1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Having problems with my EVO hotspot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by doucarsha, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. doucarsha

    doucarsha Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    It will not connect to my laptop? Any suggestions? Win Vista. works on other device but with laptop, takes longer to connect and connect but with limited connectivity, no internet access. Please help
     

    Advertisement

  2. doucarsha

    doucarsha Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    4
    0
    5
  3. Bagua

    Bagua Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    195
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    195
    20
    38
    Animation Director
    Palatine IL.
    is it an administration issue?
    Wep key enabled?
    How did you do a set up for the hotspot?

    I created and connected a hotspot for my iPad and touch took a total time of about 15 minutes.
     
  4. doucarsha

    doucarsha Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    its gotta be an issue with the laptop, although it connects with all other connections just fine..no wep enabled at the moment, i tried with and without..i have sucessfully connected a ps3 and a blackberry to it, just an issue with the laptop...just so happens to be my main computer though
     
  5. travisr528

    travisr528 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009

    Dec 22, 2009
    272
    45
    63
    Technical Aurthor
    Austin,Texas
    go into your network connection setting and make sure where it says Iv4 and Iv6 or whatever that it will automatically obtain Ip address vs having it set up to a specific IP address. I had the same problem.:cool:
     
    Bagua likes this.
  6. doucarsha

    doucarsha Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Thanks Travis, that did the trick!! After a week without internet thats all i had to do...
     
  7. yhwh1479

    yhwh1479 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I'm having the same problem, but, I don't quite understand what you are saying that I have to do? I can connect to my XP but I can't connect to my windows vista laptop. It says limited or local connection only. Please help!
     
  8. yhwh1479

    yhwh1479 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    How do I access my network connection?
     
  9. Evo89

    Evo89 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Im having the same problem with connceting my hotspot to my laptop. I read about checking to make sure that the Ip address is auto but Im really not sure of how to even get to that setting on my laptop. Any suggestions? I have an Acer
     
  10. theroyalwe

    theroyalwe Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Management
    Philly Burbs
    Depending on your version of windows you need to go into the network connections screen from the control panel. then right click on your network adapter and left click on properties.

    from there scroll down the list of protocols etc to the ipv4 tcp/ip one and double click. You should see the setting to obtain an IP address automatically.
     
  11. courtney787

    courtney787 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011

    Oct 18, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO USE MY SPRINT HOTSPOT ON MY HTC EVO 4G 3D FOR 2 MONTHS AND CANNOT GET IT TO CONNECT TO THE INTERNET ON MY TOSHIBA LAPTOP. IT CONNECTS FINE TO MY PC AND OTHER LAPTOP (ACER) BUT I DONT KNOW WHATS GOING ON WITH THE OTHER COMPUTER??????

    IF ANYONE HAS ANY INPUT THAT WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!!!!! I HAVE TRIED JUST ABOUT EVERYTHING! I EVEN TRIED USB TETHERING...AND STILL COULD NOT ACCESS THE INTERNET!!!! UGH!!!!

    HEEEELLLLLLPPPPP!:thinking:
     
  12. Icey815

    Icey815 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I need assistance with this issue also...someone please help. I am using Vista also.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...