• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Headphones - microphone

I don't know if it would work in real-time, but I know that the speakers will play back clips recorded from the mic, so I don't see why headphones wouldn't.

I believe the question was whether someone could plug an external mic into the G Tablet, like a smartphone headset. I've wondered about this myself. I am an audio tech, and I use an audio analyzer application for EQing out feedback. There are plenty of times that I have wished for a bigger readout than my 4" Samsung Mesmerize. I have a couple of different mic adaptors that use the TRRS (Standard headphone jacks are TRS, Tip-Ring-Sleeve, but some jacks have the extra ring for a mic) that I would probably want to use if I were to pick up a G Tablet.

Upvote 0
I have a stereo headset previously used with Nokia 800 tablet. The headset has an integrated microphone and on/off switch in the microphone "pod". The connector has a 4-section 3.5 mm plug that fits into headset connector on g-tablet. I have been unable to make this headset work with g-tablet running vegan 5.1 ROM. Using the sound recorder software, the g-tablet built-in microphone seems to be only possible input.

I also have a bluetooth stereo headset (Samsung SBH500) with its own microphone. I have also been unable to record sound from this headset.

Both Nokia and Samsung headsets reproduce stereo sound from the g-tablet.

Upvote 0
I have a stereo headset previously used with Nokia 800 tablet. The headset has an integrated microphone and on/off switch in the microphone "pod". The connector has a 4-section 3.5 mm plug that fits into headset connector on g-tablet. I have been unable to make this headset work with g-tablet running vegan 5.1 ROM. Using the sound recorder software, the g-tablet built-in microphone seems to be only possible input.