1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Hello Folks

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Weneakhborz, Jun 1, 2011.

  1. Weneakhborz

    Weneakhborz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    16
    0
    35
    Hello every one.

    My name is Mohammad and I come with a ton of quistions,so please bare with me.

    i will do some full on reading as much as i can before asking.

    I am using android for the first time,so i don't even know the ABCs of it.:)

    any ways,looks like a nice place around here.

    looking forward to make the best of this.

    thanks in advance.

    Mohammad
     

    Advertisement

  2. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    Hello and welcome to AF, hope you enjoy the forum, btw what phone do you own?
     
  3. olbriar

    olbriar  
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,013
    Posts:
    18,829
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    18,829
    19,484
    2,013
    Male
    Land of Oz
    Hey, Welcome to Android Forums Weneakhborz. You will be amazed at the amount of information and friendly people here. If you haven't already, you can follow this link to a page listing all the different android devices. By clicking on your device, you will find all sorts of things about your device. http://androidforums.com/

    Have fun and again.. welcome aboard
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,189
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,189
    35,833
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Welcome to the Android Forums.

    Most of the basic questions have been answered already, but might be difficult to find. If you have any problems finding what you are looking for, we'll be here to answer your question or point you in the right direction.

    Glad to have you.
     
  5. Weneakhborz

    Weneakhborz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    16
    0
    35

    Hello

    thanks alot.

    well it is a tablet i got from "China". but no make or brand on it so i actually don't know. :(
     
  6. Weneakhborz

    Weneakhborz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    16
    0
    35

    thanks ,man.

    yeah i can see the friendly atmosphere.very cool.

    I will,thank a lot.!
     
  7. Weneakhborz

    Weneakhborz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    16
    0
    35
    lunatic,thanks,mate.

    Glad to find a nice Forum such as this one.

    thumbs up for you Guys.
     
  8. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    is there any kind of way to locate the serial number and google it and see if you can get some info on it?


    Thanks!!!
     
  9. Weneakhborz

    Weneakhborz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    16
    0
    35
    looked around and could not find any thing
    just one thing in the update menu,it says current version1
    and when i press update it says err3o1
     
  10. Weneakhborz

    Weneakhborz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    16
    0
    35
    does it mean i am running Android 1 ,not 2.2 as i was told?
     
  11. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,189
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,189
    35,833
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Go to menu>settings>about device and see what it says there. I have a Chinese made tablet, too and under Firmware it says v.1.01 but under Build Number it says Android 2.1 I think because to the Google Licensing they label things a little differently
     
  12. Weneakhborz

    Weneakhborz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    16
    0
    35

    it says 2.2 20110325

    kernel version: 2.632.9

    the main thing i want is the Support of Arabic language.or mainly RTL languages.


    and if it is android 1 i want it to update to a newer version.

    is there a version that already supports arabic that i can upgrade to and get done with it??
     
  13. Weneakhborz

    Weneakhborz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    16
    0
    35
    any help about the RTL?
     
  14. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,189
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,189
    35,833
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Sorry, I did look this up and was going to reply but got called away.

    It appears that officially it's in the works. You can read about it here.

    Unofficially, you can get Arabic support, but it will require flashing a custom rom. This is what I found out.

    I can not vouch for either of these in terms of accuracy or effectiveness since I haven't tried either. It's pretty much at your own risk.
     
  15. Weneakhborz

    Weneakhborz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    16
    0
    35
    sorry to annoy ,mate.
    but i really need this help.so,thank you very much.

    yeah i have seen those,but didn't understand what to do.

    now as you said 'flashing a custom ROM"

    i have searched for flashing , ROM and root as they seem to be the Key words for my case,but....

    can some one make a little clarification for me?if it is not much to ask for!
     
  16. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,189
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,189
    35,833
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Not a problem.

    When you get an Android device the operating system is installed and configured for that device. It is designed to allow you to do many things but restricts access tot he system files to keep inexperienced users from rendering it inoperable and for malicious software to be able to alter the system. (There are more reasons, but those are the basics.)

    When you gain root access, it is gaining administrative privileges over the entire file system. At that point you can do anything you want.

    Flashing a custom rom is replacing the device's operating system with another that has been packaged into a "read only memory" (rom) file. Flashing refers to overwriting the device's system memory, usually with a utility like ClockWork Recovery.

    Every device has a procedure to put it into a mode where files can be written to it while the OS is not running, thus being able to replace one OS for another.

    The procedure usually goes something like this:

    1. Download some files to a computer and copy them to a SD card. You may be required to create a special bootable SD card using a utility that put a complete partition image on removable storage like WinImage

    2. Put the SD card in the device and boot the device into recovery mode by holding down a special key combination while pressing the power button.

    3. Apply the downloaded files to the device using the menu of the recovery program.

    That is usually enough to get a device updated.

    As to what the procedure is for your specific device and which custom packaged OS will work with it, you'll have to check with those who have already done it (as provided in the links)
     
  17. Weneakhborz

    Weneakhborz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    16
    0
    35
    thanks you very much ,man.i really appreciate it.

    on the other hand,there is always the risk of "Bricking as you Androiders says :) " the device.which is a NO-NO situations.

    in case of Bricking,what can be done?
     
  18. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,189
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,189
    35,833
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    There are some devices that present a "bricked" appearance, but can usually be flashed back to stock. There are also situations where it is impossible to do anything with it making it as useful as a brick. There's no telling which one you have.

    If it is truly bricked, the options are to send it back to the manufacturer who *may* be able to fix it, or sit there and wonder what you can do with a $100 brick.
     
  19. Weneakhborz

    Weneakhborz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    16
    0
    35
    one more question to ask before i jump off the cliff. :p

    how to make a backup?
     
  20. Weneakhborz

    Weneakhborz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    16
    0
    35
    while fiddling around with applications,one of them said "your phone model WWE10 is not supported.
     
  21. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,189
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,189
    35,833
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    That's a stock message when the hardware doesn't meet minimum requirements for the app. It fills in the "phone model" with whatever infor it can grab from the system
     
  22. Weneakhborz

    Weneakhborz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    16
    0
    35
    ok,please please bare with me.

    i am trying to use a rooting App,but i need to enable USB debugging but i don't have that option in the settings or any where!!!
     
  23. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    It's usually under "menu, settings, Application settings, Development". Do you not see that option there?
     
  24. Weneakhborz

    Weneakhborz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    16
    0
    35
    no.just the First three.no "development"
     
  25. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    Sounds like your Tablet is "crippled" by the manufacturer. Not knowing what type of tablet you have, it's tough to give you advice.

    My best advice is to have you post pictures of your tablet in the Tablet sub-forums, and have help from people who may have also used your tablet.
     

Share This Page

Loading...