1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HELP! Accidentally Wiped Internal Storage and OS on HTC ONE M8

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jschohan, Mar 4, 2015.

  1. Eric Chen

    Eric Chen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015

    Jul 9, 2015
    32
    2
    26
    Male
    My phone got soft bricked in February and my friend fixed it
    He installed TWRP
    But yesterday i did a factory reset where i wiped the internal storage, this is within the teamwin menu
     

    Advertisement

  2. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    A factory reset won't erase the system nor cause other problems.

    Anyway, I guess I got the picture here.

    Is it a carrier-branded phone and if so, what carrier are you on?
     
  3. Eric Chen

    Eric Chen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015

    Jul 9, 2015
    32
    2
    26
    Male
    Its a international version, but i use tmobile, also when i go into recovery (TWRP) it says i have no OS
     
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Yeah, I understand you erased it.

    Do you just want to get it running again, return to stock, update, or what in particular?

    Btw - when you go to the bootloader, what does it say from the top down to and including the date?
     
  5. Eric Chen

    Eric Chen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015

    Jul 9, 2015
    32
    2
    26
    Male
    I just want it running with the lastest android
    From the top down
    Software status:modified
    Unlocked
    M8_UL PVT Ship S-on
    HBOOT-3.19.0.0000
    RAdio-1.22.21331147A1.29G
    OpenDSP-v46.2.2-00564-M8974_FO.0811
    OS-
    eMMC-boot 2048MB
    NOV 1 2014, 10:56:31.0
    FASTBOOT

    HBOOT
    RAMDUMP
    REBOOT
    REBOOT FASTBOOT
    POWER DOWN
     
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Get the sdk-tools.zip from the Mini-SDK post -

    http://androidforums.com/threads/adb-guide-updated-2014-11-11.443072/#post-5389081

    If you've ever run HTC Sync or could see your phone storage on your pc, you ought not need anything else.

    Unzip sdk-tools.zip, it'll create an sdk-tools folder. Windows Explorer, shift + right click on the sdk-tools folder, Menu, open command window here - do that.

    With phone in bootloader with FASTBOOT at the top, plug in to PC, it should change to FASTBOOT USB.

    Command window say -

    fastboot getvar all

    Alt + space on command window produces menu - E for edit, S for select all, y for copy - and paste results here.

    Edit out the IMEI and serial numbers for your protection.
     
  7. Eric Chen

    Eric Chen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015

    Jul 9, 2015
    32
    2
    26
    Male


    C:\Users\Gdst\Desktop\sdk-tools> fastboot getvar all
    (bootloader) version: 0.5
    (bootloader) version-bootloader: 3.19.0.0000
    (bootloader) version-baseband: 1.22.21331147A1.29G
    (bootloader) version-cpld: None
    (bootloader) version-microp: None
    (bootloader) version-main:
    (bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
    (bootloader) serialno: ******************************
    (bootloader) imei:*************************
    (bootloader) imei2: Not Support
    (bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
    (bootloader) product: m8_ul
    (bootloader) platform: hTCBmsm8974
    (bootloader) modelid: 0P6B11000
    (bootloader) cidnum: HTC__621
    (bootloader) battery-status: good
    (bootloader) battery-voltage: 0mV
    (bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
    (bootloader) security: on
    (bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
    (bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
    (bootloader) commitno-bootloader: df77f8b7
    (bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
    (bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
    all: Done!
    finished. total time: 0.073s
     
  8. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    OK, you have an HTC One M8x for Taiwan.

    In order to get the latest Lollipop working and nothing broken, you're going to need later radio firmware than what you have.

    The only way that I would trust doing that update for your model would be with an RUU for Taiwan or HTC Asia.

    Offhand I couldn't find one.

    I also ran across conflicting stories about whether or not you'll be able to install M8 roms.

    Let's assume that you can and try to get you up and running, and worry about getting the latest and greatest after that.

    Download ViperOneM8 version 3.2.1 (not the latest 4.3.0) from the previous roms link here -

    http://venomroms.com/htc-one-m8/

    In TWRP, Mount, mount the internal storage or sd card - your pc ought to be able to see it at that point.

    Copy the ViperOneM8 zip to the phone.

    TWRP, Install - choose the rom.

    Choose from within the ViperOneM8 installer -

    * International or GSM for carrier.

    * Full wipe.

    * Stock rom (just as it is, don't try to customize it when given the opportunity).

    See if that gets you up and running ok.
     
  9. Eric Chen

    Eric Chen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015

    Jul 9, 2015
    32
    2
    26
    Male
    My computer doesn't seem to be able to recognize my phone
     
  10. Eric Chen

    Eric Chen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015

    Jul 9, 2015
    32
    2
    26
    Male
    It appears as a CD Drive
     
  11. Eric Chen

    Eric Chen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015

    Jul 9, 2015
    32
    2
    26
    Male
    Nvm used a sd card lol
     
  12. Eric Chen

    Eric Chen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015

    Jul 9, 2015
    32
    2
    26
    Male
    What do you mean by choose international?
     
  13. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    The ViperOneM8 installer lets you choose what carrier you are on.

    You can try T-Mobile.

    But I know that it also has a sort of generic/GSM/international choice - I just don't recall the exact wording. I had an intuition that might be better.

    But - you can try T-Mobile and the worst that happens is you have to redo the installation.
     
  14. Eric Chen

    Eric Chen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015

    Jul 9, 2015
    32
    2
    26
    Male
    When i press next nothing happens it says the install was succesful
     
  15. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    :thinking:

    It's doing that at the start?

    What TWRP version do you have?
     
  16. Eric Chen

    Eric Chen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015

    Jul 9, 2015
    32
    2
    26
    Male
    2.7
    I click on the venom and then
    It says
    Intsalling Venom Tools
    Setting Permissions
    Checking Partition for Errors
    system
    cache
    Mounting Partitions
    Mounting/system
    Mounting/data
    Extracting Files
    Writing system
    Writing Data
    Creating Additional symlinks
    Setting Permissions
    Unmounting Partitions
    Update flashed successfully
    Script succeded result was [@========================]
     
  17. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    And the zip file was about 1.5 GB?
     
  18. Eric Chen

    Eric Chen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015

    Jul 9, 2015
    32
    2
    26
    Male
    It says it installation wizard has been installed and to press next to continue
     
  19. Eric Chen

    Eric Chen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015

    Jul 9, 2015
    32
    2
    26
    Male
  20. Eric Chen

    Eric Chen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015

    Jul 9, 2015
    32
    2
    26
    Male
    thats probably why
     
  21. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    You want the Latest Full Rom 3.2.1 -

    1436503515874.jpg
     
  22. Eric Chen

    Eric Chen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015

    Jul 9, 2015
    32
    2
    26
    Male
    Yeah just realized im so oblivious lol
     
  23. Eric Chen

    Eric Chen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015

    Jul 9, 2015
    32
    2
    26
    Male
    ok its working now
     
  24. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    All good?
     
  25. Eric Chen

    Eric Chen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015

    Jul 9, 2015
    32
    2
    26
    Male
    yeah
    but another problem that i have is that my phone restarts randomly
    sometimes
     
    dontpanicbobby likes this.

HTC One M8

The HTC One M8 is the Taiwanese company's flagship phone for the first half of 2014. It built on its predecessor with an upgraded 5-inch 1080p display, Snapdragon 801 processor, 2GB of RAM, 32GB of internal storage, and an UltraPixel rear Duo Camera.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...