1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Has anyone else cut the landline off completely?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by A.Nonymous, Nov 12, 2010.

  1. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    7,059
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    7,059
    966
    213
    I'm thinking of abandoning my landline at my house. Long story short, in my area, there are two ISPs. One is the phone company that does the standard phone/DSL combo. That's who I'm currently with. The other is the cable company who does a cable/VOIP combo. I'm actually thinking of dropping the phone service and going with the cable company with just a straight cable Internet package. I don't have a TV so I don't need the cable service and I don't really need the VOIP service either since I've got a cell phone.

    I literally can't remember the last time someone called me at my home and I answered. I get the odd telemarketer who ignores the no-call list and that's about it. I've always kept the phone around for emergencies. I know if I call 911 from my home phone and scream bloody murder that they know exactly where to send someone. On my cell phone I've got to be able to gasp out my address before I pass out if I want help. I've got no serious health problems so this isn't a major deal for me, but it's the only reason I can come up with to keep the phone/DSL combo.

    Cable is much faster and is actually cheaper. For $70 a month I'm getting my phone and a DSL connection of 6 mbps/768 kbps. With just cable (no VOIP service) I can pay $60 a month for 35 mbps/5mbps which is obviously infinitely better.

    Has anyone else cut off the landline altogether? If so, what kind of experience did you have? Was the emergency thing a concern to you at all? I'm curious what everyone else's experience was.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kaessa

    Kaessa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    654
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    654
    222
    93
    Female
    Disabled
    Colorado
    Yep. We transferred our home phone number (my husband has had the same number for 35 years, so we had to keep it) to a cell phone on our family plan for $10. Incoming calls go straight to his Google Voice number.

    The emergency thing wasn't really a big concern to me, mostly because I don't have young kids at home any more. I'm not missing the phone bill at all.
     
  3. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    If you have kids, don't lose the landline. No kids, go for it. Seems like a waste to have two phones, just for piece of mind....
     
  4. VegasOnAcid

    VegasOnAcid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,758
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    1,758
    160
    143
    I have never owned a land line, never really saw the point.
     
  5. Vihzel

    Vihzel Destroying Balls Everyday
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    5,364
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    5,364
    1,055
    333
    NYU Student & Real Estate Agent
    Manhattan, NY
    Parents have landline because they get a lot of business calls but I don't.
     
  6. baillou2

    baillou2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    240
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    240
    43
    63
    my job sucks....
    The Aloha State on a smallish island...
    I've never owned my own landline. When I left home and got my own place I got a cell phone.

    Incidentally just yesterday night a dump truck was doing some work across the street and snapped the phone line going to the roof of my house. It'll probably never be repaired. Don't need it. In any case it's not really my house but my roommates.
    He has a cellphone too. :)
     
  7. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    As soon as I get the wireless network extender I'm dropping the land line.
     
  8. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    7,059
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    7,059
    966
    213
    I just called. Switching would cost me $50 for a new modem and $35 for a cable run to where my computer is. I'd save $10 a month basically so it would take me a close to a yr to re-coup the costs of that. It sounds like it's entirely doable though. They can bring in just Internet with no phone service.
     
  9. CRAZYISH

    CRAZYISH Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    94
    5
    36
    upstate ny


    YUP havent had a landline in ova 10yrs works for me :D


    AND AS ALWAYS MY EVO IS MY LIL WHORE
     
  10. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Landlines, like newspapers, are gradually finding their way into oblivion.
     
  11. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,418
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,418
    1,387
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    I don't have a landline anymore, either. I just use google voice in place of one. It works well for making sure someone can get a hold of me no matter what phone I actually have with me, plus I don't have to give out my cell number if I don't want to.
     
  12. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    Same here. I do have magic jack though, which doesn't get used. But for $20 a year, why not?
     
  13. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    1,616
    243
    143
    Driver
    W Midlands, UK
    I've just got myself a landline for the first time in 7 years because of moving to an area where there is no cable so I need a landline for ADSL. Good job too because the mobile reception sucks in the house.
     
  14. pantlesspenguin

    pantlesspenguin Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    649
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    649
    107
    113
    Female
    Overland Park, KS
    Haven't had a landline in over 5 years. Love it.
     
  15. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,883
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,883
    3,483
    923
    i dont have a landline..
    neither does anyone of my bro and sis.. and parents..

    all on cell...


    here is an idea for you...
    if you have Sprint.. with unlimited ...
    and you have 4G in your area...
    ....
    get an extra line and cell phone with 4G for $10/month (if you dont want to put it on your 4G phone)
    get 4G for $10/month
    play for hotspot $30/month
     
  16. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    7,059
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    7,059
    966
    213
    There's no 4G here in where I am. Besides, 35 mbps is way better than 4G anyway.
     
  17. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Yes, it is.
     
  18. SINCEREJ

    SINCEREJ Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010

    Oct 2, 2010
    10
    0
    35
    To inspire the world!
    Metropolis
    Haven't had a landline in 2 years. I keep saying that I am going to get one though, just for emergencies. I remember 9/11 and the great NYC blackout a few years ago...cell phones were useless (except Nextel chirp)
     
  19. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    I havent had a landline since like 2001. I dont plan on getting one until I have kids old enough to use the phone.
     
  20. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    I work from home, so I need my landline for calls. It comes in handy for faxes too. I wish the fax would die though.
     
  21. LOL DROID

    LOL DROID Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010

    Oct 14, 2010
    54
    4
    36
    631 Long Island
    Yep, everyone in my house has a cell phone ... so we got rid of the land line a few years ago.

    It's much quieter during dinner time. :)
     
  22. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    :eek::eek:
     
  23. Chidori602

    Chidori602 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    230
    3
    36
    Male
    We used to have a landline, but then my parents decided to get everyone a cell phone, so yeah.
     
  24. Isthmus

    Isthmus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    772
    119
    93
    I like the landline, even through VOIP the connection is infinitely better than on a cell phone. That plus I can have multiple handsets located around the house, so I don't have to go looking for my cel.

    That said, I did drop the phone company and runs everything through the cable company. Oddly I'm seriously considering dropping cable itself and just get my TV and movies online.
     
  25. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,186
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    2,186
    292
    163
    Male
    Houston, TX
    I need the landline for Direct TV ... or do I?
     

Share This Page

Loading...