1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Accessories Has anyone got a 32gb micro sd card to work?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ulstersam, Mar 15, 2011.

  1. ulstersam

    ulstersam Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I have just upgraded my original Desire to the HD version and was wondering if ANYONE out there has actually got a 32 gb micro sd card to work correctly in their Desire.

    I have had a few, chances are they were fakes but you live and learn, this one is a genuine SanDisk Class 6 card. I formated it when it came and started to transfer what I had on my 16gb card which I'd had in my original Desire but when I put the new card into the HD I had lost all my music and videos and some photos.

    I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong here guys and was hoping someone could may be point me in the right direction.

    Many thanks in anticipation


    Regards

    Sam
     

    Advertisement

  2. shalemail

    shalemail Android Expert
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    853
    Posts:
    2,464
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    2,464
    7,230
    853
    Male
    Butcher, Baker, Candlestick Maker
    Under your bed
     
    HankAtrix likes this.
  3. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,825
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    1,825
    763
    213
    Medical Doctor
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Mine works perfectly in my Desire (and the X10 I had, and my SGS). I got it direct from Sandisk though, so I know its genuine. There are lots of fakes out there, and usually people having problems have picked up a fake card. Yours sounds like a fake, because Sandisk don't make 32GB cards higher than Class 2 rated.

    EDIT: Did some more digging, apparently although they only have Class 2 cards listed on their website Sandisk are shipping 32GB cards that are stamped Class 4. Doesn't change the possibility that your Class 6 one is fake though...
     
  4. john_g

    john_g Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    558
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010

    Nov 6, 2010
    558
    186
    93
    London, UK
    I've got a 32GB SD card in my Desire HD and it works fine.
     
  5. bordgin

    bordgin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Teacher
    China
    I was shocked first as I thought one can "hardwarelly" upgrade desire to desire HD by hand........
     
  6. dvhttn

    dvhttn Android Expert
    Rank:
     #139
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,515
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010

    Oct 17, 2010
    1,515
    279
    173
    I wish ....
    Sunny Cornwall
    Mine works. Got one of these .... MyMemory 32GB Micro SD (SDHC) Card - Class 4
     
  7. loulou

    loulou Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011

    Feb 12, 2011
    113
    8
    36
    Glasgow, United Kingdom
  8. Simba501

    Simba501 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    479
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    479
    40
    63
    I use a 32gb card in my Inspire. Works fine. I bought it from the Android Central store.
     
  9. lucids

    lucids Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    186
    25
    43
    Just set up my new lexar 32gb class 10 card working fine so far not bad for
     
  10. bravo1975

    bravo1975 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    36
    0
    15
    yep iv got 32gb in mine, frm sandisk, works fine
     
  11. Pep

    Pep Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #300
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    488
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    488
    215
    68
    Qld, Australia
  12. jambo82

    jambo82 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    Feb 8, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    This may be a silly question but do you have to transfer everything on the existing card to your PC and then onto the new 32gb card?

    What are the step by step instructions for a thick person please? :)
     
  13. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Welcome to the forums!

    There are no silly questions... it's how you learn stuff!!

    Only if you want to have the stuff that's currently on the SD card on the SD card when you put your new one in.

    Connect your DHD to your computer (in USB storage mode) and wait for auto start to ask if you want to browse the USB storage (yes you do).

    Right click on your desktop (on the computer) and create a new folder (you can leave it called new folder or change the name if you want).

    Go to the SD card (where you can view what's on it) selecting all items, drag them to the new folder you created - this is everything copied on to your computer.

    Eject the USB device correctly from the computer (think there should be something down near the clock that is a little USB symbol) and then disconnect the phone from the USB cable.

    Unmount the SD card on your phone (go to the following - menu=>settings=>storage=>unmount SD card).

    Take the SD card out.

    Put the new SD card in and mount it, if it didn't do itself (in the same menu as unmounting it).

    Connect your phone as USB storage (again, as earlier) and open up the mass storage as before.

    Go to the folder on your desk top (that you copied everything from the old SD card in to earlier).

    Select all items in the folder and drag them in to the USB storage.

    Hey presto, everything should be on your new SD card! :)
     
    jambo82 and El Presidente like this.
  14. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,566
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,566
    23,034
    3,118
    Scotland
    Welcome to AF! :)

    It's not a silly question at all. You'd need to install HTC Sync if you haven't already done so, but if you have, here's what you'd need to do:

    1. Settings
    2. Connect to PC
    3. Check "Ask Me"
    4. Hit Back to take you back to your home screen.
    5. Using the USB cable supplied with the handset, connect the phone to the PC
    6. You should be presented with a list of options on your phone, select "Disk Drive"
    7. Put the phone down, then head create a folder on the desktop of your PC called "SD Card" (or whatever you want to call it.
    8. Head to My Computer and open the new drive that has appeared.
    9. Click one of the files in the drive, then hold Ctrl and press A.
    10. Hold Ctrl and press C
    11. Open the Folder you created on your desktop, ensuring it's active (click once in it to be sure).
    12. Right click once, then select Paste and wait for the process to finish.

    That should be all you need backed up. :)

    Edit: Sniped because I'm responding to about 8 posts at once and I took too long to respond :p
     
    jambo82 likes this.
  15. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Yeah, yeah... whatever!!

    Nah - seriously... your's is a bit clearer an explination than mine, I think! ;)
     
    jambo82 likes this.
  16. jambo82

    jambo82 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    Feb 8, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Right...

    Just been paid. I'm going to buy one of these 32gb badboys. Thank you very much for the detailed explaination...I now have two so surely I can't go wrong :)
     
  17. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    No problemo - hope you get it sorted!! :D
     
  18. djdillpickle

    djdillpickle Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    54
    2
    36
    I goog;ed the heck out of it and found the authorised sellers for makor brands of sd cards and went from there. Went well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...