1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HBOOT 92 Failed

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Boomstk, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. Boomstk

    Boomstk Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    135
    26
    43
    I attempted to install HBOOT 92 from Adrnalyne's website and failed. It would constantly boot into HBOOT. I did a nandroid restore and all is well. Anyone else have a problem installing the new HBOOT?
     

    Advertisement

  2. narf

    narf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    126
    6
    36
    Yes I am stuck in HBOOT as well! What the hell? At least it shows that I updated to .92 HBOOT

    My config prior to installing: 2.15 radio, 3rd Wave ROM, Kingxkernel #3, HBOOT .77, S-off

    Install method: Placed PB31IMG.zip on root of my SD card, turned off phone, powered up holding down volume button. When asked if I wanted to update I said yes.
     
  3. narf

    narf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    126
    6
    36
    I forgot to ask, why were you trying to install HBOOT 92? I was trying to install it before installing the 4th Wave ROM. If I nandroid restore my phone back to .77 HBOOT should I not install the 4th Wave? Seems like the only people who have successfully installed 4th Wave also had HBOOT 92 (according to Adrynalyne)
     
  4. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
  5. narf

    narf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    126
    6
    36
    Doesn't sound like he ever got HBOOT .92 working. I am tempted to try again since I was hoping to install 4th Wave. Is no one else having problems installing HBOOT .92?

    UPDATE: Okay this is really weird. I tried to do a nandroid restore back to when I had HBOOT .77 and now my phone is working again. BUT when I go back into HBOOT it says I have HBOOT .92 How is that possible?? Do I dare try installing any ROMs? I am afraid my HBOOT is corrupt or something...
     
  6. Wynnded

    Wynnded Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    202
    29
    43
    It's Complicated
    I flashed to .92 to run the Fourth Wave. I thought that I was stuck in HBOOT as well. HBOOT showed that the flash was successful, but I seemed stuck. From (seemingly stuck) HBOOT, I selected RECOVERY and did a NANDROID RESTORE. When that was done I was able to reboot the device. I then rebooted into HBOOT to verify that .92 was listed (it was). From there I went through the procedure to flash Fourth Wave. NANDROID, Ti Backup, wipe, etc. Hope that helps....
     
  7. narf

    narf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    126
    6
    36
    What did you pick as your restore point? Some point prior to installing HBOOT .92? If so shouldn't it show your old HBOOT?

    I guess I am confused. Does your version of HBOOT not get backed up when you do a nandroid backup?
     
  8. Wynnded

    Wynnded Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    202
    29
    43
    It's Complicated
    My restore point was my last NANDROID (they're listed by date). Yep, I did the backup prior to flashing .92 HBOOT. It's prudent to do so prior to flashing ANYTHING so that if things go awry, you can do a restore.

    I don't know if NANDROID CAN backup the HBOOT. I think that it can only flash/backup/restore certain parts of the device, that's why some things are flashed in HBOOT and some things are flashed in Clockwork. Honestly, there's a lot of this that confuses me as well. I'm just very careful and deliberate when flashing and try to do as much reading as my old eyes can handle. The reason that I did the restore after getting stuck was that I read on Adrynalyne's page that it may need to be done.
     
  9. Skorpios1027

    Skorpios1027 Frell me dead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,299
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    1,299
    231
    143
    West Jordan, UT
    Nandroid does not back up hboot or radio.
     
    Wynnded likes this.
  10. Casbah

    Casbah Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010

    Aug 25, 2010
    187
    19
    58
    IT but really despise having to do it for a living
    Northern Virginia
    I had the same issue just now when I tried to flash Fourth Wave. It said an error had been (out of space) recorded and to check Rom Manager. Everything else I've thrown at it. (CM6, SkyRaider 2.5.2/3, Virtuous 2.6, Frankenrom Unleashed flash perfectly with hboot .79).

    Something is amiss with the ROM methinks (though I could be completely wrong) otherwise why would this need it and none of the rest of them require??

    Think in the meantime I'll stick with Frankenrom until it gets sorted out.
     
  11. Hand76

    Hand76 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Yea why would you even need to upgrade the Hboot?

    And a Nandroid restore would have nothing to do with Hboot.
     
  12. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Yeah the .92 flash seems to be affecting something else in the system settings at the time of the flash. The Nand restore is evidently the answer because it retrieves settings that were still good.

    So the hboot version sticks b/c it's not a Nand restorable item and it all ends up working. That seems odd enough though that I won't be attempting that install unless I have a seriously good reason.
     
  13. Casbah

    Casbah Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010

    Aug 25, 2010
    187
    19
    58
    IT but really despise having to do it for a living
    Northern Virginia
    hboot works just fine for me. I've been fortunate so far in that every flash and mod I've done since I got the phone in late August has just worked except for the Fourth Wave ROM. Going back to Virtuous.
     
  14. dscribe

    dscribe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    818
    140
    93
    Camden, AR, USA
    Because I am considering installing a ROM soon that the author says will require the .92 HBOOT (don't ask me why, I don't know), I decided to go ahead and get it flashed. I did not do a nandroid restore in advance because, at the time, I did not think the HBOOT would have anything to do with the nandroid image. Wrong. I ended up with the phone booting only into HBOOT, period. What I ended up doing to fix it was to go into clockwork > backup and restore > advanced restore and restored only the boot image from the last nandroid backup that I HAD made. That fixed the phone and now all is well.

    I just thought I would post this in case anyone else got into this situation. You might want to try just doing only a boot image restore since it takes less time than a complete nandroid restore. Additionally, by restoring the boot image only I did not lose my last ROM install, everything was in place and working fine. Of course don't do like I did, do your nandroid restore before flashing the new HBOOT image if you decide to make this change.
     
  15. Casbah

    Casbah Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010

    Aug 25, 2010
    187
    19
    58
    IT but really despise having to do it for a living
    Northern Virginia
    Saw this post about 20 minutes on XDA. Apparently (and not sure of the accuracy of the source) an HBOOT flash erases the kernel which causes the bootloop. Flash the HBOOT, then reflash the kernel and it's supposed to work. I may try it at some point. Already have a ton of nandroid bkups. :)
     
  16. dscribe

    dscribe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    818
    140
    93
    Camden, AR, USA
    That would make sense to me as I'm sure the kernel is in the boot image portion of a nandroid backup. I don't know enough to know that for sure though. I just know what worked for me.
     
  17. Casbah

    Casbah Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010

    Aug 25, 2010
    187
    19
    58
    IT but really despise having to do it for a living
    Northern Virginia
    Same here. I just thought it funny seeing this about 20 min. before I saw your post. :) I might try it soon but definitely NOT without a nandroid bu just in case. haha
     

Share This Page

Loading...