1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

having problems rooting sprint hero

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by msierra519, Apr 27, 2010.

  1. msierra519

    msierra519 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    261
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    261
    10
    58
    IT Security
    South Florida
    i downloaded the instantroot.apx and when i run it in from the root of my sd card it installs but then it says root failed. am i doing something wrong? the directions seemed pretty straight forward...
     

    Advertisement

  2. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Umm, I believe you may have been mistaken.

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-sprint-hero/38911-guide-root-rom-faq-tutorial.html

    That is the Sprint CDMA HTC Hero rooting guide. Follow the directions precisely as written and you should run into no issues at all. Good luck trooper!
     
  3. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163

    Not familiar with that method. Do you have a Sprint CDMA Hero ? Which guide are you following?
     
  4. msierra519

    msierra519 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    261
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    261
    10
    58
    IT Security
    South Florida
    thanks, i will try that guide when i get home..im looking now and i dont see where i got that info from lol..oh well i guess its better that way...

    what rom is best to use to load 2.1?
     
  5. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    122
    6
    36


    This is the latest

    recovery-RA-heroc-v1.6.2
     
  6. msierra519

    msierra519 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    261
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    261
    10
    58
    IT Security
    South Florida
    oh ok...where did i read something about villain 5.3?? i must be going nuts lol..
     
  7. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,869
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    1,869
    267
    173
    Florida
    Villain is for GSM heros! If you have Sprint you have a CDM hero. DO NOT use Villain unless you want your hero to become a paper weight.
     
  8. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY

    villain is for the gsm hero. (the one they sell in europe) You can't flash anything gsm to a cdma hero or you will own an expensive paperweight.

    EDIT
    Wow, JB, I read your mind. lol
     
  9. msierra519

    msierra519 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    261
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    261
    10
    58
    IT Security
    South Florida
    ahh ok i understand now...thats where i got that root info from my first post..it said to copy a file to the sd card and install...

    thanks for the info...is it easier to root manually or with kitchen?

    sorry for all the questions, but i'm a n00b when it comes to rooting phones :D

    **edit**

    i noticed that there a few different versions..some have carebears on it..is that the only difference? are they they exact same thing otherwise?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...