1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Having Trouble Activating On Sprint

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dishe, Jan 26, 2014.

  1. dishe

    dishe Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    205
    11
    38
    So, I have a Sprint branded Transform Ultra that I bought off ebay, was told ESN *might* be bad, so I intended to use it just as a WiFi device for my kids to play with.

    Turns out the ESN is clean, as I verified with a rep recently (a happy surprise)! I really like this phone so far, so decided to play around with it on one of my lines of service, but the thing freezes on hands-free activation!

    I called customer care, they walked me through manually programming the handset, and it was able to make a test call. But the data didn't work and the phone still wanted to handsfree activate, which would fail each time.

    The only thing I can think of, is that the phone has been rooted, and it has a modified stock rom that allows CWM to stay installed.
    Could that be the problem?
    Do I need to return it to stock maybe?
    Or is it a glitch and the ESN is actually bad after all?
     

    Advertisement

  2. dishe

    dishe Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    205
    11
    38
    Now that I've thought about it, the ESN can't be bad- I was able to make a test call with it, the system would have rejected it instead of letting me get that far.

    Actually, if phone calls were working, why is the hands free activation failing? Do I even need the handsfree activation? The data didn't work, but maybe that takes time? The rep seemed convinced that if handsfree activation was failing, it wasn't working and recommended I switch handsets back right away. I'm not sure what to think right now- does anyone have any experience with this?
     
  3. dishe

    dishe Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    205
    11
    38
    Figured it out. Phone had been flashed to Cricket previously, the device wouldn't activate until I forced a Sprint PRL to it.

    Now it is working great!
     

Share This Page

Loading...