1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[HELP] ASUS Transformer Prime Root Mac

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by andoird213, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. andoird213

    andoird213 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,569
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    1,569
    470
    163
    Male
    Hi all,

    I'm trying to root my ASUS Transformer Prime using the newly released NachoRoot, using a Mac. I have no difficulty with terminal commands, and downloaded the NachoRoot file and have adb already set up. However, the SU download they give isn't compatible with Mac. Can anyone please help me figure out some way to circumvent this problem?

    Thanks!!

    Patriot
     

    Advertisement

  2. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    Hey patriot how do you setup adb on a mac... can you please expliain that.

    Isn't the su just an apk you can sideload? Or is it also some executable?
     
  3. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Moved to the Prime root section.



    After root, you should be able to download su from the market. Not sure if there's a working recovery but this will at least allow you to use rooted apps
     
  4. andoird213

    andoird213 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,569
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    1,569
    470
    163
    Male

    Was referring to the download to get it rooted not the actual SU app. Talking to the developer so I should be good
     
  5. andoird213

    andoird213 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,569
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    1,569
    470
    163
    Male

    I'm referring to the Su that has to be pushed not the Superuser app on the device. And here's a great tutorial I found which is what I used http://esausilva.com/2010/10/02/how-to-set-up-adb-android-debug-bridge-in-mac-osx/ If you need a deeper or more simplified explanation let me know and I'll be happy to help.
     
  6. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    I couldn't wait.. I just did it on my XP PCee partition on my Mac laptop :)
     
  7. andoird213

    andoird213 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,569
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    1,569
    470
    163
    Male

    Lucky you :p
     
  8. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Well, you don't need su to root the tablet, su obviously just allows you to run rooted apps. And if you don't have a working recovery, how else would you get su?
     
  9. andoird213

    andoird213 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,569
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    1,569
    470
    163
    Male

    It's not the Superuser app. There is a file in the instructions called SU and then he says download the SU app after.
     

Share This Page

Loading...