1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Have a done something wrong?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kobirulali, Feb 21, 2011.

  1. kobirulali

    kobirulali Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    59
    2
    16
    Hey i just need some clarifications on my custom rom i installed!

    I went for iNsertCoin Desire HD Rom Data2ext version. Formattted the memory with gparted as 6113mb FAT32, 1024mb EXT4, 256mb EXT4 and 255mb unpartioned.

    Installed rom etc fine, installed a few apps but phone started lagging so i looked in titanium to see the following screenshot. This can't be right so i reformatted and did it all again. But after reinstalling, my apps installed again that i thought i deleted when i formatted memory card and phone (did full wipe, cache, delvik etc etc).

    Any ideas?


    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,468
    Posts:
    25,139
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    25,139
    19,783
    3,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    The internal is certainly weird!

    But why did you make 2 ext partitions? And why leave any part of the card unpartitioned?
     
  3. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    titanium isnt very accurate for this. Just use the android storage menu.

    And whats with all the partitions?
     
  4. kobirulali

    kobirulali Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    59
    2
    16
    The internal is fine, that's exactly what i wanted! The wholeThe requirement for the rom recquires it as it installs onto and runs off the SD card and not off the internal memory. I get about 1500 on quadrant test with this rom.The instructions for the last partition was unclear as it said leave as swap?
     
  5. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    No, it runs from system and has the data partition only on sd ext.
     
  6. kobirulali

    kobirulali Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    59
    2
    16

    Here's a screen of the android storage menu. And all the partitions, it's how the rom developer said to do it! Tried searching his thread at xda forums of it's nearly 600 pages long :thinking:

    [​IMG]
     
  7. kobirulali

    kobirulali Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    59
    2
    16

    Yes i understood that even on a2sd, some parts are still put onto the system part. One of the reasons I plumped for data2sd was to oversome this as i was still running out of internal space using a2sd rom!!!! Just looking into this partitioning again.

    Do you think it's wrong because the phone is lagging sometimes as i think the data part of the apps should not be going to that 256mn partition.....?
     
  8. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,468
    Posts:
    25,139
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    25,139
    19,783
    3,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I hadn't spotted first time that you were using Data2SD - that certainly makes more sense of the "internal" bit.

    What class of card are you using? You need a fast card for Data2SD - SUroot used to use it with a class 10 card, and even then he found the real world performance (as opposed to quadrant scores) suffered a bit.
     
  9. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Yes, with data2sd I only had 2 partitions. 1x FAT and 1xext. No swap, no unallocated space.

    I did find it laggy.
     
    kobirulali likes this.
  10. kobirulali

    kobirulali Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    59
    2
    16

    It's a Class 6, 8gb Transcend. Read up on Suroot's threads again, makes so much sense now (read it a while ago before reading over at xda's). The wording and the format of the web pages are much easier to read here than over at xda's! Hmm considering going back to a2sd and go ease off installing so many apps.
     
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You could reduce your cache partition by 15-20MB if S-off, using custom MTD layout as per my sig, but because insertcoin takes up almost all the /system partition, thats the most extra you would get.

    How many apps though?

    Ive got 99 apps, and that uses 79MB of internal.

    As I use AOSP, I only use 120MB of the system partition so I have 293 MB as internal memory (/data)
     
  12. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,468
    Posts:
    25,139
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    25,139
    19,783
    3,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I'm pretty sure that a swap partition should be explicitly partitioned as that, rather than just left unallocated.

    Don't know whether this might be related to your occasional lags. If it needs it and it's not there that's unlikely to be good, but swapping is an overhead in itself.
     
  13. kobirulali

    kobirulali Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    59
    2
    16
    Cheers for that! Will probably have to go back now. Sounded really good. However just before going through all the painful process of restoration, i noticed in the spare parts menu the below. Should i change it to internal (even though it's actually external ie the 1gb partition currently with system)?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  14. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    dont know what you mean about system on ext. Its not.

    There are 3 partitions on the phone.

    /system - where the rom goes
    /cache
    /data - what is called internal storage

    All data2sd does is move /data (internal memory) to EXT.

    As /data (internal) is on EXT, the "internal" install location is also EXT. If you set it to external, it installs on FAT. Same as a2sd.
     
    kobirulali likes this.
  15. kobirulali

    kobirulali Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    59
    2
    16
    Ah that completely makes sense now and why Astro only shows sd card once as sd card (fat) the data2sd just redirecting the location of the internal sorage to ext partition of memory card. I thought the rom had actually run off a an extention on the memory card too!!!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...