1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Heeelp...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by C3PO_1, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. C3PO_1

    C3PO_1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    Last night I discovered that the 2.2 update was available OTA for my O2 HTC Desire. I downloaded it but after a couple of issues -- including lack of memory warnings [later fixed by removing some apps] -- it eventually started to run and update took place.

    On reboot thought the screen froze on the blue O2 splash screen and wouldn't budge. I did some forum reading and checked the manual and decided to wipe the data from the handset using the hold volume button down + press power button technique. This still did not fix the problem

    I then grabbed the RUU O2 exe RUU_Bravo_Froyo_O2_UK_2.14.207.1_Radio_32.44.00.32U_5.09.05.30_2_release_144166_signed and decided to update it manually myself.

    At this stage I could not connect the phone properly to HTC Sync because without a properly installed ROM it would not recognise it. I continued with the RUU exe anyway.

    The RUU did its stuff and after a couple of reboots of both machine and phone the update started taking. Unfortunately, it got stuck at 81% and then went back to 77% and quit, citing:

    ERROR [110]@ FILE OPEN ERROR

    The Rom Update Utility cannot open the requested files or the files are damaged. The RUU cannot continue the update.

    Please get a complete RUU package and try again.

    This file is 179.628.843 bytes in size, according to the info on the exe.

    Now I get either a white screen (as below) where neither of the buttons seem to work...

    [​IMG]

    ...or a black screen with HTC logo in the middle with exclamation marks in the four corners of the screen.

    So my questions are:

    1. How on earth do I solve this situation?
    2. Is there another "complete RUU package" that I should be using, and if so where can it be found?
    3. Is there any way to downgrade back to 2.1 on this O2 phone?

    Any help / advice gratefully received. O2 are only saying they'll give me a refurbished phone as a replacement, which is not what I want. Thank you, and hello by the way!
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    RUU's can sometimes corrupt in the download. Try downloading the same one again. Get to the fastboot screen and run it.

    The way to downgrade is the same, run a 2.1 ruu.
     
  3. C3PO_1

    C3PO_1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    Many thanks Dan ... where would I find the O2 2.1 ruu? No idea what to look for and that as a search item in Google doesn't throw up much.
     
  4. C3PO_1

    C3PO_1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    Could this be a problem:


    [​IMG]
     
  5. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Not sure if you need a goldcard to do this... But here is the ruu for 2.1

    Shipped ROMs
     
  6. C3PO_1

    C3PO_1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    Many thanks once again.
     
  7. C3PO_1

    C3PO_1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    Nope, this hasn't worked either (trying to downgrade to 2.1).

    Somehow I need to purge the phone of this corrupted 2.2 ruu, and start all over. Do I need a new bootloader, if so where do I get it?
     
  8. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    if the bootloader was corrupted it wouldnt boot at all

    boot to the correct booload screen which is (back + power)
    clear your browser cache on your machine and redownload the file
    try flashing it again.

    if it fails try using a different computer to makesure its not something strange with your machine.

    if that doesnt work you might want to see if you can downgrade but usually it requires a goldcard
    its not common for RUU's to cause a brick, with it being able to power on there maybe a chance you can recover it
     
  9. C3PO_1

    C3PO_1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    Hi -- answers within:

    If anyone can help me solve this by 2200 tomorrow night I'll make a
     
  10. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    what happens if you try and get to recovery?
    volume down power - go to recovery click and hold volume up and power?
     
  11. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    btw youve not done anything wrong, if you dont want a referb then send it to HTC as its within warranty due to the software being official o2
     
  12. C3PO_1

    C3PO_1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    I could get to recovery after trying to install the original O2 OTA update. At that point, I cleared the system, or whatever it is called in the options.

    But after downloading and trying to install 2.2 using the exe option, I can get to a white screen with this writing above (as shown in the screenshot), with RUU in orange, but none of the buttons on the phone will work or activate anything on the white screen, before going to the black screen and HTC in the middle.
     
  13. C3PO_1

    C3PO_1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    A little update (!) ... received my replacement phone from O2 today. Looks absolutely fine and have just successfully installed 2.2 and it is working fine (so far). Thanks for all the help and suggestions for the old unit.
     
  14. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,067
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    1,067
    252
    163
    technical illustrator
    UK
    well done :0) , dont break this one...lol
     
  15. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    sorry we couldnt fix it.
    plus side to it is that because it was broken by official updates you will always be covered by warranty
     
  16. C3PO_1

    C3PO_1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    I spoke too soon -- this phone is now going into reboot mode all the time and it is DRIVING ME NUTS. What is wrong with this phone / update???
     
  17. C3PO_1

    C3PO_1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    I think the constant rebooting might be heat related. I have put it on my cold desktop and all is fine now.
     
  18. C3PO_1

    C3PO_1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    Ok, with this new replacement, reboot issues are definitely temperature related and therefore related to CPU load. I did two tests tonight at home. Temperature was ~ 19C inside the house. I recorded first video at 800 x 600 resolution and stopped at 4 mins 30 because I got bored. Tried the same at 720p and the phone rebooted at 2 min 15 seconds. This prompts the question, has 2.2 somehow overclocked the CPU beyond its normal operating range?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...