1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root hboot 2.10 downoad link not working

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by routerunner, Sep 19, 2011.

  1. routerunner

    routerunner Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    73
    27
    23
    Sacramento
    The PC36IMG.zip downoad link for hboot 2.10 in the rooting for dummies section doesnt work. Anyone have another link please?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    What are you trying to do?

    PCIMG36 is a filename used for many different things.

    Are you trying to root? Unroot? Change splash screen??
     
  3. routerunner

    routerunner Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    73
    27
    23
    Sacramento
    Need to unroot. The download link for the hboot 2.10 ruu is not working. Its in the rooting for dummies section.
     
  4. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Those have been deleted for some reason. You can use the one in the Gingerbread Rooting guide to get you back to stock if you need it for warranty work. Do you have s-on already?
     
  5. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I had the same problem.

    Download and run the RUU in the gingerbread for dummies guide on your computer with the phone connected to your pc.
     
  6. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    I found the RUU file on an old link from fileserve. It is a very slow download. I will put it in my dropbox when it is done and change the link in the Get Unrooted for Warranty Service thread under Essentials. It will likely be tomorrow as it says 1hr still remaining.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  7. routerunner

    routerunner Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    73
    27
    23
    Sacramento
    Yea I have S-on. I used the ruu from the gingerbread section and my evo scans the pc36img.zip file but doesnt prompt me to update or not. afterwards I tried to reboot but it goes to my splash screen then it goes back to my bootloader
     
  8. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    ocnbrze likes this.
  9. routerunner

    routerunner Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    73
    27
    23
    Sacramento
    Just to test out the ruu, I ran it on another evo with s-off and it prompted me for an update after it scanned. On my evo with s-on it doesnt prompt me for an update after it scans. (The one from the gingerbread rooting section)
     
  10. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Are you sure it is named correctly? If it is not exactly PC36IMG.zip then it will not find the file. Windows hides extensions so make sure you don't add a zip to it or it will end up .zip.zip.
     
  11. routerunner

    routerunner Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    73
    27
    23
    Sacramento
    Yup I used the same exact file for another evo and it works fine. On my phone, the file is being read, but instead of prompting me for an update it just takes me to the bootloader menu
     
  12. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Odd. I have never had one not ask to update if it was named correctly. Did you try the RUU from the PC instead of the PC36IMG RUU?
     
  13. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Thats what ive been saying the whole time........


    I had this exact problem and you have to use the computer RUU
     
    routerunner likes this.
  14. routerunner

    routerunner Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    73
    27
    23
    Sacramento
    Is there any other way? My usb port is jacked up. Ive been doing this unroot process by switching my sd card back and forth with an evo that has a good usb port to get the fies on my sd card
     
  15. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Edit:
    Read that wrong the first time around.



    I'm not aware of any other method.
     
  16. routerunner

    routerunner Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    73
    27
    23
    Sacramento
    The usb port on my evo is jacked up. It wont show up on my computer when plugged in. Ive tried 3 different computers and no show.
     
  17. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I realized that after I had posted.


    Hopefully ocn comes around to help, because at this point I'm all out of thoughts.

    I'm assuming your trying to unroot to take it in for service?

    If so, I would just say flash the stock ROM and hope they don't notice anythings up.
     
  18. routerunner

    routerunner Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    73
    27
    23
    Sacramento
    I restored a nand of mikg2.52 but I now have s-on because I already flashed the s-on tool. I cant get s-off again because my usb port is broken. Will this cause me any problems in the future?
     
  19. routerunner

    routerunner Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    73
    27
    23
    Sacramento
    Im gonna try putting everything back to a stock look. Does anyone have a flashable zip of the original evo splash screen. I tried the PC36IMG and again I am not getting an update option.
     
  20. routerunner

    routerunner Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    73
    27
    23
    Sacramento
    Can I get back to s-off without the usb? I still have amon ra and I just flashed a stock rom with s-on but I cant flash a stock splash screen. I guess I need s-off to flash the splash zip.

    This is taking so much more than I expected :(
     
  21. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    what size card do you have? if it is a 2gig card then your evo will have issues finding the files. you may want to try it with a different card.

    also another idea is to backup your card and reformat the card with your phone then try putting the PC36IMG file onto the card and try again. just to be sure that
    1.it is named correctly and that
    2.it is on the root of the card (not in any folder, just on the card).
    if those two things are correct then hboot should see it.
     
  22. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    You might be able to get s-off again by flashing unrevoked forever. I would check what Ocn said about the size of the card and try formatting it and putting just the PC36IMG file on the card.
     
    routerunner likes this.
  23. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    This is the same problem I was having last week ocn.

    The file was named right, on the root of the SD card, and HBoot recognized it. Hboot then fully loaded it (took a while) and checked it (took a while) and then it would NOT give the option to update. It wouldnt give the option to do anything it just went back to the normal hboot screen as if nothing had happened.
     
  24. routerunner

    routerunner Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    73
    27
    23
    Sacramento

    I tried that but I got the same results. Hboot recognizes it but no prompt for an update. Any other suggestions? I need to take my phone in becuase the screen cracked and my power menu doesnt
    show in the taskbar when I plug my phone in to a computer. This is frustrating

    I also tried using a different sd card but got the same results

    Is there a way I can push the update using terminal emulator?
     
  25. routerunner

    routerunner Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    73
    27
    23
    Sacramento
    Ok heres an update. I decided to flash unrevoked forever to get s-off back again for the moment. After getting s-off back, I booted into bootloader and I realized that I forgot to delete the PC36IMG file that had to be flashed after getting s-on in the unroot process. So the PC36IMG gets scanned and guess what...It prompts me for an update. wtf? Its only working when I have s-off. What should I do now? If I update first, will I still be able to get s-on?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...