1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Help...cannot access app market - first time user

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jujubadger, Aug 14, 2011.

  1. jujubadger

    jujubadger Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Please could someone help me? I've recently got an X8 and i cannot get on app market, it asks me to first set a google email account, which i have but then when i try to access the app market..it says, "can't establish a reliable data connection to the servor". Can anyone help me..i'm on Orange btw.
    thanks :mad:
     

    Advertisement

  2. AxlF

    AxlF Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    7
    0
    25
    Sorry to disappoint you but the Market sucks. There are so many people on here, me included, that cannot use the market app that it's ridiculous.
    Some of the solutions I have seen that might help you are
    1) Your email address - is it @gmail or @googlemail? Because it needs to be @gmail.
    2) You have to sign in to google talk to access the market - don't ask me why.
    3) try access it from data stream instead of wifi
    There's loads of other solutions out there, most of them are crackpot.
    None of these solutions worked for me, by the way, but I just hope you have better luck.
    There's alternatives to the market though - like mobiles24 or slideme.org.
    Neither is as good as the market but at least they can be easily accessed by android customers.
     
  3. gabeyong

    gabeyong Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    725
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    725
    288
    113
    Hi,

    You can try to uninstall and re-install Android Market App...

    Android Market for 2.1-2.2 ROMs
    Android Market for 2.3 ROMs

    cheers :)
    gabe
     
  4. Sam-SonyXperia

    Sam-SonyXperia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,042
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    1,042
    151
    153
    Based on some troubleshooting I have done with this particular issue, I would actually advise running a software update/repair on your handset:

    Xperia? X10 - PC Companion - Downloads - Mobile phones - Support - Sony Ericsson
     
  5. AxlF

    AxlF Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    7
    0
    25
  6. gabeyong

    gabeyong Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    725
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    725
    288
    113
    Oh... Did you check your mobile networks APN?
    I think it is <orangeinternet> or something like that...

    cheers :)
    gabe
     
  7. AxlF

    AxlF Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    7
    0
    25
  8. Sam-SonyXperia

    Sam-SonyXperia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,042
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    1,042
    151
    153
    Good to hear that sorted that out for you AxiF, as outlined above I have seen this before and through a lot of troubleshooting this has proven to be the best way to resolve the issue.
     

Share This Page

Loading...