1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Has anyone noticed the swiping has been less sensitive after 2.2 (especially browsing the web)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tracerit, Aug 6, 2010.

  1. tracerit

    tracerit Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    638
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    638
    42
    68
    Orange County, CA
    I've noticed that after 2.2, swiping to move around a website has been less sensitive. I was using Dolphin HD when i noticed it so i decided to try the regular stock browser and noticed the same thing. Usually I would want to swipe down a bit to read a paragraph but it seems i have to hold onto it longer and be less flicky with it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. whtge8

    whtge8 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    137
    11
    38
    Yeah, it sucks.
     
  3. NicksGarage

    NicksGarage Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    297
    96
    53
    Social Media Administrator
    San Diego, CA
    This will happen on sites that have flash content since it is now loading more content than before and more to deal with once they are open. I've seen on non-flash sites that it is just as fast as before.

    I'm probably one of the only ones who appreciates the slowdown. Sometimes I'd try to scroll down in a page and end up going way to far and having to scroll back up.

    I think there is a way to set the browser to only open flash content on demand.
     
  4. ThatNewAndroidGuy

    ThatNewAndroidGuy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    432
    103
    68
    Workin at the squeaky mart.
    Residin in Florida
    Also another thing I noticed is you have to tap buttons twice now. Like say in google images on Evo, I use to be able to tap next page once, but now you have to do it 2 times.
     
  5. tracerit

    tracerit Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    638
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    638
    42
    68
    Orange County, CA
    I do have it set to ON DEMAND but the lag is still present :/ I wish I could go back to 2.1 browsing and bring back the option to load YouTube and flash video in a streaming video player app instead in browser...
     
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,424
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Probably a very good idea to clear just the browser cache from the browser's settings page, for all browsers. Maybe not a terrible idea to play with the cache size to see if that affects anything on this.

    Also -
     
  7. J03

    J03 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    520
    66
    78
    Engineer
    Denver
    Yep, noticed the lag too. It's terrible if you ask me; its like the screen is constantly a half second behind my finger in scrolling.
     
  8. archercc

    archercc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    432
    68
    53
    Do you have the flash plug-in set to "on demand?" Originally my browser seemed laggy and it was because little flash ads (like at the top of this forum) were running. Once I set it to on demand (where you click on the flash content to activate it) it sped right back up.

    I can just flick my thumb across the screen and it will zoom all of the way to the end of the page.
     
  9. J03

    J03 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    520
    66
    78
    Engineer
    Denver
    I have dolphin hd set to "on demand" for plugins. Is there a separate setting for flash? If so how do I find this? Videos show an arrow tho so I'm guessing it's on demand by default?
     
  10. NicksGarage

    NicksGarage Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    297
    96
    53
    Social Media Administrator
    San Diego, CA
    That's the setting that turns flash on and off in Dolphin. There isn't a separate one for just flash. The default is "on demand".
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...