1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Help bricked my X and not sure what to do next

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Piiman, Jun 23, 2011.

  1. Piiman

    Piiman Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,333
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,333
    153
    143
    yesterday I tried to revert to Froyo from the GB leak with the TBH all in one zip but it left the phone looping at the Moto screen. So I sbf'd back to but used the VRZ_MB810_2.3.15_1FF_01 which was to far back and caused code corrupt errors so then I used the correct VRZ_MB810_2.3.34_1FF_01 file but I still have code corrupt (although it is a different error message) and it boots to the boot loader when ever I insert the battery.

    Anyways I am at boot loader 30.04 and need to sbf something?
    does anyone know what I need to do to fix this? I don't want to mess around until I have a plan so that I don't kill my battery.

    Thanks in advance?
     

    Advertisement

  2. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    wow never thought i would see piiman askin for help lol

    have you tried redownloading the 340 file? and are you downloading the full file or system only version?

    from the looks of what you posted its the full file system only is labeled shadow i think

    i would honestly try redownloading the sbf, upgrade your moto drivers if you havent already try again, get another code corrupt let us know
     
  3. SaurusX

    SaurusX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    179
    35
    43
    Use the Linux SBF boot disc. It has saved my butt many times. Don't listen to the Linux SBF boot disc haters out there.
     
  4. cjcross22

    cjcross22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    253
    47
    43
    lol I agree.. it hasn't failed me yet! :D

    CD
     
  5. cabraswell

    cabraswell Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    329
    39
    63
    Male
    Biomedical Technician
    Western NC
    Using that Linux disc or sbf'ing in Linux period seems like it does a better job (it's probably just in my mind).
     
  6. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    If you have RSD Lite setup correctly it won't fail you......RSD Lite hasn't failed me yet ;)



    It's in your mind, they both accomplish the same thing ;)


    All that being said, the Linux sbf is a good option for those who are stuck and haven't set up RSD Lite correctly, or are having any other kind of issue(s).
     
  7. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    once rsd lite is installed for the first time you are supposed to replace a file.. not sure if you have to with 4.9 but i have not had one issue with rsd lite
     
  8. cjcross22

    cjcross22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    253
    47
    43
    To each his own. :D
     
  9. Piiman

    Piiman Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,333
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,333
    153
    143
    LOL I try not to but since my battery will only last so long I want to make sure I have a good plan before I start draining it. :) that and I've been on the Fascinate for awhile and I'm a little rusty in the X (obliviously)

    This is the sbf I think I need and used last VRZ_MB810_2.3.15_1FF_01 its the full I used it to revert before going to the CMDX CM7 and I've had it and used it before. I actually used it and got a boot loop but had forgotten about having to do factory reset. so I' know it works and I would be all happy by now if I had just done the reset when it was looping :eek:

    Let me ask this is that the right sbf for bootloader 30.04?

    Thanks again.
     
  10. Piiman

    Piiman Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,333
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,333
    153
    143
    Is that that one click exe ? I have that and started it up yesterday but stopped it? Got link so I can check?

    thanks
     
  11. Piiman

    Piiman Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,333
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,333
    153
    143
    I don't have issues sbf ing but I think it did something when I used that one older sbf. Does anyone know if that could cause and issue? I seem to remember people telling us not to use certain sbf files once we went to different Boot loaders but not sure.
     
  12. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    So... the file replacement was to allow us to use an older version of RSD with the X. It wouldn't even recognize and flash the SBF without that .ini swap. That's not causing the problem.

    The 2.3.34 SBF can be used with any bootloader version. An older version will just get updated and the latest Gingerbread update can still be SBF'd back to FroYo, so you're good there too. What you couldn't do was SBF back to Eclair after the FroYo update.

    I'd try the linux boot disc.
     
  13. cabraswell

    cabraswell Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    329
    39
    63
    Male
    Biomedical Technician
    Western NC
    The sbf file you need is located here. If you want to make the Linux disc you can follow the directions here. I think you're using an old sbf file from Eclair. Just my two cents.
     
  14. cjcross22

    cjcross22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    253
    47
    43
    I put the link in my first post but here it is again... :D

    Linux solution to your Windows/RSD lite problems
     
  15. Piiman

    Piiman Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,333
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,333
    153
    143
    Hey everyone thanks for helping refresh my memory. I just re flashed the same SBF file I used before but this time it worked! go figure.
    My X is A LIVE! again :D

    thanks again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...