1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support HDMI Output Stopped working with Froyo 2.2 Update.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mr.almeida, Jul 30, 2010.

  1. mr.almeida

    mr.almeida Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    50
    16
    18
    Just letting you guys know that I updated the phone and now the tv screen stays blank. This didn't happen prior to the update. Anyone else having the same problem?
     

    Advertisement

  2. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    6,184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    6,184
    5,047
    923
    Male
    Database Programmer, Sprint Advocate
    Queens, NY
    Its almost an hour since you last posted that. Are you still having the same issue?

    TS
     
  3. VGPOP

    VGPOP Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    588
    64
    78
    I can get videos to work (mpeg4, h.264), but I viewing pictures in slideshow does not work for me.
     
  4. mr.almeida

    mr.almeida Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    50
    16
    18
    Yes I'm still having the same issue, I even rebooted the phone. Slideshow, Youtube, and videos all don't work. I'll wait to see who else is having the same problem.
     
  5. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    Are people still having problems with the HDMI out on Froyo?
     
  6. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    I've just updated with the new OTA Froyo build. I can report that:

    -- Video playback in the gallery still works
    -- Youtube still works

    -- The images slideshow in the gallery doesn't work
     
  7. jcommerce

    jcommerce Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    120
    79
    53

    The slideshow's working fine on mine post OTA
     
  8. ThatNewAndroidGuy

    ThatNewAndroidGuy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    432
    103
    68
    Workin at the squeaky mart.
    Residin in Florida
    Try messing with the settings under Display settings. Maybe switch it to 480p for sideshow to see if that works.

    Menu -> Display -> Video out settings.
     
  9. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    Hmm -- tried setting it to all/720p/480p and none had any effect on the gallery slideshow over HDMI out...

    Strange because my TV has been historically very compatible with the Evo.
     
  10. jcthorne

    jcthorne Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    137
    18
    38
    Houston
    Which update is having problems and which is working? We may have found one difference between .3 and .6 updates....

    I can report that my early release .3 update the slideshow does NOT work on HDMI. Video works fine.
     
  11. DualSportDad

    DualSportDad Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    60
    2
    16
    .3 here as well and it does not work.
     
  12. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    I'm on .6 and slideshow over HDMI doesn't work. This rules that revision # possibility out.
     
  13. mr.almeida

    mr.almeida Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    50
    16
    18
    I see the problem is still there, I want to go back to 2.1, I have the .3 version of Froyo and it feels real glitchy.
     
  14. SHO_ONE

    SHO_ONE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    529
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010

    Mar 19, 2010
    529
    150
    93
    Chicago, IL
    Mine isn't working at all either.
     
  15. s4pat

    s4pat Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    neither is mine. video isnt working either.
     
  16. royal42crown

    royal42crown Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    57
    4
    16
    RS
    texas
    My cable connects now but does not show anything on my tv. This was one of my favorite features about the phone.
     
  17. Vincent Law

    Vincent Law Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    396
    64
    53
    I had trouble with it being blank, but then I noticed if I try to play a video, quit the video player, then go back into it, it will work. I suggest you all try that.
     
  18. fonedreams

    fonedreams Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I am having the same issue after upgrading with the official upgrade 651.6.
    Video is fine though. Tried with my monitor and my plasma.
     
  19. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,424
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Does changing the HDMI Display resolution (Settings->Display) from Auto to explicitly either 720p or 480p - or vice versa - have any impact on this?
     
  20. Splaktar

    Splaktar Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Software Engineer
    Melbourne, FL
    I have tested this on 2 HD TVs now. Slideshow never works no matter what I try.

    For video, it works at first, but if you get a notification or stop a video, it does not display on the TV when restarted. You need to reboot your phone before video will display on the TV again.

    This is with the 2.2 OTA update, non-rooted, etc on an EVO.
     
  21. rajnallan

    rajnallan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    I also have the same problem. The video is working well with my Samsung HDTV but the slideshow is not working.

    Any solution for this..

    Raj
     
  22. erijacob

    erijacob Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    24
    0
    15
    My hdmi cable came in the mail today and it is WORTHLESS! The first video i played worked then after that if im in youtube or gallery if i try to play a video, the screen just sits black and silent on both phone and tv, even though the trackbar at the bottom shows the videos time progressing. I get the video to come on one every 15 attempts, and a lot of the time it plays forb2 secs then the tv flashes black and white static for a brief moment then bam its over.

    Im really pissed off about this. The entire hdmi code needs to be redone from top to bottom. How am i supposed to show this thing off when all i can watch is a blank screen? And why cant you surf the web or text while viewing on tv? I seriously hope someone fixes all this. Theres no better feeling than watching youtube on my big flat screen, problem is it never works!

    I never tried it pre-froyo
     
  23. Naz927

    Naz927 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    49
    5
    16
    Nothing is working for me either. 2.2 OTA, Stock. What's strange is the HDMI Icon that used to come up in the notification bar doesn't come up either. Any updates on this.
     
  24. s4pat

    s4pat Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    i received my hdmi cable as well and can only play my videos on the phone. my son was born tuesday and i really wanted to show him and the phone off on the big screen and nothing!

    i would think one of the main selling points would be one thing that works...
     
  25. ddonker

    ddonker Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Yes I have this same problem is there a fix.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...