1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Hboot how to tell?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lilbballer27, Jun 23, 2010.

  1. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Ok this may possibly be the dumbest question asked, but how do you tell what your Hboot is? I see people saying that with 1.49 you can not root, but I rooted my phone and for some reason I remember seeing 1.49 on my phone somewhere but I can not remember.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ERISLOVER

    ERISLOVER Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    115
    6
    36
    D.C.
    You have 1.49.200 S-OFF
    Leakers have 1.49 S-ON
    S= Security.
     
  3. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Ahh ok cool. Well Thanks I guess. I kinda wanted to know where to find this at if you could please explain.
     
  4. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,242
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,242
    23,426
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Excerpted from: http://androidforums.com/all-things...oot-troubleshooting-guide-htc-droid-eris.html

    1. Check your phone's HBOOT bootloader version by

    A. Powering down (turn off) the phone

    B. Pressing the Volume-DOWN and the End/Power buttons simultaneously (this can also be done by simultaneously pressing "Send" and "End/Power")

    C. The first two lines displayed should look similar to the following:

    DESIREC XC SHIP S-ON (if you are already rooted, this will say "S-OFF")
    HBOOT-1.47.0000 (you might see 1.46, 1.47, or 1.49 here)

    D. You can re-power off your phone by doing a battery pull and replacing after 5-10 seconds, then restarting

    Info about how to interpret your HBOOT version is also in the thread linked above.

    Cheers!
     
    pwnst*r and lilbballer27 like this.
  5. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Thank you very much!
     
  6. 3-fords1000

    3-fords1000 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    27
    0
    15
    Concrete Estimator
    Waldorf, MD
    I just tried this both ways and all I get is the auto shutoff after holding the buttons for 30 seconds or the lock screen if I release them. I'm running Leak V3 and don't think I can root but it concerns me why I can't do this. Any suggestions?

    Never mind. I didn't power off. It works. 1.49.0000
     
  7. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,242
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,242
    23,426
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    No worries...we've all been there too...:D
     
  8. ehasley

    ehasley Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    45
    2
    16
    I just flashed engtools3.zip and the over clock kernal to my 2.1ota eris.

    I am still "S-ON" though. I have SU access and everything but do I have "root" with the security setting on?
     
  9. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Yes you are rooted. However, in case of a worst-case scenario ever showing up, you should really flash a engineering bootloader to your phone. So it would flash the 1.49.2000 S-OFF HBOOT. Instructions after the break:

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/121597-how-install-engineering-bootloader.html

    It will require you to wipe your phone again. However, if you do a nandroid backup of your current ROM, it shouldn't be a big issue.
     
  10. ehasley

    ehasley Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    45
    2
    16
    Awesome, thank you for the advice. I will do this tonight when I get home.

    What all does nandroid backup? I'm assuming just system files and not the personalization of the phone.
     
  11. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,242
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,242
    23,426
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Nandroid backs-up your entire phone (excluding the /sdcard) to a folder on your /sdcard -- the whole enchillada :D

    Some good threads on Nandroid backups:

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/108626-nand-backup-steps.html
    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/77472-nandroid-backup.html
    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/101312-rooted-now-what.html
    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/103080-nandroid-backup-help.html
     
  12. MrDangerous

    MrDangerous Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    534
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    534
    57
    78
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Using Amon Ra or Clockwork (whichever you have installed) you can back up sort of a "ghost" image of your phone. Power on while holding volume up to access it, if you have it.
     
  13. ehasley

    ehasley Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    45
    2
    16
    I'm pretty sure Amon RA is loaded on my phone. The volume up button+power doesn't work for me but I can get in to it using quick boot.

    What are the differences between:

    NAND Back up
    Nand + ext
    and the Bart one?

    Thanks again gentleman.
     
  14. XzinteR

    XzinteR Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    This isnt working on my (GSM) HTC Evo 3D. It just boots normally :S
     
  15. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,644
    759
    223
    This is the HTC Droid Eris forum; I suppose that might be why you are getting a different result.

    eu1
     

Share This Page

Loading...