1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HBoot partition table sizes

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bigt, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. bigt

    bigt Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    251
    42
    43
    Admin
    Hereford
    Hello all

    What's the best way to tell how big the HBoot partition (/system etc) needs to be for different ROMs?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    well you look in "Quick system info" from the market.

    Look how big your /system partition is and look how much free space you have. Using how much space is used, pick the one with the system partition that best suits your needs.

    Its not rocket science, however, like rocket science, maths is involved ;)
     
  3. bigt

    bigt Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    251
    42
    43
    Admin
    Hereford
    Maybe I phrased the question wrong ;) I currently am running an oxygen HBoot partition table, if I wanted to try a new ROM how would I find out how big this partition should be for the new ROM?

    Also, as an aside, what would happen if I tried to flash a ROM that didn't fit into my partition?
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    No other roms will fit in Oxygen HBOOT table.

    You will need to ask other people who flashed the rom how much /system space it takes up as the zip you download is smaller than the space the rom takes up.

    If you flash a rom that is too big, bootloop.
     
  5. bigt

    bigt Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    251
    42
    43
    Admin
    Hereford
    Ok. Thanks. I was kind of hoping there was a web page somewhere listing the /system sizes for ROMs
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    ha. High hopes. Theres not even a webpage that lists all roms.

    Generally sense roms are 180-200MB. Standard AOSP roms are 130-150MB

    I strip the Gingervillain rom from 88MB to 63MB. 63MB unpacks to just under 105MB. So for this reason I use custom MTD layout instead of Hboot partition tables. None of the Hboot partition tables are perfect for me (or anyone for that matter) so I personally think its a better way of doing it.

    If I want to change my partition layout, I:
    Nandroid backup
    Format system, cache and data
    edit a text file on SD card with the new sizes.
    patch recovery
    nandroid restore
    Patch rom

    Done. I can do this on the bus to work in about 10-15 minutes.
     
    turbohobbit and bigt like this.
  7. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,671
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,671
    313
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
  8. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    ive gone custom aswell as per my signature
    i did this with amonRA recovery aswell. ever so slightly different as you have to use a shell command to reboot recovery but everything else is the same.
     
  9. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Excellent. It seems for ages I was the only one of us with this as much as I tried to convince people that its a more sensible way to go.
     
  10. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    i did it cos i was bored, i didnt need the space as ive not used it up yet anyway however i have to fk about with stuff so it was inevitable.

    i saw the guide which was made for standard hboot and clockwork

    theres no way on earth im going back to clockwork so i went balls out and tried it
    stumbled at the reboot recovery bit as i didnt want to completely shutdown etc
    adb shell reboot recovery is win

    ill right a guide for amonRA users soon when i get a bit more time as there are a few tweeks but other than that its pretty easy
     
    shauny13 likes this.
  11. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,671
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,671
    313
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo

    I think I like to do the same thing I like to mess around and see how things work. Why wont you do Clockwork, and is it worth me going RA?
     
  12. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    just personal really
    i dont trust clockwork and i dont like how people are passing off their own versions as being clockwork. i also dont like how 3 sources push devs to use new scripting language without support for old when you might want to flash a rom that uses the old method

    amonRa also makes things easier if you have sudden card death and dont have a computer near you for gparted

    it also has not failed me once, clockwork has even from the day i used it (1st backup boot loop caused by clockwork corrupting the nand)

    ive posted a guide for amonRA users to make custom MTD just as there are a few changes
     
    InfernalByte likes this.
  13. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,671
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,671
    313
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Another one for the midnight hour me thinks, I'll probaly end up doing this but I'm perfectly happy with clockwork.
     
  14. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I've not found anything I want that I can't flash with 2.5.0.7

    Are we talking edify scripts here ?
     
  15. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    yes, but 3.0 supports edify only
     
  16. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I see.

    Anything over 2.5.0.7 is not official anyway IMHO. I do like this version and no problems, but I wouldnt go above that.
     
  17. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,671
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,671
    313
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    What's Edify?
     
  18. porter_james

    porter_james Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    98
    9
    16
    Apparently a new kind of scripting language, Baadnewz used it if I'm not mistaken...but what do I know :p

    Does any one know which version of CW has been flashed by the latest Alpharev s-off? It should be 2.0.5, right?
     
  19. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Does the latest version of alpharev always flash clockwork or is it a choice? Their version is a modified version, in order to get around the erase size 40,000 issue, but not sure on the version.

    Also not sure which version latest unrevoked flashes.
     
  20. porter_james

    porter_james Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    98
    9
    16
    It asks you before flashing s-off, and it is version 2.5.8.1.
    I hope I won't encounter any bugs :eek:
     
    SUroot likes this.
  21. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    Koush hasn't done 3 for bravo but they are built from his sources for other devices. Edify is the new recommended scripting language from Google
     
  22. Staggers

    Staggers Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    197
    39
    63
    Student
    Brighton, UK
    It's 2.5.1.8 I think.
    I also installed it while going s-off.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...