1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Having trouble with CM7

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by blanco425, Sep 5, 2011.

  1. blanco425

    blanco425 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    104
    8
    36
    Hey guys, I just tried flashing CM7 to see how it was. Currently I'm running the Synergy Rom and wanted to try something different. When I flashed CM7 I couldn't get my Google account to sync with the phone to sync my contacts, and there was no market on the phone to download anything. I didn't know if these were common problems or just something that was a easy fix. I'm still pretty new to all of this rooting stuff lol. If anyone could help I'd appreciate it. Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids

    after you flash the rom you have to go back into your recovery, wipe the cache and dalvik cache and then flash the gapps zip to get your google setup and you vvm (sprint visual voicemail)

    you can get the gapps zip here...

    http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/284413-roms-kernels-download-page.html
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  3. mikem0269

    mikem0269 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,094
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    1,094
    844
    213
    Male
    Illinois
    After flashing cm7 u need to flash gapps for all the google apps

    gapps 8-22-2011 with Voicemail.apk

    Edit :Man im so slow
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  4. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids
    lol...no worries...ocn usually beats me most of the time lol...

    were here trying to help...thats all that matters yo....
     
  5. blanco425

    blanco425 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    104
    8
    36
    Alright thanks a lot. Do you guys think the cm7 rom is better than the synergy? I don't really get to crazy with customization so my phone is pretty simple.
     
  6. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids

    its all personal preference.....cm7 is a basic rom.....your not gonna have the sense features your probly used to....it might be kind of wierd when you see it...u just gotta mess around with it and get used to it....AOSP roms tend to be faster then sense roms but any rom can be fast with the right configuration...your gonna have a lot of internal storage space free as well with cm7...that rom is only like 85Mb where as the Synergy rom is probly close to 300Mb...if you dont use a lot of apps and just use the basic, texting, calling, emailing..etc...and want a fast rom at the same time, then CM7 is a good choice...

    go to this thread and i have my CM7 picture in there if you want to see how different the screen looks compared to a sense rom... ....its down torwards the bottom... the pictures above it are from mikg 2.5 w/ custom theme

    http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/408393-flashing-cm7-question.html
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  7. blanco425

    blanco425 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    104
    8
    36
    How would I go about changing the keyboard on CM7. I liked the keyboard that came on synergy a little better. Would there be any way to flash that one over?
     
  8. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids
    no, you cant bring it over...honestly i've never seen a different keyboard for cm7...unless someone else comes in here thats seen one....id actually like to see the link if there was one lol....
     
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    you can try swype. here are some themed ones: [Swype] Themes (Updated 08/11)
     
    DaRayvn likes this.
  10. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids

    you know i was just gonna say, cant you use swype on cm7? lol....thanks for the link ocn
     
  11. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    by the way those keyboards are amazing.
     
  12. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    I use the black one and it's awesome
     
  13. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    I use one called HTC_MOD, can't remember where I got it. I like it because I can get a t9 keyboard and type with one hand and it has big keys for fat thumbs!

    Edit: I got my terminology wrong, t9 is predictive stuff, isn't it. I mean i can use other than a qwerty keyboard, like and old cell phone keypad with the letters on the numbers, what ever that is called.
     
  14. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
  15. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    As to CM7 being 'better' than syngery, who can say. I'm sure the devs of each rom would disagree ;)

    But, I personally love CM7. It has so many features compared to OMGB (which is just Gingerbread). Give it a go for a while, you'll probably find yourself tinkering with it until you get it just 'right'. I've got my ADW settings backed up, so if I update the latest version, I can just hop right into it.

    Good luck in your new Rom adventure.
     
    dustwun77 and ocnbrze like this.
  16. blanco425

    blanco425 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    104
    8
    36
    I'm trying to figure out if I can get a shortcut to accounts and sync to be able to shut background data on n off from the home screen. There's nothing from the list I can find to it.
     
  17. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids

    just go to the personalize option or where it is you add apps and widgets and there should be an option for shortcut also...just click that and accounts and sync should be in there...click it and you'll have it on your screen
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  18. blanco425

    blanco425 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    104
    8
    36
    I don't know if I have an older version but there's no option to even personalize like that. I have to hold down on the home screen n then wait for the lil menu to pop up to add something. And there's nothing under shortcuts for accounts n sync.
     
  19. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids

    im bout to do a nandroid and put CM7 back on....i'll look at it and get back to you asap...

    edit: ok...this is how you do it..

    long press on your screen...
    select custom shortcut...
    select pick your activity...
    select activities...
    select account and sync settings...(this one should be a drop down menu)
    select accounts & sync settings (com.android.settings.ManageAccountSettings)
    then hit ok...
    you should have an Accounts & Sync icon on your screen now....
     
    dustwun77 and ocnbrze like this.
  20. blanco425

    blanco425 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    104
    8
    36
    You are the man! Lol thank you so much. I would have never found thaiot.
     
  21. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids
    ur welcome :D
     
  22. sammyfire2001

    sammyfire2001 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    74
    9
    16
    I just flashed CM7 and I love it. I would to add one of these swype keyboards. Do I flash these files like a kernel?
     
  23. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids

    put it the apk file on your sd card and use a file manager to install it....(i.e. root explorer)

    make a nanroid backup first though just in case you have problems....
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  24. rsoria1

    rsoria1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    82
    14
    18
    anyone else have issues with the screen powering up when power button is pushed? one the latest version of cm7 i was haveing that problem so i went back to 7.0
     
  25. sammyfire2001

    sammyfire2001 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    74
    9
    16

    Actually, I just noticed that happening. I had to press my power button several times to wake my screen.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...