1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Has anyone with a replacement had this error?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Piiman, Aug 12, 2010.

  1. Piiman

    Piiman Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,333
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,333
    153
    143
    I got my replacement and got it all up and running but I keep getting a notice that says.

    Motorola service account error

    the Account you are using is associated with another device.
    Please contact customer service to reset the device.



    I've called three times now, twice they made me reprogram it and the third time a factory reset. I still get the message. Other than that account error message all is fine.

    Anyone?
     

    Advertisement

  2. unknowndroid

    unknowndroid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    49
    14
    18
    I have not had that error, but have seen it mentioned a time or two. As it clearly is a Motorola issue, you might want to check out the Motorola Droid X support forum. There are lots of issues posted there, and the Motorola guys seems to actually have answers. If you can't find your issue, I'd suggest starting a thread there, you might very well get a solution.

    https://supportforums.motorola.com/community/google-android/droidx?view=discussions&start=0
     
  3. Piiman

    Piiman Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,333
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,333
    153
    143
    thanks for the tip. I only found one report of it and someone from Moto wanted the guys MEID # but there is no conclusion to the issue in that thread.

    It seems like it would be something in VZW computer system to me. It's like it won't let go of the old info. But CS says they see where I replaced the other phone fine it all looks normal to them.

    But why would be a Motorola service error? Does the phone call home?


    Oh well looks like I'll be on the wait list again. :(
     
  4. gotmydroidx

    gotmydroidx Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    61
    7
    16
    Replacement phone here and no problems
     
  5. Piiman

    Piiman Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,333
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,333
    153
    143
    well since the post got deleted when the site went down I'll post the conclusion in case anyone else runs into this.

    It was caused by Titanium Backup restoring too much data. I had to restore just apps and then restored data to only a few hard to reconfigure apps.

    All is good now
     

Share This Page

Loading...