1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Has anyone used SnapTax by Turbo Tax?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by colornshape, Feb 28, 2011.

  1. colornshape

    colornshape Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    317
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    317
    9
    36
    Minneapolis
    It looks nice, you take a picture of your W2 and it does most of the rest, but what about the hard copy the IRS still demands? Does the program generate a printable copy? Is a paper copy still necessary when filing this way?

    Thanks,

    Matt
     

    Advertisement

  2. nj02vette

    nj02vette Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,346
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    2,346
    2,034
    313
    Male
    Marlton, NJ
    Don't use the program.

    But efiling does not require you to send a physical copy of your W2 to the IRS. Does that answer your question?
     
  3. ABRMess006

    ABRMess006 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010

    Dec 30, 2010
    207
    19
    38
    Londonderry, NH
    Never tried it, I have always done mine on turbo tax online but after tacking on a 35 dollar "processing" charge out of nowhere, I don't know if I am gonna use them again...
     
  4. colornshape

    colornshape Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    317
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    317
    9
    36
    Minneapolis
    Well, yes. But it raises another. Why shouldn't I use it?

    Matt
     
  5. nj02vette

    nj02vette Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,346
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    2,346
    2,034
    313
    Male
    Marlton, NJ
    It only works for 1040EZ filers, so if that's you, then I don't see why you shouldn't try it.

    I have to file the full 1040, business and investment property income, etc. My situation is much different and I do mine (just for a sanity check), then let my accountant file everything, just for CYA.
     
  6. colornshape

    colornshape Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    317
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    317
    9
    36
    Minneapolis
    Oh. You meant to say "I don't use it." Gotcha. I checked the IRS site and confirmed what you said about paper copies. Thanks.

    Matt
     
  7. nj02vette

    nj02vette Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,346
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    2,346
    2,034
    313
    Male
    Marlton, NJ
    My mistake. Yes, that's what I meant.
     

Share This Page

Loading...