1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support HDMi output??? Useless??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ozzie11, Feb 16, 2013.

  1. ozzie11

    ozzie11 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013

    Feb 16, 2013
    6
    1
    6
    Male
    Was electonics
    Worthing Sussex UK
    Hi All, pleased with TF300, but bitterly sorry that TF300T does not seem to allow watching output from HDMi micro out to Large LED TVs.

    I tried several leads and TV`s without success, then googled and it seems its very common. It seems ridiculous that ASUS can sell a product that does not do what it says on the tin!??

    Does anyone out there have an answer???

    SAD OZZ:thinking::rolleyes:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Harry2

    Harry2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,186
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,186
    1,347
    323
    Black Forest
    ozzie11 likes this.
  3. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    I dont know about LED but mine works perfectly on my LCD. I play tablet games and watch movies on my tv quite a bit.
     
  4. peterc10

    peterc10 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    711
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    711
    80
    78
    UK
    I am not sure what you mean by large LED TVs, but mine works fine with my 40" Sony LCD HDTV. I just bought a reasonable micro HDMI to full size HDMI lead from Bluerigger on Amazon for about
     
  5. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    + 1 on the TV picking it up automatically after HDMI is selected in TV settings. You shouldn't have to do anything on the tablet.... only to TV. :)

    I bought this 15ft cable from Amazon for $6.99. It's nice and works great!

    http://www.amazon.com/iKross-Micro-H...00t+hdmi+15+ft
     
    ozzie11 likes this.
  6. ozzie11

    ozzie11 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013

    Feb 16, 2013
    6
    1
    6
    Male
    Was electonics
    Worthing Sussex UK
    Thanks Guys for the quick and positive response. I will try another tv tomoz and report my findings

    ( yes I did know how to set up tv!) I did not get any indications on tablet on notification bar.

    Thanks again, will let you know

    OZZ
     
  7. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Good luck. I hope you get it working because it's a nice feature to have. :D
     
    ozzie11 likes this.
  8. peterc10

    peterc10 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    711
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    711
    80
    78
    UK
    Looks like blatant spammimg to me. I always suggest people should actively boycott the spammer when this happens

    NOTE - SPAM POST NOW REMOVED. Please ignore this post, which does not relate to any now showing on this thread.
     
  9. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Please, always report spam when you see it. Tap the little red triangle at the bottom left of the post containing the content in question if you think you need to report it.

    If you are ever in question, report it and let the mods decide. Thanks

    i just reported this one.

    It's times like this were i wish i didn't step down from my guide position. Lol

    cheers:D
     
  10. peterc10

    peterc10 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    711
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    711
    80
    78
    UK
    I have already reported it and I notice it has now gone. Thanks mods.
     
  11. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    LED TVs are simply LCDs with LED backlighting instead of CCFL.

    If it continues to fall with other TVs, suggest trying a different HDMI cable.
     
  12. peterc10

    peterc10 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    711
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    711
    80
    78
    UK
    Or it could be a fault with the micro HDMI outlet on your tablet.
     
  13. dmodert66

    dmodert66 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,551
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,551
    221
    163
    Project Manager
    Southern California
    It is an issue with the tablet itself and certain TVs/monitors. For example, on my 42" Vizio, it does not work. On my 27" Viewsonic Monitor, it works just fine (both using the same HDMI cable, so it's certainly not that). Sucks there has not been a fix.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  14. ozzie11

    ozzie11 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013

    Feb 16, 2013
    6
    1
    6
    Male
    Was electonics
    Worthing Sussex UK
    Thanks for your input folks, but I appear to have a dud tablet. I have tried many leads and various TV`s, nothing at all from HDMi out , so now considering return.

    Really need it in March so reluctant to return but.........

    OZZ
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  15. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    If you've tried several TVs and can't even get a monitor to recognize it I would definitely send it back. Something is wrong for sure. I've got two LCD TVs and mine works on both.

    Good luck, I Hope you get it fixed because the HDMI out is an awesome feature.
     
  16. ozzie11

    ozzie11 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013

    Feb 16, 2013
    6
    1
    6
    Male
    Was electonics
    Worthing Sussex UK
    For anyone in the UK who buys from Currys , check everything on your tablet within 4 weeks!! I attempted to obtain a replacement/ refund due to the never has worked HDMi socket, and was promptly put in my place ! After 28 days have elapsed they only send them back to ASUS. And you await there return , up to 28 days they reckon.

    I will read the small print on company policies more closely in future, but not Currys I dont think!!:mad::mad::mad:
     
  17. peterc10

    peterc10 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    711
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    711
    80
    78
    UK
    Currys are talking rubbish and you should have been more insistent. The Tablet was almost certainly faulty when you purchased it, which was a breach of contract (and the consumer selling regulations) for which THEY, not Asus, are liable.

    The law in the UK (and the rest of Europe as well, I think) is that, if any consumer product breaks down within 6 months of being bought, it is automatically assumed to have been faulty when sold, and the onus is on the retailer to prove otherwise.
     
  18. ozzie11

    ozzie11 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013

    Feb 16, 2013
    6
    1
    6
    Male
    Was electonics
    Worthing Sussex UK
    Much as I would like to agree with you PeterC10, after my first visit to Currys, and did some digging, and found that there options are different after about 28 days. They are still within the SOGact if they offer a repair/ refund even if they admit item is/was faulty. I didnt let them off easily, my argument ( which it turned into) was with management of the branch, and insistence lasted half an hour. Have a glance at this and you will see what I was up against. I purchased end of November, so have had item for over 10 weeks.

    What do I do if I have a faulty product? - Which? Consumer Rights

    PS. Its their attitude that riles me!!

    OZZ
     
  19. ozzie11

    ozzie11 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013

    Feb 16, 2013
    6
    1
    6
    Male
    Was electonics
    Worthing Sussex UK
    Well guys. a lesson here . Our tablet went back for HDMi out fault, and came back two weeks later having had USB port replaced??. Took it home, tried the two HDMi connecters I had just bought from Amazon in Feb,---and it did not work!! Took it back to Currys and tried different HDMi lead and it WORKED! Bought another HDMi lead from Ebuyer and it works fine!! Have sent one HDMi lead, and one HDMi micro adapter back under warranty. Both items on Amazon stated correct for this application
    , but obviously NOT.

    OZZIE
     
  20. peterc10

    peterc10 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    711
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    711
    80
    78
    UK
    Glad to hear it is sorted out at last. I bought an HDMI lead from Amazon (Bluerigger) that had the micro-connector at one end so did not need an adapter and worked fine out of the box.
     
  21. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Same here Peter. I bought an iKross 15ft cable with the micro connector and it works flawlessly on all of my tv's.


    Here's a link in case anyone wants to look at it.

    Amazon.com: iKross 15FT Micro-HDMI to HDMI Cable (Black/Red) for Acer Inconia Tab A100, A500, a510, A700, Asus Transformer Prime TF201, TF700T, TF300, Padfone and Other Tablet: Electronics
     
  22. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    Does sound also go through the cable, or do you have to output via the headphone jack?
     
  23. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Sounds goes through the HDMI cable.
     
    rushmore likes this.
  24. alek_73

    alek_73 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    126
    9
    56
    Electronic engineer, embedded SW development
    Romagna, Italy
    Received today a small OTA update supposed to improve HDMI
     

Share This Page

Loading...