm working on an IHO based Gingerbread rom, to get away from this problem.
     
    sushifor5 likes this.
  3. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    Harmonia is an excellent froyo rom
     
    Leslie Ann likes this.
  4. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    Thanks for the info, LeslieAnn! Admittedly, I'm a newbie and techno dummy and don't know much about any of this, LOL. Much of what you said was over my head (the "technical" language).

    I'm planning to root using the simple "no computer" method and I'm going to use whatever recovery that includes, which I think is xionia. I'm not going to play around with other recoveries (I barely understand what a recovery is, LOL) and I was leaning toward Harmonia b/c I've read it is simple and clean, which is what I would prefer.

    I'm sorry, I don't understand what you mean when you say "new market..." Can you explain?

    Honestly, I'm looking for more app storage, a fix for my TWS bug, and everything else working smoothly on the phone as it is now (I've only had it a few weeks and am still just learning the functionality of the phone...never had a smart phone before). I would like the verizon bloatware to be gone completely (and get that storage space back) and have my apps on the SD card to free up more internal storage. It is unlikely that I will play around with downloading custom ringtones and wallpapers...stock is fine with me.

    The idea of upgrading to a different android version (i think that is what is meant by froyo vs. gingerbread?) is very intimidating to me...I'm fine sticking to the system I have. I don't have the time to try to learn all these new tricks, LOL.

    Considering all that, which version of your ROM would you recommend for me? TIA!!!
     
  5. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    I've used 1.3 and can verify the improved app memory and everything functioning properly. The TWS bug is definitely been fixed. This is an exceptional ROM that also allows the movement of more apps to the sd card. I had almost 90 apps installed and still had 140MB of memory left(I was able to move more apps to the sd card than the stock ROM). I would suggest installing the 1.5f version when Leslie Ann has it ready. There' nothing wrong with installing the 1.3 until she has the 1.5f ready. If you install the 1.3 then when you install the 1.5f all you will have to do is wipe cache partition and dalvik cache(this means you will not loose all your data and have to install all your apps over again).
    The new market version is the newest android app market version that is unavoidable.You will wind up with it sooner or later.
     
    sushifor5 likes this.
  6. Leslie Ann

    Leslie Ann Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    1,427
    893
    213
    I.T. Consultant
    No worries on learning, we all start somewhere.

    Harmonia is probably the perfect rom for you as it is basically how Virgin should have shipped it. More room, more speed, more battery, a few tweaks, and better compatibility. As for which version, the simple answer is wait for the 1.5f or later as it will fix the one major bug.

    I have a way of stopping it, but you may as well get used to it, at some point you will end up with it.
     
    sushifor5 likes this.
  7. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    Thanks for the info...I did think of a related question.

    If I install Harmonia (after my hair-raising root experience last night, it may be a while before I'm brave enough to do so, LOL...story in the Guide to Root w/o Computer thread), can I use a home page launcher (don't know if that's what it is called) like Zeam or Launcher Pro?

    What does Harmonia make my phone "look like?" As in graphics, pictures on home pages, etc... I'm sorry if that sounds like a silly question, but this is still very new for me.

    Thanks much!
     
  8. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    The rooting process was the hardest. Make sure that you make a backup of the stock ROM in your recovery under the backup and restore option. Just in case something goes wrong and you accidentally delete,or add something that messes up your system. This will allow you to go back to when your system was good,like a recovery disc for your pc does.
     
  9. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    I did the recovery as per the instructions in mkbkr1's Guide to Rooting without a Computer. Would that be what you mean?

    My experience with some of the things that went wrong for me, as well as many questions I now need answers to are at the end of that thread if you want to glance at it.

    Thanks lots for all your help!!!
     
  10. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    Oh, still wondering if I can use Launcher Pro or Zeam with Harmonia?

    I don't understand exactly what ROMs are I guess...if they change the look of your screens, homepage, etc....
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...