1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HELP! Accidentally Wiped Internal Storage and OS on HTC ONE M8

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jschohan, Mar 4, 2015.

  1. jschohan

    jschohan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015

    Mar 4, 2015
    55
    18
    28
    Male
    stock 1.54.401.5 odexed 2014 04 05
     

    Advertisement

  2. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    And do you still have the XDA download link to the rom? (And not "androidxda.com" - that is a bogus site masquerading as XDA and not to be trusted.)
     
  3. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Ok, in your command window, we need some more magic.

    Enter this command, it will produce a file listing -

    dir

    Using the command window menu trick, select all, copy and paste it here for me. :)
     
  4. jschohan

    jschohan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015

    Mar 4, 2015
    55
    18
    28
    Male
    C:\Users\Jagtar>cd C:\Users\Jagtar\Downloads\sdk-tools
    C:\Users\Jagtar\Downloads\sdk-tools>fastboot devices
    SH46AWM09241 fastboot
    C:\Users\Jagtar\Downloads\sdk-tools>fastboot flash recovery openrecovery-twrp-2.
    8.5.0-m8.img
    target reported max download size of 1826414592 bytes
    sending 'recovery' (16086 KB)...
    OKAY [ 1.746s]
    writing 'recovery'...
    OKAY [ 0.570s]
    finished. total time: 2.322s
    C:\Users\Jagtar\Downloads\sdk-tools> adb sideload stock_1.54.401.5_odexed_2014-0
    4-05
    loading: 'stock_1.54.401.5_odexed_2014-04-05'
    * cannot read 'stock_1.54.401.5_odexed_2014-04-05' *
    C:\Users\Jagtar\Downloads\sdk-tools>dir
    Volume in drive C is Packard Bell
    Volume Serial Number is 42A4-ADD6
    Directory of C:\Users\Jagtar\Downloads\sdk-tools
    04/03/2015 20:09 <DIR> .
    04/03/2015 20:09 <DIR> ..
    16/10/2014 20:33 1,318,951 adb-linux
    11/11/2014 23:50 1,324,340 adb-mac
    11/11/2014 23:50 1,009,664 adb.exe
    11/11/2014 23:50 96,256 AdbWinApi.dll
    11/11/2014 23:50 60,928 AdbWinUsbApi.dll
    16/10/2014 20:33 215,626 fastboot-linux
    11/11/2014 23:50 213,404 fastboot-mac
    11/11/2014 23:50 196,608 fastboot.exe
    26/08/2011 23:59 28,160 md5sums.exe
    04/03/2015 19:40 16,472,064 openrecovery-twrp-2.8.5.0-m8.img
    18/05/2014 19:16 1,414 sdk.sh
    04/03/2015 17:03 1,385,172,908 stock_1.54.401.5_odexed_2014-04-05.zip
    11/11/2014 23:59 83 Version.txt
    13 File(s) 1,406,110,406 bytes
    2 Dir(s) 213,532,590,080 bytes free
    C:\Users\Jagtar\Downloads\sdk-tools>
     
  5. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Thanks, I have the information we need to install that rom.

    However before we do, please note -
    And you do know that you've selected the oldest, original rom?

    Would you like to install something newer, with more features - such as a nice rooted KitKat or Lollipop rom - it will still be HTC Sense, but with more features?

    Was your phone up-to-date with the latest release (Lollipop) before you rooted it and things happened?
     
  6. jschohan

    jschohan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015

    Mar 4, 2015
    55
    18
    28
    Male
    Before i rooted it i was running sense lollipop, i'm not sure about the rom i have on my pc at the minute, i would prefer to have lollipop with the newest features like how it was from before
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  7. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Ok, I'm having some trouble finding the UK/3 latest stock rom.

    Please allow me to suggest the ViperOneM8 rom - it's exactly what you had before PLUS:
    • already rooted
    • has some excellent extra features that you can choose to customize your Sense experience even more
    • or - just leave it as-is and you won't know the difference
    This will get you out of your useless state and at least running.

    If you don't like it, no problem, there won't be a panic to find the unblemished latest stock, and you'll have a working phone while you search.

    Go here -

    http://venomroms.com/htc-one-m8/

    Choose to download - Latest Fullrom: ViperOneM8 4.3.0

    After download, move or copy it to your sdk-tools folder.

    Now, lets ensure that you did not get a dodgy download.

    In your command window, say -

    md5sums ViperOneM8_4.3.0.zip

    (Ok to use the copy/paste trick on that.)

    Compare the output value to this one: b53b6318c11ca844bfcbf4fc9be6d064

    (Upper or lower case letters do not matter.)

    If the same, the download was good. If not, download again, check it again.

    When happy, make sure that phone is still slid into adb sideload in the Advanced area, and in command window say -

    adb sideload ViperOneM8_4.3.0.zip

    Ok to copy/paste that. And hit enter of course.

    Wait.

    Eventually, an installation wizard will appear on your phone.

    Follow the prompts, you'll be choosing the defaults for most things, and choose to install the rom.

    Don't worry about any fancy options - your carrier, or GSM, and the rom.

    Do not be concerned if it takes a while. That's ok.

    Report back if any issues.

    If no issues, attempt to boot system.

    If boot is successful, you'll eventually see a dialog telling you that it is updating or installing apps.

    That will take a while. That's ok.

    If the installation in TWRP said it was a success but it does not boot -

    Do not panic.

    Because your phone is unlocked but still has s-on HTC protection, that can happen from time to time.

    It is easy to fix.

    Let's try this first ok.
     
