1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Have I lost root?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by GolfnDroid, Mar 26, 2010.

  1. GolfnDroid

    GolfnDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    105
    5
    56
    Va
    I went to Install RomManager and after download it said error with priviledge commands and Titanium backup says it cannot load due to root access. I've had SholesMod 2.05 on my phone and haven't loaded any other Roms, did I lose root somehow and if I did how come RomManager doesn't re-root?


    I can still get into recovery by power+x
     

    Advertisement

  2. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    rom manager does not root your phone. It sounds like you have lost root for some reason. Easiest way to find out is get on the market download terminal emulator and type su If a # sign comes up you still have root.
     
  3. GolfnDroid

    GolfnDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    105
    5
    56
    Va
    I'll try that, after the download failed I was getting all kinds of FC's so i am doing a nandroid restore of a stable image then i will try terminal emulator like you suggested. Where I work my USB terminal is blocked, is there a way to download DMU over my phone to regain root?
     
  4. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    HTML:
    1.  
    yea go to droidmod.org on your phone and you can download the updater
     
    GolfnDroid likes this.
  5. GolfnDroid

    GolfnDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    105
    5
    56
    Va
    Terminal says access denied after i type in su so I guess i was kicked out of root at sometime.
     
  6. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    yea wierd how it just goes away sometimes
     
  7. GolfnDroid

    GolfnDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    105
    5
    56
    Va
    Even stranger, I download DMU and it's stuck at "Looks like your phone is rooted, but you have not given DM Updated access yet. You must check the remember box" and it says check again. But I'm stuck at that screen I can't give it permission if i'm no longer technically rooted????
     
  8. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    try going to the superuser permission app and clearing out all the permissions maybe something there is causing a problem
     
  9. GolfnDroid

    GolfnDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    105
    5
    56
    Va
    I cleared the three that were in there with no luck. I can back out of the pop up screen when i launch DMU and it will allow me to download DM1.
    0 tgz but that's just downlading the ROM not re-rooting my phone. It thinks my phone is rooted???
     
  10. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    I have very little experience with dmu but if you install a rom it will most likely give you root back
     
  11. GolfnDroid

    GolfnDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    105
    5
    56
    Va
    I'm re-flashing the Sholes 2.05 I have on my SD card and see if it comes back.
     
  12. GolfnDroid

    GolfnDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    105
    5
    56
    Va
    Won't let me re-flash anything from recovery gets hung up at dumping system.tar. I may have to wipe everything start back at stock and re-root
     
  13. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    If you dont wanna do it manually then that might be the best way to go. You could also try an find a copy of droid root helper which makes it pretty easy to get root back. I havent seen that around since he left alldroid though well other than the pro version on the market
     

Share This Page

Loading...