1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Has anyone tethered an iPad with the Desire ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by melldroid, Jun 27, 2010.

  1. melldroid

    melldroid Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1,606
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Male
    Cheshire, UK
    Has anyone done this with a standard HTC Desire. I've read this can only be done with a rooted unit which I don't want to do. I have a standard T mobile unit which I would prefer not fiddling with as I'm not tech savvy. Can it be done ?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Bunjiweb

    Bunjiweb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009

    Jul 9, 2009
    258
    40
    43
    Gloucestershire, ENG
    This can only be done with an Android 2.2 that will provide a wifi hotspot or if were in the US the HTC Evo is capable of doing it... Other than that i don't think there is any other way.

    Ben
     
  3. FelixofMars

    FelixofMars Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    233
    21
    38
    Level Designer
    UK,Cambridge
    There is an easy tether lite that doesn't require root apparently. Also I noticed some sort of tethering option when I plug in my Desire to the PC but I never used it. I assume it doesn't work though. Maybe its some sort of pre 2.2 option as in its there but unusable.
     
  4. desirous

    desirous Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010

    Oct 30, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Wow
    This is great. I've been looking for months for a solution. wanted to tether my iPad to my phone for use away from my home broadband connection, without buying another sim card and plan.
    It was the best solution for me because my phone plan provides way more Mb data than I can use on my phone in a month.
    New Wifi Hotspot application does it great.
     
  5. Two Legz

    Two Legz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    I've connected my iPod Touch up to the interweb using the wifi hotspot functionality a few times now and it works great. As Bunjiweb said, you do need Android 2.2 (Froyo) to do it but assuming you're running that version (and your operator hasn't disabled it...) then it's easy to set up.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...