    Member2081601, dan55 and jschohan like this.
  8. jschohan

    jschohan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015

    Mar 4, 2015
    55
    18
    28
    Male
    Its going to take 10 min's to download but i'll keep you updated if anything goes wrong :)
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  9. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    You're going to need some time.

    I'm going to go on and check in on some others I'm helping, but I will be monitoring here.

    Go ahead and post how it's going, I won't be far gone.
     
  10. jschohan

    jschohan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015

    Mar 4, 2015
    55
    18
    28
    Male
    Okay, thanks for everything so far! :)
     
  11. jschohan

    jschohan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015

    Mar 4, 2015
    55
    18
    28
    Male
    The last time i went into adb sideload it failed (when trying to flash the stock rom from before) so i went out of it and went back into it and now it's been stuck in at 'starting ADB sideload feature' for five minutes, my viper rom is set to go, shall i start the adb (viper rom) command?
     
  12. jschohan

    jschohan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015

    Mar 4, 2015
    55
    18
    28
    Male
    It had now said ADB sideload failed, not sure what to do but it has given me the option to reboot system
     
  13. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Is it saying that on the phone or the PC?
     
  14. jschohan

    jschohan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015

    Mar 4, 2015
    55
    18
    28
    Male
    its saying it on the phone in twrp when going into adb sideload
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  15. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    And after sliding the adb sideload on, on the phone, did you issue the command window command -

    adb sideload ViperOneM8_4.3.0.zip
     
    dan55 likes this.
  16. jschohan

    jschohan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015

    Mar 4, 2015
    55
    18
    28
    Male
    I haven't yet because it was stuck on 'starting ADB sideload feature' on the phone and i wasn't sure to run the viper command yet
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  17. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Ok, so big deal, it's a safety feature - it simply timed out.

    Don't reboot - use the back to get back to the main TWRP menu, then back into Advanced, adb sideload, slide it on and when it's ready (that's like, almost instantly as I recall), go right ahead in the command window and say -

    adb sideload ViperOneM8_4.3.0.zip

    (and enter of course)
     
  18. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    BTW - assuming that you have no issues on the ViperOneM8 install and it boots up great - there is one feature you're going to fall quickly in love with.

    When you press the power button, like you're going to power it down - you'll get a menu. Reboot is an option. Inside that choice is system, bootloader, or recovery.

    Very cool, yeah?

    When you're up and running, do that, choose recovery, then choose Backup in TWRP, accept the defaults and make your first nandroid backup.

    Then, you're golden. :)

    So, while doing all this other, you have that to look forward to. :)
     
  19. jschohan

    jschohan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015

    Mar 4, 2015
    55
    18
    28
    Male
    I have the error *cannot read 'ViperOneM8_4.3.0.zip"*
     
  20. jschohan

    jschohan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015

    Mar 4, 2015
    55
    18
    28
    Male
    That sounds like a great feature, it saves me having to hold down the volume buttons to get into recovery :)
     
  21. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Ok, just like before, in the command window, say -

    dir

    Use the copy trick and paste it here for me.
     
  22. jschohan

    jschohan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015

    Mar 4, 2015
    55
    18
    28
    Male
    C:\Users\Jagtar\Downloads\sdk-tools>adb sideload ViperOneM8_4.3.0.zip
    loading: 'ViperOneM8_4.3.0.zip'
    * cannot read 'ViperOneM8_4.3.0.zip' *
    C:\Users\Jagtar\Downloads\sdk-tools>dir
    Volume in drive C is Packard Bell
    Volume Serial Number is 42A4-ADD6
    Directory of C:\Users\Jagtar\Downloads\sdk-tools
    04/03/2015 21:27 <DIR> .
    04/03/2015 21:27 <DIR> ..
    16/10/2014 20:33 1,318,951 adb-linux
    11/11/2014 23:50 1,324,340 adb-mac
    11/11/2014 23:50 1,009,664 adb.exe
    11/11/2014 23:50 96,256 AdbWinApi.dll
    11/11/2014 23:50 60,928 AdbWinUsbApi.dll
    16/10/2014 20:33 215,626 fastboot-linux
    11/11/2014 23:50 213,404 fastboot-mac
    11/11/2014 23:50 196,608 fastboot.exe
    26/08/2011 23:59 28,160 md5sums.exe
    04/03/2015 19:40 16,472,064 openrecovery-twrp-2.8.5.0-m8.img
    18/05/2014 19:16 1,414 sdk.sh
    04/03/2015 17:03 1,385,172,908 stock_1.54.401.5_odexed_2014-04-05.zip
    11/11/2014 23:59 83 Version.txt
    04/03/2015 20:59 1,630,709,018 ViperOneM8_4.3.0.zip
    14 File(s) 3,036,819,424 bytes
    2 Dir(s) 211,895,296,000 bytes free
    C:\Users\Jagtar\Downloads\sdk-tools>
     
  23. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Command window -

    echo %PATH%

    Copy/paste for me please.
     
  24. jschohan

    jschohan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015

    Mar 4, 2015
    55
    18
    28
    Male
    C:\Users\Jagtar\Downloads\sdk-tools>echo %PATH%
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live;C:\Windows\system32;
    C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\Wbem;C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;
    C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Shared
    C:\Users\Jagtar\Downloads\sdk-tools>
     
  25. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    And the md5sums was good?
     

HTC One M8

The HTC One M8 is the Taiwanese company's flagship phone for the first half of 2014. It built on its predecessor with an upgraded 5-inch 1080p display, Snapdragon 801 processor, 2GB of RAM, 32GB of internal storage, and an UltraPixel rear Duo Camera.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...