1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

hello, AT&T question

Discussion in 'AT&T' started by ROYCE13, Nov 12, 2010.

  1. ROYCE13

    ROYCE13 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010

    Nov 12, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    hi im new to the site and new to the phone (g1) and had a few questions and was hoping i could get some quick answers here

    i was recently given a g1 by my cousin who was obviously with t mobile, i have at&t and just recently got the g1 unlocked today. i dont have a data plan with at&t and was wondering is their anything i should do so that i do not see data charges on my phone bill? i tried looking for the answer but got mixed answers. when i try to connect to the browser it just says there is no internet connection, i can go on the internet only if i am using wifi.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Hello Royce, welcome to Android Forums.

    Congratulations on getting a new phone.

    I moved your question out of the Lounge area to the AT&T forum where it's more likely to get an informed response.
     
  3. nb_mitch

    nb_mitch Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    604
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    604
    42
    88
    Male
    DB2 DBA
    Florida
    I think it is hit and miss, but you have a better chance of going un-noticed with a non-At&t device. I assume from the way you stated your question, you are happy with using the device as "phone only" on At&t network and then using it on Wifi for data. If that is the case, you might be ok, especially if you aren't using a cheap dataplan for a non-smart phone. Worst case, if they do find you and force you into a data plan, you can use the $15/month plan, which isn't real expensive.

    I don't know if there is an app on the market that will block 3G access and only allow wifi access.

    Good Luck.

    Ps, if your cousin as another to give away, I will be more than happy to test it for you :D
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,560
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,560
    28,618
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Go to settings>Wireless & networks>Mobile networks and uncheck "data enabled". This will stop the phone from using and data on mobile networks, but WiFi should still work (it does on my Nexus.) However, with mobile data disabled, a lot of the sync'ing service will not update.
     

Share This Page

Loading...