1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Have You Permanently Moved On to Froyo?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Frisco, Aug 12, 2010.

?

Have You Permanently Moved On to Froyo?

  1. Yes

    46.0%
  2. No, just testing, doing my part for devs

    14.2%
  3. Not sure yet, experimenting

    39.8%
  1. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    ..or are you experimenting but like 2.1 better in your device, or just testing for devs?
     

    Advertisement

  2. bjf88

    bjf88 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    384
    37
    43
    I really really missed the Froyo perks when I moved back to 2.1. The smarter market, the "apps2sd", the added settings options (custom lockscreen message!)... I'm sticking with Kaos for now. I might even keep this one for more than a week! :D
     
  3. Toolanddiemaker

    Toolanddiemaker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    149
    20
    38
    I think you might know.
    Michigan
    It seems like punkaos has been working on KaosFroyo at breakneck speeds lately. So I am along for the ride.
     
  4. Shnuddy

    Shnuddy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    193
    14
    58
    That was kind of a hard one to answer because I'm really liking Froyo, it has all the things I need, but if it weren't for the matter of partition vs non-partitioned sd card I would probably play around more with other 2.1 ROMs.
     
  5. srmccoy

    srmccoy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    KaosFroyo is now at a stage where I feel that it's pretty much complete for everyday use. All the features work, and aside from a couple of minor bugs (which even official releases tend to have) there's nothing gamebreaking for me like there was in v24 (no camera, pandora issues, etc.).
     
  6. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    I'd completely forgotten about radio on this thing.. I don't use it, but it is popular and if it's fixed in 2.2 now we'll likely see a lot more interest in 2.2 and maybe even rooting in general..

    ..so many reasons to root. ;)
     
  7. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    I'm trying it out for a few days - we'll see how things go. It still feels more sluggish to me than my phone does running 2.1, but I'm ok with it anyway. I am running it with LauncherPro+, as I just prefer it to ADW, but perhaps I'll switch and see if ADW is better.
     
  8. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Good point about the launchers. I stuck with ADW this time, uncharacteristically as I do use Launcher Pro on my default ROM.

    The "hide notification bar" ("status bar") feature is available in both of those launchers, along with other tweaks in common; no need to add a launcher, as I see it.
     
  9. Shnuddy

    Shnuddy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    193
    14
    58
    I loved KaosFroyo, especially now that the camera preview is working, but the one problem that I have is that Audible will not work correctly. It works fine on CynagenTazz (still V1 until the camera works). I need my Audible ;)
     
  10. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    That looks like a great app..

    Android quick app: Audible audio book player (beta) | Android Central ..

    Does it run smoothly? No hiccups?
     
  11. srmccoy

    srmccoy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Pandora is hosed on 2.2 in general, because Google changed the way streaming audio is handled. I'm guessing he simply added the workaround that uses the old drivers. Could be wrong though.
     
  12. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    ... and now we have kaos.froyo v28 ...
     
  13. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Yep:

    CHANGELOG:

    V28
    Fix Google Goggles
    Fix issue where Exchange sometimes receives a second blank email when sending.
    Added new 'Voice Actions' search app.
     
  14. Shnuddy

    Shnuddy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    193
    14
    58
    It's still in beta, but getting close to general release. It is just for books and publications purchased from audible.com. I love it, been listening on Ipod for years, now I can listen on my Eris. It works great in 2.1, but I have some problems in some 2.2 ROMs. It won't find your library, force closes. I'm not sure why exactly. It works fine on V1 of CTazz.
     
  15. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,644
    759
    223
    I'm becoming a de facto full-time user.

    The lack of compatibility w/ partitioned cards (Tazz series, or is that the same for Punk.Kaos Froyo ROMs, too?) tends to galvanize my laziness - too much of an effort to keep two SD cards (one partitioned, one unpartitioned) synchronized.

    My initial plan was to just see how I liked it (I'm on Tazz V6) and if the Camera situation didn't improve, I would revert to a 2.1 ROM; but, I haven't gone back yet... and it is clear that progress is rapidly being made.

    I'm guessing that within 2 weeks or so, I won't be looking back. The recent progress in Punk.Kaos ROMs looks really good...

    OTOH, if I were to root Grandma's Eris today, I would probably put her on xtrSense or another 2.1 Sense ROM (to avoid constant hand-holding issues) - average folks tend to fall in love with what they are familiar with.

    eu1
     
  16. selvikin

    selvikin Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    74
    3
    16
    LA/OC County, California
    Gonna try the new Kaos Froyo soon. If its as good as what I've been reading, I'll be keeping it cause I put Kangerade on my wife's phone last night, its pretty fun.
     
  17. alk1

    alk1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    57
    7
    16
    Inventory
    Clifton, NJ
    I was a bit hesitant at first, but now have settled on Cyanogen Taz V6 after trying Kaos. I love my phone again.
    The difference is amazing. I know there are still little problems and quirks but my phone is a phone again. Absolutely no problems with my phone now and boy am I happy.:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
     
  18. xAusTiN

    xAusTiN Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    224
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    224
    14
    38
    Cleveland, Ohio
    What problems were you having with Kaos that Taz fixed?
     
  19. eurotrash323

    eurotrash323 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    125
    11
    38
    Been on KFC v23 for about 3 weeks now.....no need to look back for me.

    But I did just install v27, about 15 seconds before 28 showed up :p
     
  20. padrone00

    padrone00 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    66
    1
    16
    I just moved to Kaos Froyo a couple of days ago and am slowly getting used to it. More of a battery drain, but I am also addicted to the live wallpapers. haha. I've been enjoying the beautiful widgets weather wallpaper.

    I was on PlainJane before this and I flashed the BloatwareDelete.zip and it got rid of the junk. Can I flash that for Kaos to get rid of the same stuff? I know that they are completely different ROM's, so that is why i am asking first.

    Thanks.
     
  21. SJFlowerHorn

    SJFlowerHorn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Kaosfroyoftw!!!!
     
  22. SJFlowerHorn

    SJFlowerHorn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    do a nand backup and try it out as long as you backed up youl be able to restore right back to previous. if it works report back with success if not with failure. be a part of the learning process brotha :)
     
  23. padrone00

    padrone00 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    66
    1
    16

    Gave it a whirl and no go. I guess I just need to find another way to get rid of that bloatware.
     
  24. Praetorian

    Praetorian Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    180
    23
    38
    IT Manager
    Las Vegas, NV
    I love xtr but I think I'll give Kaos a chance. Really curious to see how this will perform on my phone.
     
  25. Familyguy1

    Familyguy1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    580
    21
    63
    Gallatin, TN
    Just went from xtrRom 3.03 to Kaos V28...holy crap I love this rom!

    I have a question for Kaos though: I am noticing that my Notifications bar is not showing up when I am on the home screen, yet when I go into any app or widget it shows up... any help?

    @Praetorian: Kaos so far is performing so much better on my phone than xtr did.
     

Share This Page

Loading...